We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay in an Architectural Gem”
Review of Lytton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lytton Hotel
Ranked #57 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Admittedly I was in the mood to be pleased having had a fairly disastrous experience at my previous hotel - it was being renovated but noone had thought to inform me of that when I booked. At the Lytton I was welcomed warmly and fortunately there was a vacancy as someone had cancelled. I am not surprised they are usually full. I was slightly unwell while I was there and the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms are old fashioned, large and immaculately clean. I guess the building and decor is 1930's and it is wonderful and has not been updated thank goodness. The location is excellent. I have rarely stayed anywhere so consistently good.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon87_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Lovely hotel. Great place to stay. High class car rental through hotel. Convenient for local sights.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I had stayed in this hotel for one of my business trips in Oct '11. I was trying to book a hotel in one of the regular hotel i usually stay but due to peak season in Kolkata, was unable to get a booking anywhere. Finally, after extensive search, i booked into this hotel primarily because of the location in much famous Sudder street & close to my work place. It is a street which is widely visited by lot of foreigners and you will find the same in the hotel also. The interiors are not that modern with all the amenities, but it is a classic style hotel which will give you a feel of Old Kolkata. Service is excellent and very personalised upto your needs. Buffet breakfast is basic & needs improvement, the restaurant is dark & dingy & need a serious renovation. All in all, an average hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Do not take room facing the sudder street as it has a lot of noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preekshitgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Good location, unexciting hotel.

The guidebooks suggest it provides comfort but I am not sure about this. The first night the staff were drilling from around midenight to 2am. No idea what they were doing and when I asked reception the next day they suggested they knew nothing about it. The second night we were called at 11pm asking to see our passports for a second time. Not much idea re service.

Staff hang around outside the door and wait very obviously for tips. It gets annoying.

Breakfast room dark and depressing - no windows.

Good laundry service.

The hotel secured a standard taxi for us All the way to the airport the driver moaned that they had done him out of 100R. Price is 250R and hotel charge 350R of which they take a cut. To avoid this get your own taxi in the street.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjohn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

On my arrival in Kolkata, I thought this hotel was a bit run down, did not like the noisy window air conditioner or the dark room, the filthy toilet in the restaurant or the floor wallahs hanging around waiting for tips. On my return after a month traveling in Jharkhand and Bihar, I thought this hotel was a haven of Western civilization! However there are cheaper and newer hotels just down the road which would also be cleaner. Sudder St is a convenient location and I walked to many tourist destinations but the beggars that live there and the hawkers for the New Market are confronting for a traveller on a first visit to India. The hotel was helpful with changing money and getting taxis. It has two computers for guests and Internet connection was fine. Room service was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy at night, but have lots of natural light from large windows and ba...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
0.2 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#40 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
181 reviews
0.1 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#173 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#60 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
187 reviews
0.5 km away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
791 reviews
0.3 km away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#39 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lytton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lytton Hotel

Address: 14 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $102 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lytton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lytton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lytton Kolkata
Lytton Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing