We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everthing was perfect!”
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mumbai
Ranked #1 of 458 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We had such a fantastic stay at this hotel. It is hard to find the entrance to the hotel for taxis as the building is joined with another hotel, Trident. The location is close enough to major attractions and it is a walking distance to the Gateway for India, museums etc.

All staff were courteous and friendly. This hotel has a no-tipping policy so you don't tip individual staff but give an amount for everyone to share at check out. This is to make sure that not only front end staff members are compensated for their efforts - such a wonderful policy and the effect can be seen in each staff member working as a team.

We stayed in a suite and it came with a personal butler - There was a "butler" button in every room so we can contact him if we need something (although I didn't use even once). The suite was immaculately decorated and had water views. I did not feel like leaving the hotel to explore outside!

The bathroom had a huge bath tub and the clear glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom meant you could enjoy the view outside while having bath...but may be a privacy issue (you can fully close the blind if you want). Shampoos, conditioners, shower gel etc are organic and of high quality - They smell delicious.

The breakfast was fantastic! On top of the items available at the buffet, you can order many dishes off the menu. My favourite was the Southern Indian tasting plate and masala chai. Everything was delicious.

Morning swim in the swimming pool outside was fantastic too. It made me feel surreal to be swimming in the nice calm water among the chaotic streets underneath.

I would give more than 5 stars if I could. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the building for a better water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koalachairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai. And thank you very very much for your time to share detailed feedback of your stay on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is most motivating.

We are very very happy to read that you had a wonderful experience and that you were impressed by the service and the facilities at the hotel.

Your mention of our hotel being “perfect” and that you wish you could have rated us more than 5 stars, is very inspiring.

The Oberoi, Mumbai and the Trident Nariman Point, The Oberoi Group’s iconic hotels in Mumbai, are indeed, adjacent to each other and linked by a common corridor.

However, they have different entrances. I am sorry to learn that the taxi driver found it difficult to locate the entrance. On your next visit you may write to us and our Concierge will be happy to speak with the taxi driver and assist him with the exact location or the hotel can arrange a car for your airport pickup or local use.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

The team and I hope that you will return soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing hotel with amazing service....

Would just like to mention one particular staff member that stood out above the rest for his amazing service, cleanliness and excellent customer focus.
His guests needs are always at the forefront of his mind, ensuring professionalism is maintained at all times.
That person is butler chiranjivee and should be a role model to all others

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Shellw96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The Oberoi is truly iconic. It’s location at the end of Marine drive is excellent and everyone at the Hotel from their affable and very friendly GM, aim to make your stay comfortable, memorable and remarkable.
The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with guests being offered a choice of four different types of pillows to ensure comfortable sleep.
The bar ‘Eau’ serves great drinks cocktails and snacks especially during happy hours - very thoughtfully kept between 7 and 9 PM.
The breakfast buffet is supplemented with excellent hot orders, which are placed on individual choice.
Stayed for three nights in Sept and will stay again for sure. Thanks !

Room Tip: Higher floors ... sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pranav2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor and share your feedback.

We are very pleased to read your review. At The Oberoi, Mumbai it is our endeavor that our guests have enjoyable stays and your generous feedback inspires us to continue with our efforts of creating such wonderful memories for our guests. The team is delighted to read your feedback.

I do hope that you have many more opportunities to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Excellent memories of this stay at Oberoi’s . It was an extension of home away from home. Extremely courteous staff and food adapted to taste if requested.
Facility extremely comfortable and relaxing and with two hotels side by side the choice of dining is vast and you are spoiled for taste.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1harishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We are delighted to read your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for sparing your time to post the review. That you had a memorable experience and that you felt it was an extension from your home, is so good to read and so motivating.

The Oberoi, Mumbai and the Trident Nariman Point, The Oberoi Group’s iconic hotels in Mumbai, are indeed, adjacent to each other and linked by a common corridor. Guests can walk through and use facilities, such as restaurants, the swimming pools, meeting rooms, banquets at either of the two hotels.

Your generous compliments for our team are very encouraging and will inspire the team to scale greater heights towards excellence.

We hope you will return soon and give us more opportunities to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Fenix at The Oberoi , the coffee shop is the best restaurant in Mumbai for not only food and service, but also for hands on cooking class for children. A special mention of Executive Chef of the entire hotel- Chef Satbir who was instrumental in giving us world class food for the duration of our stay. Along with his team, he organised a personalised celebration and cake cutting at the poolside for our daughters 10th Birthday. Chef Reema and Chef Adele worked through the night to put together an amazing chocolate-raspberry cake that was beautifully decorated with personal photographs of her.
The cooking class conducted by Chef Ashish for our daughter delighted her as she learnt to bake cookies, fudge brownies and chocolate spoons.
Each of our outstanding meals was a different cuisine prepared by the different Chefs- Chef Aditya, Chef Swapnil , Chef Sahil and the sushi chef - Chef Rubin and a special French dish by Chef Satbir himself .
To top it all we had impeccable service by Senior Captain Mahesh, Santosh, Walter , Shivaji, Prashant and the entire team.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SB020879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai to celebrate your daughter’s 10th birthday and for sparing your time to share very detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is so positive and encouraging.

Chef Satbir and his team are delighted to see their names mentioned in your feedback and to read how they made your stay memorable.

Your generous appreciation has been shared with Chef Satbir Bakshi, Chef Reema, Chef Adele, Chef Ashish, Chef Aditya, Chef Swapnil, Chef Sahil, Chef Reuben, Mahesh, Walter, Santosh, Walter, Shivaji and Prashant for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

All of us look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
#5 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,256 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4,075 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,945 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#14 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,413 reviews
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
#4 of 458 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 021, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $345 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing