We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW !! WHAT A PLACE”
Review of Hotel Anand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Anand Palace
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata
1 review
“WOW !! WHAT A PLACE”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Was there for a three nights four days trip with friends , we chose the hotel after seeing the pictures on the website ,on arrival we found the hotel indeed was really very beautifully decorated with different themes for different floors , the rooms were neat and clean ,the location was the greatest advantage centrally located amidst shopping arcades and multiplexes' ,the food quality was excellent ,the staff were very cordial , we simply freaked out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha151283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    24
    8
    15
See reviews for
40
18
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel's best advantage is it's location n the interiors are pretty good but there is No Power Backup n if u are planning your vacation in rains then Look for it.
Room service is average and there is no uniformity in rooms, you may get a smaller room in the same rent !
Food is good but the restaurant is quiet small, so there are chances that you'll have to stand and eat ! Finally, there is no supply of 24 hrs hot water there are fixed hrs in which you'll get hot water. It's location is an advantage for shopaholics but there is no parking space in front of the main gate of the hotel.
overall i don't find it a value for money deal !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shreyas_2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

we reached hotel on the evng of 22nd of may 2011.we had a fabulous time at the hotel. the food was great,the service was fantastic ,the staff was very helpful in making us feel at home,and moreover every one of them had a smiling face .the hotel is also very conveniently located near a shopping mall.during late evenings we chilled out at the shopping mall even catching a movie.the only drawback was a bit of dampness in the room but i personally feel it was due to the cold and rainy weather .after switching on the heater it took just 1 hr for it to go away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitabhvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The hotel was part of the package I had booked for my north east trip. The hotel is located on the mall road. The rooms are spacious though not very modern in terms of outlook. The food is average but the hotel staff are very co-operative. The waiting area of the hotel is another plus point of the hotel. Overall a good hotel and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I booked this hotel from the UK having looked at the glorified photos on its website. How I was fooled with its ambience!!!! On my arrival at the reception, it was the only place that was just about colourful. I was shown a super deluxe room on the sixth floor. Be prepared to walk up as there is no lift at this hotel and hasn't been for the last six months. (still being renovated???). If they call these rooms super deluxe, I have a good chance of becoming prime minister!!! The super deluxe room was like a room in a backpackers hotel. There was a constant damp smell in the room and the hallways. The walls of the room were filthy and the shower room, well, no water pressure. Hot water was luke warm and when asked for a heater in the room as it was cold, they even required a fee for the use of a heater!!!! I explored the other floors to see if I could even remotely match the pictures on the website. However, a big "NO" "NO". Each floor was dark and gloomy and as I ran my finger against one of the walls, my finger turned black with dust which tells me that cleanliness at this hotel is way down the priority list. The carpet in the room was dirty and the bed, well, I've slept in a better hospital bed!!! I complained to the general manager, who looked as if he had just left school and he seemed to have the least interest in my concerns yet maintained that the hotel was a 3 star. I wouldn't give this hotel a 1 star. The only consellation I would give as far as this hotel is concerned, is the food. The food was excellent with a wide variety of veg and non-veg dishes. The staff at the front counter tried their best in helping, but it just wasn't working. I moved out of this hotel within 48 hours of arrival and vowed never to go back there again nor advise any traveller to do so. My advice is to spend a little bit more money on a 5 star hotel as there are a couple in the local area. This hotel is overpriced and you'll get nothing for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rakaash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Mohit
Hotel Mohit
#36 of 97 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
1.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anand Palace

Property: Hotel Anand Palace
Address: 5 Hotel Anand Palace Dr S M Das Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): $94 - $138
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Anand Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Anand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing