We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and historic Importance of Premier Studios”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Hotel
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great location and historic Importance of Premier Studios”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This place and the table arrangement on the lawns make it a great place to treat your family. The place is ideal for a drink or a two and to have great meals in the maharaja style. You would find a lot of Foreigners and the food is good in taste and the courteous staff are well mannered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShashikiranBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    136
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
76
128
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Five of us, traveling together, had three rooms at the Green Hotel for several days. We didn't stay in the Palace proper, but in rooms outside along the lovely grounds. We appreciated the peacocks painted on our doors, and other small touches that made the facility really charming. We especially liked the stainless steel buckets in the bathroom which were so much nicer than the ugly plastic ones found in most hotels in India, and which reflected attention to quality details throughout the hotel. Another example was the nice pottery used in the dining area.Our beds were great, our rooms were delightful, and the entire staff was helpful and charming.Breakfast was especially nice, giving us an opportunity to sample Indian as well as Western breakfasts, and always with good fruit and juice.

Room Tip: Regardless of which room you get, don't miss out on the exquisite cakes in the Malgudi Cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The first thing that struck me was the lack of clocks in the rooms. This goes on to prove that (a) you wont see the business-type tourists who can't peel their eyes off their blackberrys (b) The hotel wants you to lose track of time. Which is what you should do when you are travelling.
We stayed at the Green Hotel for two nights during Christmas time last year. It was a lovely and memorable stay and we will definitely go back again. Some observations:
1) Rooms: We stayed in one of the garden rooms, which are very basic but quite spacious. They are nice and clean and simple Indian kitsch art on the doors makes them look a tad special. Some reviewers (mostly western, I would assume) have talked about hard beds -- I think the beds are just as fine. That's how beds are for most Indians. I have trouble sleeping on 5-Star hotel beds that are mostly too soft and cavernous.
2) Food: Food is passable, at best good. At the same time, where can you get extravagant Indian non-vegetarian fare in south India (barring the moplah biryani -- but that's a diffrerent debate). The tandoori chicken was good and trure to form but a bit dry, The complimentary breakfast is wholesome - cereals, fruits, juice, one Indian item such as dosa or paranthas and eggs made to order. You could spend hours on the breakfast -- nothing beating the South Indian coffee (anyday better than the starbacks and the Baristas).
Ambience: Princely. The palace is imposing and the lawns are enticing. The hotel has a nice and open layout with lots of trees and potted plants. The palace houses a nice cake shop as well as a library. Good place for kids to run around. Some reviewers have complained about traffic noise -- nothing menacing and one gets used to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chalojaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpora, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Green Hotel en route to Ooty. We arrived late afternoon, after a long drive and were graciously allowed to check out all the rooms in the heritage wing that were unoccupied. We chose the Rose Room. The generous hot showers after our dusty drive were an unexpected bonus after which we collapsed gratefully onto comfortable beds made up with with spotlessly clean linen.

The Green Hotel is not for anyone expecting five star comforts and facilities but for people who love the thought of spending a few days in a gorgeous old heritage building and being pampered by attentive, smiling staff, you can't go wrong. It is however, located along a busy road, the noise of traffic and trucks can be bothersome and the rooms are not airconditioned but we were too tired to notice.

Dinner was quite delicious and the general manager and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome even though we were guests for only one night. When we left early next morning it was too early for breakfast but there was a flask of hot coffee waiting for us downstairs which was a nice gesture.

The Hotel prides itself for being eco-friendly. The GM explained it is run as a trust property and all proceeds are ploughed back into local charities. Well someone is doing a great job here and it shows. It was an amazing experience for the price we paid and so much more authentic than staying in some grand, soulless 'palace hotel' run by a five star chain. Would definately recommend Green Hotel as a very special place to stay.

Room Tip: The rose room is small but very clean and comfortable and less noisy than the rooms closer to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

When you arrive you are bowled over by the grounds and the old heritage building. The staff and travel desk are charming and helpful and the cakes in the coffee shop are delicious. Dining is in the garden surrounded by well kept flower beds and lawns with excellent food was a great experience. Had a great sightseeing trip organised by the hotel, But ...we stayed in one of the garden rooms and while we appreciate beds in India are hard our mattress was so lumpy we found it hard to sleep. We did mention this to the reception staff and hope they have taken it on board as given you do get road noise a comfortable bed is essential.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whispercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
4.6 km away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#15 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
457 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Heritage Shelters
Hotel Heritage Shelters
#52 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
16 reviews
0.3 km away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#19 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,012 reviews
5.6 km away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#11 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
658 reviews
3.8 km away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#21 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price range (per night): $51 - $100
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing