We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful introduction to Rajastani hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Narain Niwas Palace
Ranked #132 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed one night at this beautiful, clean hotel. It is a historical building with large portraits of the ancestors of the current owner displayed on its colourful walls. The en-suite bedroom was massive and opulent, with plenty of room for our family of four. The grounds were beautiful with a very inviting, warm swimming pool, visited by local monkeys in the morning, brilliant for the kids. The restaurant was smart and the meals delicious, the staff very helpful and friendly.
Unfortunately, the dated electrical system and noisy air-conditioning boxes will need modrnising to compete with the other haveli hotels in the area.
We were sorry to have to move on

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltime101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have been coming to Jaipur for 20 years and had wonderful experiences of Rajasthani hospitality - so I was appalled at this hotel - it is a stunning heritage property with large spacious rooms, attractive terraces and beautiful gardens and pool, but there is nowhere to sit at ease except an unwelcoming dull area outside the main restaurant. The upper terrace above should have been a lovely sitting area for the rooms up there - where we were located - but all the metal and upholstered chairs were covered in a thick layer of dust and indeed a grid pattern of dust was imprinted on my black trousers where I had sat down. The toilets behind reception - only public ones i found were filthy. The curtains in our room looked ancient and dirty, as were the floor mats , and my sheets on the first night were marked with what looked like old blood. There was bottled water (small) on the first night only - otherwise filtered water in an old fashioned plastic flask. In a hotel this dirty - i could not feel confident that the water filter was well enough maintained to be safe. I got a stomach upset (from food ?? from ice??) and on asking for water had to sign for it, the waiter approaching my bed for the signature! - as i had not taken breakfast and was ill surely water should be complementary - as in other hotels in the city - it should be complementary daily in a country where tap water is not safe - everyone has to drink. The food was OK but not good - but i got sick. Wifi should in this day and age be part of the service. The reservation staff and restaurant "manager" were indifferent and not at all welcoming. It has huge potential to be a very lovely place to stay with the little effort of cleaning and a few replaced textiles - all made in Jaipur and not expensive - and for the staff to understand that guests should be treated with the legendary Rajasthani indeed Rajput hospitality - that their experience should make them want to return - take a leaf out of the other properties and why people like me return year after year. This place is a disgrace to Rajput traditions and therefore a very expensive place to stay for no pleasure.

Room Tip: i am sorry the general state is such that i cannot recommend anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank selinacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is a heritage hotel located in center of a city. If you are in a mood to stay in that kind of environment, then it is a best choice for you but then do not expect any extraordinary facilities.

It lacks in terms of service also. Most of the people don't understand English and are very lazy to do any of your help.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manish_Khandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Not very friendly on arrival staff looked a bit shifty really, the hotel has a beautiful facade with lot of character on entrance, but like its room is faded and rather neglected.
Did not dine or wish to, and indeed breakfast was poor, rooms are large and quaint but not that well cleaned, had to use a bath towel for my bedside rug (not putting my feet on that floor).
Large pleasant garden with excellent swimming pool.
You can can walk out onto the street from here and buy a few bits.
Wifi is by purchase of expensive logon card, of which some are 'use once only', and others run out after '24hrs' of 1st login, no real explanation given at time of sale.
Whilst there the agent made contact and asked how the hotel was, we told him, he went to the hotel, and afterwards the change of staff attitude was a transformation to be seen to be believed. How staff can alter from being shifty, idle and unfriendly one day, to smiling, helpful and happy the next is a product I wish could package and export. Was it that simple??

Room Tip: I think some have had a make over so asked to see before getting bags delivered to allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Clitheroe-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The high prices that you are paying for there is just making you cry, when you see the dirty bathroom, awful rooms, the service is so terrible, welcome in India, paying high prices for such neglected places...restaurant is just awful, hated that place...better to go back again and again to Thailand, Indonasia never never be disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.4 km away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#63 of 385 in Jaipur
481 reviews
3.0 km away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#38 of 385 in Jaipur
891 reviews
4.5 km away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 385 in Jaipur
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 385 in Jaipur
706 reviews
0.9 km away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#112 of 385 in Jaipur
290 reviews
4.2 km away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#27 of 385 in Jaipur
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narain Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narain Niwas Palace

Address: Kanota Bagh, Jaipur 302004, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#45 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $135 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Narain Niwas Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Narain Niwas Palace Hotel, a Heritage Hotel, provides a good example of history amalgamating with modern times. Centrally located in Jaipur, the Pink City of India, the palace was built in the 19th century by General Amar Singh Ji, the then Thakur of Kanota. Designed in a fanciful version of The Anglo-Indian style popular in the Victorian Era, the palace now serves as a hotel. The Palace has all the modern amenities and a place where one can enjoy traditional Rajput Hospitality. Decorated with Rajput Flourishing, Rajasthani Furnishing and Traditional Jaipur painted wall decor in a typically bold colour palette; Narain Niwas was built in the 1928 by General Amar Singh, Thakur of Kanota, and Commander of the Jaipur State Force. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Narain Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narain Niwas Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing