We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott city
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of the line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Excellent service and food.
This place is where the class in hospitality shines. I will not miss staying here or any other Taj property whenever possible

Room Tip: If you can get the ocean view, it is worth the scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,205
    928
    243
    62
    82
See reviews for
1,178
2,377
557
1,368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

After a relaxing week in Goa, I stayed here for two nights, one night more than I had planned...and SO GLAD I did...one night is not enough at this wonderful hotel. I could stay for a month! From check in at The Palace side with fabulous flowers and staff, to the escort to the room, this is a Grande Dame in the hotel world. I was offered the Heritage Tour on arrival, and this was a great way to see the hotel and understand the history attached to it and the rest of the Taj group. Rooms are luxurious with all one could want. The restaurants and shops wonderful- no need to leave the hotel. I just loved it and intend going back to see more of these wonderful hotels. Attentive staff, a great pool offer, this is pure heaven! Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room on the Palace side, the extra service is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is great and Its walking distance from very nice restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great hotel one of the best - clean, great service they clean rooms twice a
Day I purchased some items they helped pack them. Awesome food & breakfast buffet, nice shops inside. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was met by a proud, exceptionally courteous staff who instantly gave me a sense of 'specialness' that, I have to say, I have never felt at any property anywhere before. A short welcoming ceremony added to my feeling that I was on the cusp of a unique experience. Everything about this property is unique. I was escorted to my room through a beautifully restored property with distinctive architecture and decorative appointments. The rooms in the main building are luxurious, over the top, and well appointed. Room service arrived in 10 minutes on 2 occasions. A surprise thoughtful gift was given to me at departure to conclude my stay. Great neighborhood. A property you wish you could check into, and never leave. Highly recommended!

If on business, make sure you select a hotel property in Mumbai that is close to your meetings. I was fortunate that the hotel was located within a few city blocks from my meetings. Traffic in Mumbai can be a challenge – up to 2 hours each way to navigate a city of 20 million. I recommend you dine at Leopold’s for a great energy and another unique Mumbai experience next to the hotel.

A comment to the hotel: My experience would have been beyond perfect if WiFi was free. I appreciate that I was afforded the option to connect multiple devices with a single connection (fee). Nonetheless, this is a negligible cost that is best hidden in room charge than exposed to customers. It reminded me that you were after all a business.

Room Tip: Rooms in main 'old' structure are amazing. Pool facing may be greatest for a sanctuary cooli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtrvaler_66_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
1.5 km away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#12 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
13.6 km away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#11 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range (per night): $228 - $430
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 550 rooms including 42 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing