We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
280
211
58
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
211
58
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscherry brandymr badalheritage propertyold world charmpiano playerpublic roomsbritish erabreakfast and dinnercharming hotellounge areahot water bottlesreading roomhigh teathe ground floorevery eveningdining hallcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We stayed at the Elgin for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago and could not fault it. It was like stepping back into the colonial period but with modern facilities. The reception, restaurant and room staff were all friendly and helpful and they even offered extra touches such as hot water bottles (it snowed while we were there!). The beautifully decorated and furnished public lounges with roaring log fires were very welcoming once it had gone dark.
The hotel is conveniently located and we were able to walk to most of the sights. The reception staff will book a taxi for anything further afield.
We’d definitely recommend this hotel to others simply because of the atmosphere. The fact that the bed, breakfast and dinner option is very reasonably priced is a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RichardRG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Sir !

We thank you for your feedback of all the little details you have taken time to mention and praise , we shall certainly be sharing your feedback with our service and kitchen and management teams and we look forward to welcoming you soon again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We traveled to Darjeeling this January and chose Elgin as my wife had stayed there as a child and was keen on rekindling the old memories. Its a typical colonial heritage property seeped in the past . Located right in the heart of Darjeeling , it is a 3 min walk from the mall road with ample parking space, which is a luxury in Darjeeling, The blazing fire place, the reading room, pretty restaurant and ageless colonial bar, transports you back in time. The rooms per se are small but comfortable.. Perhaps because it was off season or whatever reason , there were distinct signs of the fatigue setting in . The management needs to give little more attention to : 1- We expected a little more warmth at the reception when u enter such a property but the faces were wooden. The first impression is always at the beginning and guess they can do better there. 2- the rooms are small (which is fine), and would recommend to opt for those without fireplace, as the ones with fireplace have no windows and no view which leaves them with a bit of musty smell and also felt claustrophobic.3- I understand that water needs to be conserved but I get it should be left to the judgement of the guest. In our case , the bed sheets were not changed for three nights which was the duration of our entire stay.4-The breakfast and dinner menu is extremely limited, and more importantly all the dishes, especially in dinner tasted alike, perhaps the chef was on holiday during the lean period. 5- The hot water at times do get exhausted, at on one day, when it did, it took me 3-4 follow ups and almost 25 min , till they could fetch it in a bucket. May be these were stray one off instances, however as I mentioned, when u r opting for a best, u expect it to be consistent in quality, However, i would give it full marks for for keeping the British era alive.There are three good hotels in Darjeeling, Elgin, Windamere and Mayfair and altough Elgin is good and the other two are a tad more expensive , they also have one advantage that they get you the view of Kanchenjunga.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank kendraj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Sid / Madame !



I thank you for your feedback of all the little details you have taken time to mention and point out, I have noted all the points where your suggestions for improvements have been made !

We are sorry that we couldn’t deliver our consistent standards at the time and I will be briefeing the kitchen , service and housekeeping teams on the same . With regards to the rooms I am happy to share with you that we will soon be opening a new Tenzing Norgay wing with large rooms having all modern amenities and facing the mountains .

We hope to receive you or your friends in these rooms on your next visit .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We stayed for 3 nights on BB & Dinner basis. The heritage hotel is a complete step back in time to rthe Raj. So many quaint artefacts. Makes a complete change from the modern trendy hotels of today.

Staff are so tentative. Food was great. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ACG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Sid / Madame !

We thank you for your feedback of all the little details you have taken time to mention and praise , we shall certainly be sharing your feedback with our service and kitchen teams and we look forward to welcoming you soon again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

When you feel that old world charm and hospitality has died in the world, take a break and head to The Elgin, Darjeeling. I had read a lot of reviews of multiple good hotels and decided on this place based on the food and hospitality reviews. We went for 4 nights to darjeeling to celebrate the 2nd birthday of our daughter and the stay made it worthwile. Firstly take a prepaid cab from Bagdogra airport and pay the driver extra to drop to the hotel. The Elgin front desk staff is most helpful and checked us in without any delays. The room service we ordered was limited options but excellent food. we had khichdi ordered for our daughter daily and they obliged even suggested other things at dinner and breakfast for her and warm milk at any time of day was delivered within minutes of the request. we booked a one day tour car from the hotel for sightseeing which was very convenient and just make sure that few key sights are open before you book as we didnt know the ropeway was closed and hence missed that on our tour. The front desk staff arranged a box of TEA leaves they used in the kitchen that we could buy as we didnt want to buy any other tea since we loved the tea at the hotel. There is a list of staff i would love to thank for they were excellent... always smiling and helping us on our way in or out of the hotel. Mr. Amal, mr. ashok , the housekeeper madam very sweet lady, miss sabina at the dining kept our daughter engaged and even played with her whilst we had our meal. You dont see such genuine concern in people nowadays. The pianist was our daughters favourite part of the day, as she chose to sit on the entryway stairs to the dining area near the piano as he played and he never complained when she interrupted him sometimes as children do...The style of dining and serving would definitely remind you of the british era with a heavy dose of indian hospitality. They truly care.We loved it. You know that a holiday has truly been a success if you miss it the moment you wake up the next day, its been a whole week since i came back, i dont think i will ever stop missing it! The city and the views and the people... the food... everything worked out great for us with The Elgin.
P.S: They do not have baby cots so please ask for some arrangement in advance if you have a small baby or carry a pack and play. Their baby meals are excellent , and they make what you request for the child. Our daughter ate the food without any problems and enjoyed the fireplace in the sitting area every evening. Its a quiet place with a lot of elegance and soul. go for it.

Room Tip: choose valley view rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iSeePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Sir / Madame !

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback of all the little details you have taken time to mention and praise , we shall certainly be sharing your feedback with our service and kitchen teams and we look forward to welcoming you soon again !

I am sorry that a baby cot was not available at the time and we have made an order for a wooden baby cot already to be pleased in one of our larger rooms in standby .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

A truly friendly hotel with bags of character. The food was top rate, service very good and all the staff were friendly and helpfull. A really good location in Darjeeling. The hotel has enough of the feeling of The Raj without being twee. Simply a nice place to stay.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Sir!

Greetings from The Elgin, Darjeeling !

We thank you for your feedback of all the little details you have taken time to mention and praise , we shall certainly be sharing your feedback with our service and kitchen teams and we look forward to welcoming you soon again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews