We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for business travel, good location”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #62 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Fremont
1 review
“Great place to stay for business travel, good location”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was in Mumbai, India in Jan on a business trip.
One of our clients recommended this place due to its location. This worked worked out well, since it made it easy to commute to central parts of the city.
Lived in room type 'SMART' and considering the price, was worth the price.
Gulmurg food is good and made eating logistics easier.
If you love to eat chinese cuisine, try out China Garden in the vicinity of the hotel.
If you have spare time, visit the Queens Necklace and Gateway of India. Good time is to visit these places after 10:00 pm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Frank A

We thank you for providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We have always put in our best efforts to offer the best of Shalimar to every guest of ours. We are pleased to note that you have fond memories of your stay.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    147
    70
    23
    19
See reviews for
143
104
85
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Fabulous food, excellent service & good amenities in the heart of south Mumbai - with shops within walking distance and a central location - for most south mumbai attractions.
My kids & I were crazy about the fish fingers & ate them at every meal !
A definite re visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Sabrina S

We thank you for providing a feedback on your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. We are also happy that you are planning to visit us again in future.

Your positive feedback regarding our fish fingers would be conveyed to the chef.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Would definately happily stay here again on my next business trip. The bed was very comfortable. The working area was adequate. The bathroom was spacious. Lots of amenities. Breakfast was OK and restaurant fine. Large selection of veg/non veg and India/Western foods on the menu and for the room service. So, the hotel is nice, and it is great to be able to go out the door and be within walking distance of many shops/interests. Enjoyed my stay. Staff definately expects tips!

Room Tip: Mumbai is very quiet at night, but noisy during the day. If you need quiet I would definately ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear PumpkinPatch313

We thank you for providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We believe that guest comments and opinions go a long way in helping us constantly improve and upgrade our services and facilities. We have been rewarded by the recognition you have given us by these positive words.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, TX
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at the shalier hotel with my kids in December. I will break it down by the positives and negatives.

Positives:
1. Location is excellent. Very close to great parks and central Mumbai.
2. Very clean property which is tough to find in India.
3. Excellent rooms and bathrooms. We stayed twice at property and I would have to say that the lifestyle suites are well worth it. Beautiful room.
4. Excellent hotel staff, 5 star service. It is true that staff expect tips. I would suggest that management raise wages and make a no tipping policy. This will greatly enhance guest experience.
5. Food is nice for breakfast.
6. Hotel manager is fabulous. I wrote many requests prior to my arrival and all were met. He is very responsive.
7. Great cake shop

Negatives:
1. If your room is not nonsmoking, has a smoke smell. They tried to remove smell as I have kids, this dis help some but not completely.
2. Spa services are very inadequate for four star property. My wife had pedicure and thought
the salon was a little dirty. This was very surprising at an otherwise very clean property.
3. Service in hotel restaurant is very slow. They have plenty of staff, but at times are just standing. Once when the toaster was broken, I had to wait 25 min for toast.

Even with a few negatives, the positives win out and this is a fabulous property. I travel a good bit in India, and my experience was better here than even at some 5 star properties like the Taj. I will definitely stay here again in Mumbai. With a few changes the hotel can be 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Texantraveladdict

We thank you for such a detailed feedback on your stay with us.

We have made note of all your observations and will definitely work towards improving on those areas. We have been constantly renovating and upgrading our facilities and I am sure things would keep getting better and better. We put in all efforts to ensure that every guest who stays with us, moves on with a positive thought and to get recognized for the same is indication enough that we are successful in our efforts.

We have always believed that our staff are our biggest asset and the reason behind our success. Your feedback would be an additional boost to their morale.

We look forward to welcoming you on your future visit to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights during the busy pre-Christmas period (16th-21st December) at The Shalimar Hotel. That's the beginning of the most expensive period in Mumbai for hotel bookings up to the end of the first week in January. We had the cheapest room in their range and the room was more than adequate. Everything was very clean and we were both very happy there for the duration of our stay. We even had bathroom scales - which, after the amount of food I ate, I never used! We arrived extremely late - around midnight, but our arrival was expected and we received a very warm welcome from Mr. Darshil Patel, Front Office Supervisor. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Even Rose, the Housekeeper, recommended shops where I could buy Indian clothes. The only negative note was the banging of the workmen who were and still are working on the hotel during the day. As we went out sightseeing after breakfast and only came back for a shower and a short break in the afternoon, it did not impede on our stay. The work only starts from about 9am till late afternoon. We had a faulty light outside our room, which (when working) showed whether we wished for the room to be made up or not and, on reporting this, it was fixed on our return the same day. Breakfast was lovely. We ate the fruit with no hesitation (we are English and were keen to keep our tummies in good order lol) and the omelettes and dosas were delicious. Anyone who complains about having to wait for food and drink is obviously neither in the holiday mood nor understanding the Indian way of life. We were always happy with the speed of service, but a gentle reminder would always have speeded things along.

We visited the bar on two occasions late at night and the service was great. Obviously the prices are hotel prices and if you don't like what they charge, then you shouldn't go there. It's the same with the bottles of water, which some reviews mention. We never drank the tap water - I'm sure it was fine, but we didn't want to take the smallest risk - so we just bought bottled water and brought it into the hotel. A small bottle costs only about 13p!! We also took advantage of the Minibar, which on our arrival was a Godsend. As to the location - the most important thing when you are a tourist in Mumbai - it was excellent. We used to go outside the hotel and for 100 Rupees (£1.25p), plus a large tip (as we felt they well and truly earnt their money!), we rode to Colaba. I just kept my eyes shut whilst in the taxis - the rides were incredible. We had a great time and even took the ferry over to Elefanta Island. BTW we had a great meal there - very reasonably priced, especially as the beer prices are not governed by Mumbai taxes. Nearer to the hotel is the Golden Crown - about max. 15 mins walk - go under the flyover and straight on - it's on your right with the park to the left of it. Don't go into the downstairs restaurant (that's where they'll try to get you to go - that's the expensive part, which is less frequented), but go upstairs via the outside staircase and you will have a lovely meal - Indian and Chinese menu available. The service and food are great.

We think The Shalimar is a good bet for the price, location, service and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainhamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear miltonkeynesjill

We thank you for the detailed feedback on your stay with us. You have not only covered our services in minute detail, but also the sight-seeing spots in the city.

Each word is for us a moment of encouragement, and it will go a long way in boosting the morale of my entire team. We are happy that we could generate such fond memories in your minds.

Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our efforts in giving the best of Shalimar to every guest of ours.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.9 km away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#31 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
426 reviews
0.9 km away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#80 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
249 reviews
5.8 km away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
118 reviews
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#155 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
204 reviews
5.3 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range (per night): $117 - $209
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing