We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“live like kingsize...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“live like kingsize...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

womderful stay, big rooms, big beds, fireplace, good food and ambience, nice location, comfortable, do not forget to watch things kept for decorating, lawn are good, fountain looks good... we enjoyed the stay....

Room Tip: choose rooms with big beds...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunaksarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    104
    51
    25
    29
See reviews for
116
95
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

worst hotel. During my stay even water was jammed in pipes so water couldn't reached to tapes. When asked to hotel they told us us that they don't have central boiler system. so water freezes at freezing temp. so the problem will remain as it is. they supplied us water in buckets. Hotel has good royal antique collection. Food is OK. not good not bad. View from the room is good. But hotel needs to look at the maintenance part. Also Service is also very slow.

Room Tip: choose the room in the newly constructed part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Delhi
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Food needs upgrade on choice and quality on breakfast and dinner buffet spread. Bathrooms need to be spruced up and need to modernise a bit. Toiletries provided are below average , so carry ur own stuff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagaraj_GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Woodville Palace and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. As it was pre-Christmas the hotel was quite cold as they don't have heating in corridors or proper heating in the rooms. But the beds are very warm and surprisingly (for India) quite comfortable.

The heating was inadequate and only consisted of a small 2 bar heater from the 60's. It remained on 24hrs a day and would be my only criticism, they need to invest in something better.

We were shown a couple of rooms initially which didn't suit and were then moved into room 101 beside reception which was gorgeous, a large corner room with a lounge area.

Lovely staff, very friendly and some of the best and cheapest food in Shimla!!

The hotel is roughly 10-15 mins walk (and fairly level) to The Mall and so in a great location. I'd happily stay there again but perhaps in a warmer period.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to ask to see several rooms as it depends on the location within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We visited this place in last week of march 2010. Our travel agent at Nagpur had recommended this heritage hotel for our honeymoon trip for 4days/3nights. I personally visited the site and found it to be good.

We reached shimla lately at 7pm and directly checked in the hotel. After verification of pre-booking docs we were directed to our room at 1st floor. Rooms which we got were OK. I could say normal ordinary rooms nothing special. Somewhere it didn't gave me the feel, the value for the amount which we paid. The rooms was dimly lit(may be part of heritage look), there was a heater, washrooms were small but OK. Rooms had windows, opening the windows could hear the talks of drivers which had parked their cars below the rooms. Our privacy was disturbed by the talks of drivers so we decided to keep the windows shut. Surprising there was no balcony in room neither the windows had any view. It was very disappointing on this part at least for honeymoon couples.

Next day woke up early and walked through the hotel property. The property is not that big which we had expected but nice maintained one. I asked with the attendant for badminton
rackets but we got the reply that he didn't had the keys for stores.

The hotel has nicely contribution of artifacts of previous years. Walking though the passage one could see collection of old photographs related to princely state of jubbal. Its worth a
watch. The photographs represented the previous members of the princely state of jubbal staring at you. These were nicely hanged on the walls of passage. But at night, passing though the corridor reminded me of a horror movie. We used to avoid at nights.

The hotel was very impressive in preserving old history related to jubbal estate. One could see the photos of tigers which were killed way back in 1930's. These were shortly described and hanged on walls. There were photos of famous personalities who had visited this hotel previously. Also there is a bar named Hollywood bar but i think it is open only in evenings. Total ambiance of the bar and the property is very good. Nice chairs and tables of English styles impressed me a lot. The interior property is well maintained and kudos to hotel staff. It takes you back to memories of an old era.

We had dinner every night at the restaurant but food was OK nothing special.The restaurant is small but has good ambiance. Morning breakfast had different varieties offered to tourists.
The attendants are well dressed, polite but service is bit laid back. We heard the king used to stay at the same palace but never saw him during our stay.

This hotel is not a happening place for young couples, the hotel hardly had any amenities/facilities for tourists. No functions held at night. Simply anyone would get bored at
nights. The happening place was at mall road which is 10 min from the hotel.

Summarizing our stay the place is well maintained property and resembles of an old era. I would recommend this hotel to people whose only purpose to visit shimla is relaxation, people who wants to have aristocratic life having drinks with their old friends and having good time with them. A complete 'NO' to young couples. Kindly look for other better staying options in shimla.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sliver18th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.6 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#19 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#21 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla

Property: WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Address: Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price range (per night): $122 - $172
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodville Palace houses 31 rooms, inclusive of the royal cottage and royal suite, which have been tastefully decorated into theme rooms. In the tradition of most heritage hotels, no two rooms are alike in decor and yet they offer that same high quality service and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Expedia APAC so you can book your WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodville Palace Shimla
Woodville Palace Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing