We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fariyas Hotel Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Ranked #39 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
495 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great location & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in room 905, a big, clean, comfortable room with twin beds, coffee/tea service, daily newspaper delivery and a compact bathroom with a nice variety of amenities. We arrived in the morning at about 10 am but were able to check-in immediately. The hotel is conveniently located, within walking distance of the Taj Hotels, Gateway to India, restaurants and shopping.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good with a large selection of items. We sat out by the pool and ordered off the menu several times - excellent food every time.

The service at the Fariyas was excellent - front desk staff, housekeeping, porters, doorman, waiters were all friendly, efficient and professional. I mentioned to a porter that it was the birthday of one of my traveling companions, and when we returned from sightseeing later that day, she found a lovely chocolate birthday cake waiting for her in her room, compliments of the hotel.

I had a wonderful stay at the Fariyas Hotel and recommend it to visitors to Mumbai.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    311
    144
    43
    36
See reviews for
189
190
56
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you want to do some bargain shopping in Colaba, this hotel is in an ideal location, The breakfast was great with a mixture of both Indian and American foods, The staff was fairly pleasant. Wish the 2 rooms we booked were on the same floor but overall it was quite favorable and I would booked this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would have prefer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalita-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Spent 2 nights here on our arrival to Mumbai in December.
Average accomodation and food in the restaurant.
The saving grace was the central location
Staff are pleasant but the hotel is in dire need of updating and refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were kept awake until after 1am every night with the incessant noise from the Bar. We asked to move after the first night from floor 4 to a higher floor but were told no. At "chucking out time" the noise spilled out onto the street where lots of honking cabs came to pick up their fares. Lots of people stood shouting and hollering at the front of the hotel and also some of the night staff, security and doorman, joined in!!!. The rooms were fine, the breakfast service non existant, surly non english speaking/ understanding staff made for a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Here we are again on our travels and unfortunately chose the Fariyas via TravelBag recommendation.

Forget 4 star this place has never seen 4 stars or 3, at best it is 2 and that is being generous.

No one tells you that the Hotel is adjacent to Mumbai's most deprived area and slums just 300 yards away, no one tells you that the noise from the traffic and constant horn blowing is 24/7.

The hotel staff by in large are pleasant but mainly paying homage to lip service making the best out of what they have here which really is mediocre.

The whole place is very dated and in need of a good lump of investment to bring it up to scratch, the place is not exactly falling down but very very tired indeed.

A pool is boasted but to be fair you would not put goldifsh in it, it is really poor. However, using this hotel means you are centrally located. Although the slums are close by you do not have to go into that area if you do not wish to. Also, the night life is wide and varied and a must is a visit to Leopolds Cafe.

The Hotels redeeming feature if there was one would be its food in the restaurant, very authentic Indian mixed with a little western to appeal to all, the occasional live entertainment however made the whole experience a disaster.

Would we use the Fariyas again ? Simple answer, NO. Spend a little extra and stay at the TAJ PALACE 10 minutes down the road opposite the "Gateway To India" another location featured in Slumdog Millionaire.

Last negative was that we were checking out and onward flight to Hong Kong was not until 0200, we asked if we could retain some basic ammeneties as checkout was 12.00 and was told simply NO!!!!

You pay ya money you takes ya choice.

Room Tip: Cancel and go to the TAJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferrarilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
1.9 km away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#50 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#92 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#68 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#123 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#196 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fariyas Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fariyas Hotel Mumbai

Property: Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Address: 25 Arthur Bunder Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#60 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range (per night): $111 - $168
Hotel Class:4 star — Fariyas Hotel Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fariyas Hotel, Mumbai - the hotel that is perfectly in sync with the needs of today's savvy business executive. Located just off the Colaba Causeway, it's right in the heart of the city, yet far from the bustling crowds. At Fariyas, you are just ten minutes away from the business districts of Nariman Point, Ballard Estate and The World Trade Centre. Its scenic location offers a breathtaking view of the harbour. And it's just 2 minutes away from the Gateway of India and other historical sites like the Prince of Wales Museum, David Sassoon Library to name a few. You can strike the best deals at the shopping arcades of Colaba Causeway from handicrafts to carpets and from books to haute couture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Fariyas Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fariyas Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing