We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place with great facilities”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
72 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous place with great facilities”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a great time at Tranquility. It is a well equipped 3 bedroom house looking over the mountains. The house keeping staff at this place made our stay very pleasant and memorable. I traveled with my two children and my older parents. The house sits on a hillock and if you are traveling with older guests, please take into account that there two flight of stairs to climb which have about 15-20 stairs.
The home made food was a treat and we thoroughly enjoyed. This place is about 25 km from Shimla and I am very happy that I chose this place as Shimla is very crowded and cramped and does not give the relaxed ambiance that one gets while visiting a hill station. I was looking for some quiet and relaxed time with my family and Tranquility turned out be an excellent choice. For those who live abroad and are wanting to visit this place, this would be an excellent choice as it has all the amenities comparable such as standing showers, western toilets etc. The house is well maintained and is very clean. Thanks to Aarti and the house keeping staff for going above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your visit Mary, it was a pleasure to interact with you. We definitely look forward to your subsequent visit, you guys were a pleasure to host
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoher100
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“A PLACE WORTH STAYING”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Honestly we have fallen in love with this place, far beyond our expectation, probably the best place around to unwind, true value for money.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your visit. Look forward to seeing you all again, you were great guests to have
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukhmal J
2 reviews
“Marvelous place”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Tranquility in 2nd week of Jun, 2016. It is a nice and cozy place for relaxing & holidays. Space in the rooms is amazing. Awesome view from large windows of rooms. The staff and Cook both were very cooperative and gentel. Cooking of our vegitarian food was very delicious & tasty. Views of the hills, valleys, green mountains and good weather all around is fabulous. We would like to come here again.
Sukhmal Jain
Panipat (Haryana)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your visit. Guests like you are always welcome. Please do come again soon. This time for two weeks instead of one!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefali S
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday in the hills”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Tranquility in April, and it was one of the best properties we've rented in India. The house felt cozy and gave off a very comforting, lived-in vibe. It had vantage views of the hills and the valleys, and we spent many afternoons just sitting by the large bay windows and gazing outside. (Sitting outside was a bit of a problem during the day because of rogue monkeys, but if we had nothing on us - books, food, camera, etc. - they'd pretty much mind their own business.) The services offered by the cook and the caretaker made our stay only that much more relaxed. (Definitely try the barbecue and the masala chai!) We also enjoyed Cookie's company on our walks!

Arati, the owner, was incredibly kind and helpful right from the time we started the booking process to the time we left. She even spoke to our taxi driver to give him directions to the house!

I'd recommend this property to anyone who's looking for a slow, relaxed holiday. And even to those who want a bit of the buzz that Shimla offers - it's only a one hour or so drive to Mall Rd. (Arati can recommend taxis, or else just walk to the end of the road to the taxi stand.) I'd just stay home and read, but otherwise, there's a TV in the living room, stable internet connection, and books and board games that you can ask for.

Tranquility in the Hills was a perfect break from our hectic city lives, and we're so glad to have found it! Hope to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Food was charged on actuals and there is really no exact way to figure out how much you ate!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thanks so much Shefali. It was such a pleasure to host people like you who treated our home with respect and care, and indeed enjoyed it for the same reason we do.....the peace, calm and relaxation!! Look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“even better than the first time”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

our second visit ...even better than the first time. a truly endearing gesture from the owners a "WELCOME BACK" chocolate cake and a fine bottle of plum wine. beds are as cushy and comfortable, the degree of care, comfort is a level above the other boutique/homestay properties.the staff looks after you so well and caters to your every whim :-). from the crispy pakodas, to the tea, hot coffee, cold coffee, the aloo paranthas, chicken curry, dahi wala chicken, the BBQ, THE KADI, all were yum even the kids, teenagers, adults all of us enjoyed each and every offering from the kitchen. the weather was awesome, the housekeeping perfect. had a good chat with mr and mrs sharma(the owners) who happened to be there.thanks for looking after us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and everything overall
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thanks so much, it always warms the heart when people come back for a second visit........ now looking forward to the third one!! And Kookie is delighted with her blanket, that is such a thoughtful gesture thank you. It was great to meet and interact with you.Glad that you had an awesome time. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing