We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
247
35
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
35
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests tea estate main bungalow suspension bridge rose suite water lily butterfly room bagdogra airport communal table homemade lemonade moment you arrive communal dining interesting tour nightly rate primary school rough road delicious lunch
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

As you drive down the rumbling,hilly and possibly the worst road in Eastern India, you get a sudden glimpse of the possibly the most beautiful house in the world.
Glenburn, the tea estate as it is lovingly called is an age old world, a tribute to a world that existed hundreds of years ago. A world which you sincerely hope existed today.
The smell of the mountains, the swaying pines ,the distant peaks and a wonderfully curated Darjeeling Tea Welcome Drink greets you as you enter the sunny porch.
The Manager and other staff have ever smiling faces and lead you to the wonderfully decorated colonial suites each made up to a particular theme. I was gifted the most charming one, the Simbong Butterfly Room named after the butterflies that flutter around a quaint Himalayan village called Simbong.
The rooms dazzle with antiques, the best possible linen and Burma Teak Four Poster Beds, the world’s best cutlery from Royal Albert, England and preserved bodies of butterflies from a different age.

The Dining Hall, the Kanchenjunga Suite, the Rose Suite and all the other suites in the newly constructed Water Lily Bungalow clearly define the art decor, the beautiful and unmatched hospitality Glenburn is known for. Evening drinks in the Lounge is an experience in itself which leads to Dinner at the Dining Hall where everyone dines together and you might find urself dining amidst people from 12 different countries. The Manager along with his family joins you to liven up the great and unusual experience of making friends cross boundaries.

Bed tea is served in your suite in the most beautiful way possible. Breakfast and Lunch is served under a lovely tree or in the lawn. Apart from this Garden fresh tea, cakes, cookies, juices and a wide range of tea based snacks like Tea Leaf Pakora, Green Tea Ice Cream with Chocolate Tea Leaves, Green Tea Panna Cotta with Masala Chai Sauce, Tea Smoked Chicken are available anytime you ask for. They can possibly make you anything with a short notice.

Sunrises in Glenburn are a world apart with the gleaming peaks behind and the clouds making their way up behind the Water Lily Bungalow. You can also choose to spend a night at the Glenburn Log Hut beside the Rungeet River or they can also arrange a special lunch beside the river. Apart from this you can take numerous hikes across the hills and rivers all guided by ever smiling guides who can magically conjure up cups of tea or nimboo pani amidst the hills or tea gardens. A tea tour of the factory with a tea tasting session is also included in the nightly rate apart from to and fro transfers from the airport or railway station.

Glenburn is a world in its own right. Life takes a different pace here. Apart from the extremely beautiful location, what really stuns you is the intricate art decor of the Bungalows. Everything makes you want to stay here, forever. I congratulate Husna Tara Prakash and her entire team for creating such a wonderland, possibly one of the best boutique hotels in the world

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank Rana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We spent three nights there and wished we could have stayed an extra day/night.
We stayed in the Lily Bungalow where we had a beautiful view. Unfortunately we had rain two afternoons in a row so only saw the Himalayas one day.
The room was spacious with a nice seating area which we enjoyed because of the weather. Also a large bathroom but no place to put our toiletries. A few shelves would have been convenient.
Though it was cool we were able to have breakfast outside and admire the views.
Early morning delivery of coffee and cookies to the room was appreciated and so was the tea at 4pm. The menu at dinner was varied and the food very good quality. It is a communal table which, depending on the guests, can be a very stimulating evening or a boring one. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Glenburn is a heavenly oasis from which you can hike out and see the wonderful landscape and tea plantations. However it is so heavenly at the residence itself that you may be tempted just to stay put sit in the garden and admire the view whilst drinking real tea and sampling good cooking. A number of people in reviews mention the rough road ride to to the estate but this in itself is exciting and gives the feeling you are truly escaping. Maybe they can fill a few ruts but would lose a lot of charm if tarmacked.
Accommodation is deliciously luxurious colonial style and the staff are all excellent.
Would we go back? You bet your life we would and instead of two nights would make it three or four.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husna-Tara P, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you David G. We would love to have you visit again! And next time definitely for longer.....Thank you also for clarifying that the road should not hinder future guests......and as my husband reminds me every now and again when I get disheartened about dismal reviews about the Glenburn road..."Once accessed only on horseback, Glenburn now has a road!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We visited Glenburn 1st to 8th March 2018. You are picked from Bagdogra Airport by a private jeep for the 4 hour trip to Glenburn stopping for a lovely picnic on the way. The last 45 mins is a rocky ride and not for the faint hearted but we embraced it as part of the adventure!
After being greeted by the management in true Indian fashion, scarves being presented and cool drinks on alighting your jeep, you settle into your room/suite. The rooms and the bungalow are in true colonial style with much of the original furniture and wonderful furnishings tastefully designed with ‘two leaves and a bud’ which relates to tea picking! The attention to detail in every aspect of the ‘hotel’ is wonderful, fresh English garden flowers in your room and bathroom every day, the ability to ask for anything you want at any time of the day, amazing picnic when you trek to the river including fresh fish cooked in the open and such personal service when we stayed overnight at the campsite including 5 members of staff to wait on you and keep you safe!
Each night at Glenburn guests meet at 7pm for drinks on the verandah and new guests are welcomed by existing guests as well as Graham & Jennifer, the present managers. There is communal dinning and you are seated randomly each night which allows you the opportunity to chat to many different people.
The food is excellent and varies each night, from Indian, Nepali and Burmese and international. It is a wonderful example of how Indian food can be packed with flavour yet not chilli hot! Breakfast and lunch are served on terraces with stunning views of the Himalayas and tumbling jasmine! At any time during the day you can ask for drinks and snacks and homemade cakes ( the walnut brownies are a great hit)all are included in the tariff.
The views are totally breathtaking, and we were mesmerised by Kanchenjunga (3rd highest mountain in the world) which we were blessed to see on two mornings.
There are many hikes to take as well as a visit to the tea factory where Ranjan explains the tea process, the different types of tea and a tea tasting.
We visited one of the 3 local primary schools which Glenburn supports, it is a poor community.
We took time to just relax in the gardens and on the verandah, have a manicure/pedicure and the body massages are the best we have ever had.
This is not even a boutique hotel it is a very unique experience!
The service at Glenburn is attentive, friendly and yet not intrusive. We met some wonderfully interesting people and feel we made new friends.
A truly wonderful holiday which I would love to do again and again! Thank you to all the staff you are exceptional and made this a holiday of dreams!

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husna-Tara P, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Glenburn is a labour of love, both for myself and my team, and it is always wonderful when someone acknowledges our attention to detail, and when guests see the beauty and service beyond the bumpy road! We do hope you will return and in the meantime, do spread the Glenburn word as we get the loveliest of guests through word of mouth. We are also thrilled that you booked to stay with us for 7 nights....an increasing trend we find, and well worth it in order to truly relax and enjoy the magic of our valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

It’s the attention to detail that makes this place so special. It’s like the tea brought to your room in the morning to wake you up where the tea cosy design matches the curtains of the room.

And the rooms (there are only 8) are just huge with their timber floors & ceilings, antique furniture and beautiful furnishings throughout the property. Again the attention to detail and the period as well as the quality.

There is a huge antique bed and big bathroom. The bathroom has a wonderful big old fashioned bath and there is also a large shower. My room also had a sitting room off the bedroom & views out towards the mountains (unfortunately when I was there the mountains were shrouded in mist so I never got to see them)

To get here is somewhat horrendous over what would be one if the worst roads in India. But once here it is back to colonial times & it is one of those wonderful & unforgettably travel experiences.

The meals here are amazing & there is plenty of food. Breakfast and lunch are outside under a beautiful tree. Dinner is at a communal table in the main building, with all the other guests and the property managers.

Spend a few days here, it is well worth it. Just loved it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husna-Tara P, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review. I loved the fact that you noticed that the tea cosy design matched the curtains in your room.
Each and every piece of china at Glenburn is carried back by me and my family from our travels around the world where I hunt for pretty tea cups and tea pots for our guests. Glenburn is a labour of love, both for myself and my team, and it is always wonderful when someone acknowledges our attention to detail, and when guests see the beauty and service beyond the bumpy road!

We do hope you will return and in the meantime, do spread the Glenburn word as we get the loveliest of guests through word of mouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews