We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Chandra Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chandra Park
Ranked #152 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hotel is directly opposite entrance to Egmore station. It has been subject to poor reviews but our experience was fine. Stayed just 1 nite, food in restaurant was fine but beer only in bar which was not appealing to the lady.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    49
    52
    29
    24
See reviews for
30
41
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The reception and overall management at Hotel Chandra Park is unprofessional and unreliable. I should have gone elsewhere instead of all the hassle and waiting I put up with just to get an unsanitary + noisy room. Don't let the good location and review in Lonely Planet fool you - this hotel has perhaps gone down-hill recently with its lousy staff. There are many other far better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prism Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Reutlingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked a room online with the explicit remark that we arrived very late. When we showed up at around midnight the receptionist did not find us in the system. We presented our printout which left him just as helpless. Another receptionist appeared, looked at the sheet and told us that the room was given to somebody because a group turned up unexpectedly. It was pointless to insist on the reservation. The second receptionist then sent us to another hotel a short distance down the road. They will give you a room. - Which was not the case. Even a third one further away was fully booked. The fourth try was successful. - Lousy performance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived early in the morning and got ourselves a standard double room.

The room itself was ok - big enough, with TV and hot shower - though for this price we could have found a much better one in the neighbourhood. The bed was however infested with bed bugs. We discovered that arround 10 PM, went to the reception, complained and a result got another room on the same floor (first). It looked fine at first, however in the middle of the night, we woke up, heavily bitten. IT TURNED OUT THAT THE SECOND ROOM HAD BED BUGS TOO!

It was 3AM, but we could not sleep in that room, so we went again to the reception. This time they were not helpful at all. The clerk initially accused my boyfriend of lying, claiming that there could not be any insects in our room again. After some hard words, he promised to send someone to investigate. We waited for 30 minutes - of course noone arrived. We went downstairs again, demanding some action. A maintnance guy, who spoke no English whatsoever arrived shortly at our room and after seeing one dead bed bug, which we kept as "evidence", reluctantly gave us a key to a room on a second floor. This time bedbug-free. It was 4.30 AM and we could finally go to sleep.

Stay away from this place and if you have to stay here, at least avoid the rooms on the first floor! And check the bed carefully before going to sleep:)

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrissur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I booked two standard rooms and i reached in early morning i was told that only dlx rooms are available and person himself told that you will stay in dlx room in standard room cost.But same day evening one guy called and told that asking you want change the room .I told no because i am going to vacate within one hour.But while billing they charged for dlx room saying you only say no to change the room.The person at that time in reception is not responded and stasrt quarrelling.
Hospitality is totally absent and people in reception was not behaving properly with ladies.
Rooms are not cleaned properly

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiran570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
107 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#85 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
181 reviews
Alwarpet South
Treebo Select Fortel
Treebo Select Fortel
#271 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Udipi Home Egmore
#109 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
141 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#96 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandra Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandra Park

Property: Hotel Chandra Park
Address: 9 Gandhi Irwin Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price range (per night): $28 - $67
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chandra Park 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandra Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandra Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing