We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest house or boutique hotel - with $friendly staff$”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
233 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Guest house or boutique hotel - with $friendly staff$”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed there because of good reviews.Hotel staff is trained to appear be "friendly".Yes, on arrival you receive a welcome drink, a flower necklace,they say namaste, welcome to India....
Because of this guests say:this the best hotel in the world, etc.
Rooms are basic but confortable.
This hotel don´t deserve such excellent reviews. The hotel is in a residential area
There is nothing in area , not a good location.To airport is 30 minutes driving, maybe is better location for airport, but hotel is in the middle way between airport and downtown. .This hotel appear a house converted in a hotel. No TV in room, but as positive comment.
Breakfast is very limited and , with tea, toasts, a choose of eggs, some fruits. Average breakfast.
For what you pay there are better options in Delhi.
The owners are clever.Investing relatively little money, training staff to be friendly they get good reviews and make a regular guest house appear a " boutique hotel".
This hotel could be a good option, depends how much you pay.With two star rates, OK, but four stars rates,no.
I noticed how many hotels in the world get good reviews with “friendly staff” ."Friendship " is cheap and easy.But build a hotel in a good location, with real quality is expensive.
It´s time to make good reviews for who really invest in quality and professionalism.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    215
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
139
481
197
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Wonderful rooms, GREAT food. They picked us up at the airport, even packed a breakfast at 3:00am as we had to take a flight to Leh that morning. Lovely service. Will be back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shilpa_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Shanti Home is a very special hotel. We stayed there two nights in April. When we arrived we were a bit disappointed because it is a bit far from the centre of New Delhi. It takes about 40 minutes by metro, but the metro works really well. The building is also unspectacular. But the way you are welcomed by the staff is unique. They immediately make you feel at home. Each floor has a small number of rooms and a lounge. Our room was quite nice. The restaurant is located on the roof of the building. It is also a great place and they cook the food in front of you. The waiters, apparently most of them Nepalese, are also very kind. We left to catch our flight in the middle of the night and the receptionist greeted us with a coffee when he came to wake us up at 2 o'clock in the morning. When we left, we really felt that this was a unique place in terms of its atmosphere of kindness and relaxation.

Room Tip: Prefer the top fllor rooms to the ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I visited India in February, 2011. After flying into New Delhi airport, we went to the Shanti home, staying there for a couple nights. Although it was midnight when we checked in, the staff was extremely attentive and willing to help us despite the late hour.

The hotel itself is as another Trip Advisor Member wrote "an oasis in Delhi". Surrounded by the busy city, the hotel is quiet, safe, and makes you feel at home.

The rooms are comfortable, and all have a communal TV area on each floor. The staff is polite, quick, and attentive to detail. In fact, after checking in at midnight, we were still able to get a delicious meal after our 13 hour flight. Throughout our trip, we ate at the restaurant several times, and were never disappointed. From what I can remember, the breakfast was delicious, and the coffee particularly sticks out in my mind.

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in New Delhi who is looking for a clean, upscale hotel at an affordable price.

Room Tip: No specific tip for getting a good room - they are all good. Do print out a map in advance of where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kocheroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were already in Delhi when we made an impromptu decision to forego the money we have paid for the booking of our initial hotel in the city and stay at Shanti Home instead, after our return from Varanasi.

The standard of cleanliness of the initial Delhi hotel which we have booked (Hari Piorko – we have written our review for the hotel on this site) was so low that we could not imagine ourselves putting up another 2 more nights there. We have stayed at Sheraton in Jaipur and Radisson in Agra after our unpleasant stay at Hari Piorko and decided that we want to stay at a hotel of the same standard for our last 2 nights in Delhi. So, there we were, at the lobby of Hari Piroko, going through the Tripadvisor site, looking for such a hotel. It was there that we found Shanti Home, listed as No. 3, at a much cheaper rate compared to all the other high-end hotels.

We read the reviews, found most of them to be favourable, and booked Shanti on the spot! And let me tell you how glad we are to have made that decision! This ‘Home’, as they preferred to be called, is one of the best places we have stayed during our travels around the world.

All the rooms in Shanti are housed in a 3-storey building, with a roof top which serves as their restaurant and a basement which serves as their front-desk office, complete with computers with complimentary internet access and a small gym. They also have a massage room. Besides that, there is a cosy TV lounge on one of the floors and a big selection of DVD’s where you can unwind after a tiring day around the city. If you prefer a quieter retreat, there is another lounge on another floor which serves as a library, with a selection of books and magazines, complete with a laptop for you to access the internet. Free wifi can also be accessed from the comfort of your room.

We were given a reasonably sized room called the Bombay Masala on the first floor, with a big bathroom to boost, which has a strong, instant hot shower. There is even a fan in the bathroom, a safe-box and a built-in wardrobe for us to hang our clothes.

The customer service we received was of top-class. The staff was very well-trained, likeable and knowledgeable in what they do. We were greeted with smiles and treated politely during our entire stay. The food served at the restaurant was one of the best we have had during our 10 days in India. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was more than sufficient. We had our dinner there and the waiters were able to describe the local dishes when enquiries were made of them.

The location of the Home is about 30 minutes away (by metro) from the city centre, but that was not a problem at all, as the Uttar Nagam East metro station is just 250m away. There is a direct line (Blue) from this station to Connaught Place. Like what other reviewers here had experienced, we were accompanied by one of the staff to the station on our first attempt at using this mode of transport and he helped us purchase our 1-day travel card, which costs only R150 per person. Using the metro was easy as the signs at the station were clear and it was a good experience for us.

If we are ever back in Delhi again, we will certainly return to stay here. Do not be mistaken by its name. Shanti Home is not a place for hometsay. Your privacy will not be intruded. You have your own very private and comfortable room in a secured building away from the craziness of the city. Definitely one of the better choices for Delhi!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.1 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#4 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
12.8 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
11.4 km away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,707 reviews
14.5 km away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
1,285 reviews
15.5 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Property: Shanti Home
Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $74 - $199
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing