We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway
Ranked #53 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Service at the Bar of this hotel is slow. Though it was not crowded, we have to prompt waiters many times for menu and refills. The key stopped working and I ended up wasting time by the time alternate key was arranged.

However I must add that room is nice and breakfast spread had good and many choices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you appreciated the hotel room and the breakfast menu choice..

On the other hand, we regret to know that we were not able to fully meet the basic expectations at the bar.We will take necessary action on improving the areas highlighted in your constructive feedback.

Despite the little misgivings you had mentioned, we hope you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to the welcoming and serving you again in the future.

KRISHNAKUMAR MENON
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    150
    71
    26
    13
See reviews for
43
17
32
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel is located on the OMR expressway, not too far from the airport and many organizations like Cognizant, TCS, etc.
The rooms are uniquely designed and they provide you many upmarket amenities. The food quality and taste is good and they've a good menu to offer. Overall, nice experience and I would say, nice play to stay with a reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Expect a suave and colour entry into the hotel with energetic music playing and staff in colourful uniforms trying their level best to give you an ALOHA welcome.

However, that is where the experience ends and the disappointment begins to creep up on you. Service is far from satisfactory. The hotel policies are such that even if the staff want to help you, they express their inability to do so.

Restaurants and bars shut at 22:30 hrs... c'mon give me a break! We sat at the restaurant and waited 15 minutes for the steward to come and explain the pricing on the menu to us, and when he finally did, all he could do was tell us that THE ONLY thing we could order was from the 24 hour menu. DISAPPOINTED & DISTURBED.

Considering that it is supposed to be a business hotel, I would advise business travellers to stay away from this hotel. Perhaps it is better suited for holidaying families, but who on earth comes and stays at a hotel on the IT Corridor for holidays.

Please be prepared to shell out additional amounts for double occupancy of a double room in the form of an extra bed charge - in my 18+ years of travelling extensively around the world, this IS the FIRST time that I was forced to do so. The amount was inconsequential but the policy itself was so unacceptable that I have checked out and moved to another lesser known hotel down the road.

In short, if you need to stay in this part of Chennai, you would do yourself a lot of good by staying away from this hotel - there are plenty of other hotels on this road, who are perhaps not as well known as the SPG brand or the Aloft colours, but definitely go out of the way to make you feel a welcome guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anupam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Mr.Anupam,

Apropos to our teletalk , I would again like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us and are grateful that you brought the issues to our attention.
Your feedback about the double occupancy charges, early closing time of liquor service and the delay in food ordering is noted.I have initiated talent re-training towards guest sensitivity.

The charges for the extra person occupying the room is applicable all over India and the Tamil Nadu Prohibition and Excise rule does not permit us to keep the bar open beyond 2300 hours.

We value your patronage and believe you will give us more opportunity to welcome and serve you again.

Krishnakumar Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A nice place to live, but the service is slow. Need to remind the staff again and again if you have ordered for something or require something. The rooms are cozy. There are frequent power outages but its ok as the generators kick in quickly.
The only plus point i feel is that there are shops and local transport close by to avail of.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Aloft OMR Chennai on Tripadvisor.
I have made note of your comments on slow service and have initiated steps to improve the service standards.
My apology if you left the hotel feeling disappointed.
I hope that the last arrival experience will not deter you from returning to stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review

Krishnakumar Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

First time we have experienced the Aloft couple of months ago. Hotel themes are unique, and attractive to youngsters and my children. We have picked up this hotel due to its proximity to ECR road which leads to various tourist attractions like Muttukadu, Dakshinakshetra, Mahabalipuram. Overall we have enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Not many options outside the hotel either for shopping or dining. ECR road is about 3-4 kms away, has few decent options.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijayvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.7 km away
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway ...
#11 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
663 reviews
10.7 km away
Days Hotel Chennai OMR
Days Hotel Chennai OMR
#50 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
46 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Old Mahabalipuram Road
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Old ...
#68 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Turyaa Chennai
Turyaa Chennai
#30 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
183 reviews
1.2 km away
The CentrePoint
The CentrePoint
#55 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
72 reviews
3.3 km away
Formule1 Chennai OMR
Formule1 Chennai OMR
#41 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway

Property: Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway
Address: 102, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Shollinganallur | Omr IT Expressway, Chennai (Madras) 600 119, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#39 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price range (per night): $103 - $168
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the traveler open to possibilities, Aloft Chennai OMR IT Expressway is a modern, fresh and fun destination. It is a hotel that celebrates the individual and gives you freedom to control and customize your travel adventure to fit your personal style. With a loft like design, it is a place where walls have been knocked down to create a space that is open in design and open to possibilities. A place where energy flows, personalities mingle, and opportunities abound. A place where anything can happen. Conveniently located in close proximity to the city's many IT/ITES companies, tech trade, airport and city sites, this bold new lodging will inspire you to discover more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chennai, Omr - It Expressway Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing