We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
96
13
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
13
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful property blue lady open lawns bar b q darjeeling town old world charm bagdogra airport picnic basket snooker table city life food preferences romantic getaway village walk every morning colonial bungalow overlooking the mountains hustle bustle
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

A beautifully restored planters bungalow done up with style. We were the only family to enjoy the bungalow and had a lovely time. Most of the rooms open into some common space ( lounge, reading/play room, dining room). Attentive and extremely friendly staff. Enjoyed the walk in the tea gardens, visit to the tea factory and the innumerable cups of Ging tea which was served in dainty tea cups.
Our kids felt this as a home away from home and loved all the attention given by Roopa Aunty and Ujwal bhaiya.
The property can improve some small aspects - customised / exclusive bath products, in house slippers, more rugs n mats, more fresh and local food...........

Room tip: Only the two front facing rooms open to the mountain view. The others are nice rooms but do not have an exceptional view.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SarangChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingTea-Management, Owner at Ging Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Sarang,

We thank you for your appreciation of the property ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have noted your feedback and we are investing more effort in improving the food standards.Personalised toiletries are also on the way along with house slippers and rugs. At Ging, we are trying continuously to get better and exceed expectations. We thank you for your suggestions.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again .

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

I have been to ging tea house this march for 4 nghts and felt like i m staying in my own house. The house is situated in lebong just 15 mins drive from the darjeeling town. It has got six large, spacious and well decorated rooms with all the amenities one would usually look for.

An efficient team with excellent service is always there to help you and cater to your demands.

Overall a lovely place to spend your holiday where you can just be yourself n have a good time.

Good work sumedha( the owner). Keep it up. Would love to meet you again.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sriparna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingTea-Management, Owner at Ging Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Sriparna,

We thank you for your appreciation of the property ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope Rik is doing great. Our team remembers him every now and then :)
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We were 3 couples who recently visited Ging tea Estate as part of our holiday in India.
The Estate is absolutely fabulous with stunning views. The property has been furnished to a high standard but some of the bathrooms need a bit of work. The staff were all fabulous and couldn't do enough for us. Once they realized we wanted Indian fare to eat and most definitely not western our experience was further enhanced. The food is good home cooked food and we enjoyed it immensely. They also allowed us to bring in our own alcohol as its not regularly served there.
All the trips that were organised for us including the treks, sunrise at Tiger Hill, tea tasting and the Toy train were most enjoyable.
We only had one complaint and that was that it can get extremely cold inside the property after sunset. The property has beautiful fireplaces everywhere, so just make sure they light them and keep them going especially in the huge bedrooms. This may not be a problem in summer months but take warm cloths if visiting in Feb/March.
Thanks again to entire team for a most memorable stay

Room tip: Choose rooms at front of the house for great views
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkaren242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingTea-Management, Owner at Ging Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Karen,

We thank you for your appreciation of the property ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have noted your feedback and have now added more heaters to keep the place warm in winters .At Ging, we are trying continuously to get better and exceed expectations. We thank you for your suggestions.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again .

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

We visited the place in march , the weather was amazing and the people from the estate made us feel more than welcome. With great rooms and an even better view it is an amazing place. The property is also very beautiful with loads of trekking opportunities. All in all it was a wonderful homely stay and the staff made us feel like British lords by their service. They also let you visit the tea factory where you can taste and see the making of the world famous Darjeeling tea. A must visit place for people who love mountains.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Harsh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingTea-Management, Owner at Ging Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Harsh,

We thank you for your appreciation of the property ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Ging, we are trying continuously to get better and exceed expectations. We thank you for your suggestions.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again .

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

This place run by two superbly passionate people..with an amazing team! The moment we were picked up till our drop back...every thing was just perfect...this place gave us a reason to come back to darjeeling. From the ambience, food service and hospitality they always made it a point to give us the best experience. I would really recommend to everyone to stay here. I really thank for the beautiful time they had arranged for us from trekking to live music in the breathtaking environment...v couldnot have asked for anything better!!!
Thank you

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Purvi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingTea-Management, Owner at Ging Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Purvi,

We thank you for your appreciation of the property ! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again .

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews