We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”

Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio
Ranked #14 of 13,205 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Description: Located at the picturesque rooftop, 'Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio' presents progressive Asian cuisine inspired by Japan, Korea, China, Thailand and beyond. Avant-garde cooking techniques, international cuisine trends and robust flavors, are all orchestrated by Chef Vikramjit Roy's artistic interpretation. Tian brings a selection of on-table assembly, specially crafted menus, and seasonal a-la-carte. Houses an exclusive bar, live music and al-fresco seating.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Delicious food at Tian. My grand children who were on a holiday enjoyed it as usual. Special thanks to the Chef Thapten and his team. For prompt service and hospitality thanks to Saurav, Vikram & Ashvin and of course Elsie whose voice is great to listen to - my grand daughter is a fan of hers.
Col. Ravi Khera

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ravi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,

it is always a pleasure to hear from loyal guests such as yourselves and pleased to read your wonderful feedback about Tian - Asian Cuisine Studio.

Thank you for your appreciation about the unique culinary journey that we strive to offer here through our innovative blend of flavours, presentation and personalised service.
Have shared your special comments with the team who are equally elated to hear the same.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This outlet is nice. The outlet was recommended by one of my family member. They had amazing food and the delicious flavours and they packed the food very properly. I would really like to recommend all the people there to try it out. Everyone would love it. The delivery of the food is also quick

Thank manojjjj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for the review, according to your feedback it pertains that your review is about a different restaurant as Tian is a speciality restaurant at ITC Maurya, Sardar Patel Marg, that offers progressive Asian cuisine only.

Hope to welcome you at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This place has been on my list for a long time thanks to the tripadvisor reviews praising its exquisite food, decor and service. I finally visited this Tian-Asian with family last month for dinner. No doubt this place was one of the finest that I've ever been to. Ambiance is very good, lighting and comfortable space. Staff is very attentive and takes cares of your needs and they do help us in choosing the best from the menu. The most delighlful things about this place is the music which completely relaxes you to the core!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anmol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about Tian - Asian Cuisine Studio.

We are always eager to exceed expectations of our guests and curate unique experience for them, and glad that we succeeded.
It is a delight to read your kind words of appreciation about the elegant ambiance, warm service and innovative blend of flavors, textures and presentation that we create here.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Tian, the rooftop restaurant serving food from the East at the Maurya Sheraton is an outstanding concept. They have a 9 course meal for ₹5000, a seven course meal for ₹3500 and a 6 course meal for ₹2500. A la carte is also available but we opted for the 9 course as we wanted to sample the variety. It was a meal crafted for the Gods---using the latest methods and concepts. Each plate was an artists delight, food for the eyes and the soul, unforgettable.. The chefs have used locally sourced produce and a progressive style of cooking, including foam and sous vide techniques. Food served is based on moderation cuisine but left us totally full by the end of it.. Excellent for a really special evening, the place is elegantly done up and the service is impeccable. Probably one of the finest meals I have ever had.

Thank sheilakohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about Tian - Asian Cuisine Studio.

We are always eager to exceed expectations of our guests and curate unique experience for them, and glad that we succeeded.
It is a delight to read your kind words of appreciation about the elegant ambiance and innovative blend of flavors, textures and presentation that the chefs create here.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

“First you have Pannacotta with Makhana ....that gives you crunchiness, then try Vanilla Ice Cream.....that gives the extra chilled flavour.....next, dry your mouth with Beetroot Spunch ...by then your mouth would be clean” Sous Chef Thupten Wandue was explaining me on the Dessert Green Tea Pannacotta. The last item of the nine course menu was opted by me.

Come April 2018, Tian Asian Cuisine Studio will have a retooled menu. This intimately designed restaurant with an alfresco area is located at the rooftop, just next to the Italian Restaurant at the ITC Maurya, New Delhi.

Picturesque restaurant. Worth more than a single visit. My dinner experience (07 March 2018) has been an unforgettable, memorable and inspiring experience. I am deeply indebted to Chef Thupten.

“Sir, all that is served to you today is from the newly curated menu that will be ready by April 2018” whispered the Head Chef into my ears. I was so pleased and delighted. I felt so important and valued.

Chef Thupten is blessed with a deep understanding and appreciation of the flavours and textures in the broadest sense. He presents his incredibly unique cuisine in a resplendent way, stylishly and effortlessly. This Himachal Pradesh born, 34 yr old gifted culinary artist is agile and active; commendable is his energy and enthusiasm. He is humble and humane. Courteous and charismatic. Lovely tastemaker. Lively and hands-on at work. I liked the way; he has been so effusive in acknowledging the support and understanding of his co-workers.

I was pleasantly surprised when Chef Thupten invited me to take the pictures of the food production team. Remember, photo shoot happened inside the kitchen. That said, Tian Kitchen was neat and spotlessly clean; understandably, all the Chefs were joyous and happy; I am happy for this self motivated Chef Brigade.

For the benefit of travellers, I am writing in greater detail on my dinner. Course by course. I have deliberately used short sentences, so that reading the rest of the story will be easy.

Amuse Bouche was the first to land on my table. Came in a half White Plate. Senior Steward Varun joined the other half plate Black in colour; yes, that exactly is the surprise element here. Metallic spoon had a unique shape. Unique is the cuisine too. You must see it to believe it. It is worth more than a single visit.

Amuse Bouche was indeed an Amusement for my tongue. An Apple sphere sat next to mushroom shaped Dim sum stuffed with assorted exotic vegetables. Deliciously soft. Delicately presented.

“Banana Salad” came in a dark brown round glass plate. Coconut poached banana flower made the salad further distinct. Spectacular presentation.

“Inari Mango Black Bean” had the elements of sweeter note. Came in a White Pizza Plate. “Peppermint flavoured Tea” was served by Steward Hrishi. (Even the spelling of the name is unique). In a martini glass.

I liked “Seared Diakon with Avocado Sauce” most. Diakon means Japanese Raddish. Spinach crisp sat on top. Light mild flavour. Different textures of vegetables presented on a maroon glass plate. Distinctively delicious delicacy it was. My full marks to Chef Thupten. He is wedded to this restaurant for the last four years that is since inception.

“Every dish” adds Varun, an articulate Steward, “Is a master piece. Akin to an artwork; that is why it is called Studio”.

I agree. The full name of this eatery is Tian Asian Cuisine Studio. What I found profoundly appealing here is that for every dish different platters were used. Different in colour, material and shape.

“White Pumpkin Soup” was so smooth and refreshing. Came in a black bowl, with a hint of ginger flavour. Garnished with black clove powder and saffron oil. So flavoursome.

Next was “Lemon Sorbet” course. Served in a soup plate. Sorbet sat in a small mint bowl. Steward Vikram poured hot water on the dry ice placed around the mint bowl to give the smoky effect and visual appeal. I am posting two pictures for the benefit of the travellers.

I felt like asking for one more “Vegetable Steak” that sat comfortably on an assorted vegetable base. Stuffed with potato slice baked at 180 degree for six minutes. Fennel Sauce, Pumpkin Mash, homemade Teiyaki Sauce and dehydrated onion slice meant for crunchiness ....all put together made this delicacy so flavoursome.

The last time, I had enjoyed “Jackfruit Curry” was in Colombo, Sri Lanka in a Taj Hotel in 2013. Jackfruit Steak positioned itself in the middle surrounded by Tamarind flavoured Massaman Curry. Remember, this dish has some Tamil connection. Tamilians migrated to Thailand had invented this dish. Steamed Rice sat next in a bamboo basket. Pasta plate with psychedelic designs. I liked the baby eggplants. They were nine in number.

Desserts were two. “Lemon Parfait” and “Green Tea Pannacotta”.

Here, Chef Thupten used ‘Mono Chrome’ technique. Theme was White. Dessert platter was White. Rectangle shaped Lemon Parfait was White. Homemade Yuzu Yogurt Ice cream was White. (Japanese Lemon is called Yuzu).

“Green Tea Pannacotta” was an extra ordinary dessert with a delightful crunch. Pannacota is Italian; Chef Thupten added Green Tea, to make it Asian.

Caramelised Lotus Seeds (Makhana in Hindi), Beetroot Spunch, Black Chocolate Ganache, Vanilla Ice cream....Oh My God, this dessert was addictively alluring.

The Service Brigade of this eatery is known for their generosity, graciousness and care for the guests. They do serve so diligently, with exacting efficiency. My sincere blessings to the Tian team.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kesava_Mallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMITCMaurya, General Manager at Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest,

it is truly a delight hear from a loyal guest such as yourselves and thank you for your wonderfully penned review about the unique creations and elegant rooftop ambiance that Tian - Asian Cuisine Studio offers.
Glad to know that we were able to deliver high on your expectations through the unique, innovative cuisine.

Our young team and chef always strives to deliver bespoke experiences to our guests and it is a delight to know that you enjoyed their recommendations and had an excellent evening with us.
We are grateful for your encouraging recommendation.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Zubin Songadwala
General Manager - ITC Maurya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Tian-Asian Cuisine Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing