We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The perfect escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is the ultimate in luxury. From the perfect pimms cocktail to pancakes for breakfast on the relaxing outdoor terrace, or simply lying by the pool, this hotel offers the perfect escape. Yes its pricey, but well worth it. The bedroom and bathroom were also top class and super clean. The only spot of bother we had was trying to book an early check in. Their approach to this was rather sneaky i thought. We were set to arrive by train you see at 5 a.m. Arriving in at an ungodly hour is not uncommon when traveling on India's railway network. We called days ahead of course to see if upon arrival we could have our rooms early. They told us 10 a.m. would be the earliest they could hand over the rooms to us as they were 'very full'. Fair enough but low and behold when we arrived in the early morning hour, ours rooms were readily available to us but for a hefty charge of 50% on top of the one night. We took it- who wouldn't at that hour - and that's what they depend on i suppose. I suggest they take a more courteous approach and let guests know the real option in advance for consideration rather than being put on the spot at 5 a.m. The hotel looked less than full anyway we discovered too...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    127
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
347
607
49
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Taj Rambagh Palace far surpasses any other hotel worldwide that we have ever stayed in - including the likes of the Waldorf Astoria in NYC, the Hay-Adams in Washington DC, the Jumeirah Beach in Dubai and the Four Seasons Hawaii. All were excellent hotels, and we had no complaints, but the service and experience at the Taj Rambagh Palace exceeded them all. The concierge made my daughter feel like royalty for the entire stay. When we mentioned that we were looking for a few items (Indian flag and Masala Dabba) she knew exactly where to direct us, in fact, she even got the flag for us as a gift. I wish that we could have stayed an entire week!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scatalano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Rambagh Palace is a fine example of successful transforming a royal hunting lodge to a classic modern hotel. What we liked the most is the overal ambience of the hotel which reminds us of the magnificant days of the Rajaputs. Everything was very grand - we thouroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This tophotel is really a tophotel with very professional and kindly people. The food and the rooms are also from very good quality. We have had a excellent stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Journalist
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

India is host to dozens of "palace hotels" - some grand, some dumpy, with all points in between, and each is imbued with its own unique history. But the top of the foodchain is and always has been the Rambagh. You can read up on the background to understand why this is such a particularly compelling environment: built as an early 19th-century hunting lodge for the Rajput royal family, it was eventually transformed into a luxurious residence when Jaipur's Maharaja Jai Singh married his beloved third wife, Gayatri Devi in the 1930's. This was their special retreat during the years they were toasted internationally as one of the world's most glamorous couples, and no doubt the walls have plenty of spicy stories to tell about the lavish parties, elegant guests and eye-popping events that transpired here over the years (some of the royal family continue to live in homes on the extensive palace grounds...) Thirty years ago when I first stayed at Rambagh it retained some of the original Art Deco-era interiors, and what it lacked then in service was amply made up for by atmosphere. At the time, the Maharani was still on the premises (her book, "A Princess Remembers", is still sold in the excellent bookstore on the first floor) and while Rambagh was incomparably lovely, it was fraying at the edges and, like most 100+ room homes, expensive to maintain. When the Taj hotel chain took it over some years ago, a top-to-bottom renovation insured that no room would be anything less than gorgeous, comfortable, and fully-functional. Today, peacocks still strut the lawns and the famous antique cars are still deployed out front: you do feel like a royal walking into this unusual property, and its very difficult to leave a place where every desire seems to be anticipated. If you don't stay here (yes, you pay through the nose, but you can see why you're paying for it!) at least go for tea on the lawn, or a drink at dusk, or for dinner in one of the three delicious restaurants - including "Steam", which is created from several old train cars. Ramagh has made it through the centuries, transofrming itself to fit each new era and each time, rising to the occasion.

Room Tip: The so-called "palace rooms" are more expensive but guarantee that you are staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
7.9 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 363 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.9 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#13 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
6.9 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#3 of 363 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#30 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
Price range (per night): $800 - $4,833
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing