We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast”
Review of Sonam's Kitchen

Sonam's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Wow! I was told to go for the pancakes, but wanted savoury. I went for hash browns, tomatoes and veg omelette. Great portion size...huge home made hash brown. Simply delicious. Friends had pancakes...also incredible. Coffee, hot and strong. Wonderful wooden chalet type feel and incredibly friendly, helpful staff. A must!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Astonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Verry Nice People.Helpfull.Verry good food.The best coffee.Cozy place.Feels like home.
In two words : go there !!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank emmakaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Today I came to Sonar's Kitchen and I had the set breakfast "E". It was a big plate of scrambled eggs, hash browns, cheese, and thick brown toast. Of course I had to order a hot chock (hot chocolate) as well. Auntie Sonam makes the most delicious breakfast in the town of Darjeeling and here you feel so well taken care of. I saw her light up when she saw an old friend whom she's known for at least ten years. It's so nice to see how much joy she has to share with each of her guests who come to sit awhile.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rwertheim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

One of the best places, if not the best place, to get a delicious meal. My partner and I spent a few weeks in Darjeeling, and we were basically go there to eat every day. The soup and sandwiches were very tasty, but also the breakfast too.The place is quite small but very cosy. A must stop for some tea during a rainy and cold evening. Sonam and her husband run the place, they are lovely people, always willing to help and give you advices if you need any. We also did a trek organised through them, which was way cheaper than any agency and a great experience too.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

I went to have breakfast for 2 days during my stay in Darjeeling. We had Banana pancakes and a platter of hashbrown, scrambled eggs, fried tomatoes, cheese and chunky toast with butter. A different kind of experience. The people are very friendly and nice. Sonam now has a homestay also where travellers can stay now.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SG825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonam's Kitchen also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Sonam's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing