We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best places to relax”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RohitSh45...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
“One of the best places to relax”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have been to hills many many times over the years and can vouch for the fact that this is one of the best places I have stayed in. Infact it has now happened to me 2 years in a row that I have stayed in fantastic properties and have cut short my trips because after staying in properties like Tranquility in Himalaya you really dont feel like spending time anywhere else. The property is small, well located, easily accessible, good staff (2 care takers to tend to every need) and has a fantastic view. Lastly it is very very economical. The rooms were good although the upkeep could have been slightly better but overall no complaints. I wish I could have stayed longer but time did not permit. The owner Mr. Raja is a damn nice person and will add even more joy to your stay if you happen to meet him. Can simply say one thing, I am going to visit back many times over the course of next few years. One suggestion for all, the route via kufri is better than Chail especially if you are travelling with young kids. It will take approximately the same time but the roads are much better via Shimla & Kufri.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Value for money deal
Liked least: The upkeep of furniture and cutlery. Could be better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoaTripCh...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility, indeed!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in this beautiful house perched on the edge of a mountain in June 2013. What a lovely experience! Away from the madding crowds of Shimla, it was a true vacation. We have already recommended this to our friends in Delhi. Raja and Aarti deserve all the business they can get but we hope it doesn't get overbooked because we plan to come back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rakesh2
Mohali, India
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Raja Sharma is a extremely good host so is the team deployed to look after your comfort. Veena, the magic cook and Naushad, the wonder boy will produce anything you wish and delight to eat. They arranged a wonderful barbeques for us during the evenings and not to mention endless cups of tea and coffees. The surroundings are beautiful and calm, so are people in neighborhood. After being so well feed, you are forced to walk and during our morning and evening walks, people love to talk and kind to offer help. One such taxi operator arranged a taxi, for our return journey uphill after a five KM downhill walk. There was so much to engage people of all age groups, games for kids, good collection of books for literary hungry, and clean and calm environment for mid age to walk around. Would certainly come back once again. Overall experience is like a home away from home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you ever so much and we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditya K
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Himachal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this place twice: In 2012 and June 2014.

Many places claim to be "Tranquil", but this place really is.

It has unspeakably beautiful views of the valley. The staff and the chef are really friendly and great folks to chat up with. Moreover it is situated around quaint villages giving one a old-world feel.

I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you very much Aditya, we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmaheshwa...
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Calm, peaceful and splendid stay !”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Been tired of your daily home-office-home routine ? Getting up early and sleeping in late till your client calls are over. Wanting to take a break but don't know where to head off to for a relaxful and peaceful stay. Well, this place could be the answer you have been looking for.

"Tranquility in the Himalyas" as the name says is one of those destinations where I found the answer to probably a lot of things. Its a peaceful property owner by Raja and Arati. The house, nested between the pine trees and forest offers great sceneric views and a great stay. With a maid ready to cook whatever you like to have for meals and caretaker(Naushad) available at your disposal there is everything which makes you feel at home. A home away from home.

3 huge rooms, a drawing dining, a lovely balcony and a patio where you can sit back, soak in the peace or gossip.

We were a group of 7 people (3 couples and a kid). the kid really enjyed himself with the games - carrom and ludo available. One of us is an avid book reader and the book options available were something that made her happy. The maid made tasty chicken curry and mutton and chicken seekh kebabs. We picked up some fruits on the way, and were treated with freshly cut ! During the evening and night, Naushad set up a good bonfire for us with some masala peanuts and kebabs.

The ladies had a good spa session at the neighbouring resort and the guys had good time gulping the drinks. The journey from delhi takes about 350-380 kms but the moment you get there, its all worth what you have been on the road for !

If I am to some it up, the place has all the basic necessities added with a lot of comfort.

Raja, Arati and the entire staff are extremely helpful. They will make sure you have the directions in place and if there is anything in particular you need to carry with you for the trip/ stay. Ask them or give them directions how you would like your stay or food as, and they will probably try their best to accomodate everything.

We so much wanted to extend our stay, however the place wasn't available due to bookings. We are sure to visit this place atlest once a year and for an extended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the place
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you so much, we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing