We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 206
USD 154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 3330 Home Stay Tibet Home(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
USD 27
USD 14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
USD 62
USD 58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 46
USD 45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mayfair Darjeeling(Darjeeling)
USD 119
USD 90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 68
USD 60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 97
USD 59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Windamere Hotel(Darjeeling)
USD 247
USD 193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Magnolia Residency(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
USD 30
USD 27
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 77
USD 65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
47
48
15
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
48
15
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip areaelectric kettle with teastayed in super deluxe roomhotel staff isbuffet breakfastpure veg restaurantsteep slopenon vegclean hotelhot water facilityvegetarian foodexcellent hospitalitymin walking distancenarrow lanenice ambiencepleasant stayplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

It was great experience. Hospitality of staff was great , food was good too. Rooms and bathrooma were clean . Onlydownside is that it is situated on little uphill slope which can be troublesome for some people other than that it was great experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ajit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEYAK, Front Office Manager at Hotel White Yak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Hope to see you again with our best.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Myself with family visited in this hotel after coming from Pelling and were too tired. The room offered to us was on 4th floor and this hotel has no elevator. After ascending by stairs to 4 floors, when we entered the room, we were in utter shock to see the size of room. There was no balcony as shown in pics while booking. Room size was appx 11×11 sqft. that too not rectangular. There was not enough space to even move around the bed in the room. There was a concrete pillar right in the middle of the moving area in the room. Almirah was too small to accomodate any luggage bag. Washroom was too small. Room main door had no bolt/latch/kundi to lock it from inside. The mobile charging socket was obsructed by the bed.

The worst part of our stay was food. We had booked a breakfast inclusive deal for our stay of 2 days. Receptionist told us that brkfst shall be a buffet! On the next morning when we entered d mini sized restaurant, the brkfast 'buffet' had poori-sabzi (sabzi was aaloo dipped in yellow water), rice pudding (kheer, bad taste), plain bread with jam, worst tea (u can find a better tea in a small road side dhaba). How d hell can somebody call it a buffet? Unfortunately i did not carry my phone so no pics r available for the restaurant.

We then only decided to leave the hotel after our 1st night stay even though we had paid for 2 nights in advance. The reception didnt ask us the reason for early checkout neither offered any alternate room. My plan of sightseeing was ruined for the day i checked out because i had to visit other properties with my luggage in my hand. Thankfully we got a much better room in the same locality.

I know that the hotel manager shall now put his clarifications saying that other guests have not complained of anything and we r the best budget hotel blah blah.. but I just shared my experience as a responsible customer.
Pics are attached FYR. Choose wisely!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Vaibhav Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEYAK, Manager at Hotel White Yak, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Our Regrets, you felt/observed the way you have penned your words for us.

No blah blah.... as you say... but would request you to opt for a five star property in the future to meet your expectations.

We have nothing more to say on your observations filled with malice.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Simply awesome, worth for money, staffs are so kind, nice hospitality, especially Sunita was talking care of us very well,
I love it.
I gone for a vacation through GOLDEN VACATION, they are made a stay in white yak and golden continental Gangtok,
But the golden continental was not good,
They didn't do proper service, and they are not picking up the call, if come down to reception also nobody is there,
I recommend to all that white yak property was so awesome.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEYAK, Front Office Manager at Hotel White Yak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the hotel for your stay.We are so thankful that you took out your precious time for our review.We are glad that you liked our hotel ,hospitality ,staffs and service.

We apologize for your inconvenience at Hotel Golden Star Continental & Spa.

Hope to see you soon.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Good place to stay when in Darjeeling. Really good breakfast and clean bathrooms and rooms. Electric heaters on extra payment basis. Staff is friendly and helpful. We had to check out early morning, and the hotel provided us with breakfast to go.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank ishraque k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEYAK, Front Office Manager at Hotel White Yak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the hotel for your stay.

Hope to see you again with our best.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this very pathetic hotel only for 1 day & the best part is we cancelled our booking for 1 day as we had booked it for 2 days. Room no. Was 223. OMG you can't even stand paroperly over there, Almirahs were meant for kids not for Adults. Receptionist lady was arrogant and has a attitude problem. In place of serving fresh fruits they served us "sade hue fruits" which we wont even offer to any animal. Buffet was terrible. For every single Poori you have to wait for 15 mins. There was a lady in the canteen area, although the i forgot to take her photo she was the worst hotel staff ever seen, dont know how to talk when i complained her about food quality she replied please go ahead and take action we can't do anything.
Room size was very small.
No balcony.
Difficult to even stand if you put your luggage on the floor.
Washroom buckets n mugs seems to be of very cheap quality.
Food not good, lot of masala which is harmful for health.
Whatever you will order for food they wont provide you that and suggest you for an alternate option.
It is kind of uphill location so coming up is a big problem
Restaurant too small in size.
In short money waste hotel.
Staff has not been taught how to behave with customers all have attitude problem.
Size of TV is again the worst part, it was a more of "TOY TV".
I wanted to talk to there manager but no one provided me his number.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shikha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITEYAK, Manager at Hotel White Yak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Sorry you felt that way and we sense malice in your observations......but would like to bring to your kind attention that we are regarded as one of the best mid category hotel in Darjeeling and the strangest part is that there were other guests staying in the property at the same time as yourself who have opinions about the service, food and the property, totally contrary to yours.

I believe you had expected five star services and property and was disappointed.

Big suits would be available at Five star/Seven star properties with balconies , monster Television sets and huge restaurants which we regret, we don't have. more over the monetary amount required to be spent for such facilities would be at least 5 to 10 times more than what we charge.

Our Staffs are well trained and we disagree that they don't know how to behave with guests.

Last but not the Least, we understand that every individual has his/her own personal opinion and is is free to express them as per their understanding.

Have a great year ahead.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews