We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stay here only if you're desperate or don't mind the uncleanliness” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ashiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ashiana
Ranked #518 of 1,064 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Stay here only if you're desperate or don't mind the uncleanliness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed here during Commonwealth Games, the hotel didn't have email when i stayed so I wasn't able to make use of their free airport pick up offer.

On arrival they couldn't find my reservations, we were promptly given a key anyway and shown to our room. The room on initial inspection looked nice, however after we noticed the beds were rock hard, they had no second sheet or blanket, the toilet seat was broken, the sheets were slightly marked. The door didn't have a latch to close it from the inside, instead a bolt secured the door while you were on the inside.

The hotel is near a mass rickshaw station, not a real one just a heap of drivers are always gathered at the end of the st.

Very important take the hotel card with you as most drivers don't know street names, also rickshaws and taxis are for some reason reluctant to stop directly at the door of the hotel, so you will need to walk from either corner.

After the state of the room we didn't bother with looking at the breakfast menu. Mind you that when we ordered room service it didn't show up, we fell asleep waiting for the room service to arrive.

We booked the airport taxi service at the hotel, they took us to the wrong airport and then got angry when we had to get him to take us to the correct terminal.

I stayed here as it was cheap, but I am wishing that I paid more to stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarebear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
4
4
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Nice hotel, quiet clean, good service and quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harjot1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

I booked this hotel online through another website. They didn't know anything about it themsselves and the photos looked very promising. I also reserved a taxi to pick me up from the airport which was coplimentary. The taxi did not show up and I had to arrange my own transportation - not fun for an India first-timer.

When I got there and asked about the ride they just shrugged and turned around to process my booking.

The room was very small and had a very dirty feel to it. The furniture was falling appart and the window was very small. What really urked me about the window was that it led to the extension of the building that theya re currentl;y working on which is all open. Someone could easily walk up to it and try to get in (did I mention that I was on the second floor?).

The sheets were stained and the towel looked gross and spotted. The carpet was dirty and the couch did not look pleasant. The TV could barely change channels (not that I turned it on much, TV isn't why I went to India).

All night I heard sounds outside my door - people ewalking by, someone hitting my door handle abruptly and moving on, talking, water running. What was worse, the hallway is open concept and opens on the the main street of Arakashan rd. which is completely noisy with honking and barking. During the night I could hear the dogs fighting and squeeling through my door. Needless to say I did not feel safe and when I did sleep it was with my belongings still packed and very close by.

The good thing about this hotel was that they have a computer with free internet.

I stayed there the morning I arrived in India, about 1:30am, and then during the day I found another hotel and switched promptly. I didn't mind giving up the night that I paid for to move on to something more comfortable.

I do think that I got taken advantage of and was given a cheap and dirty room because the rooms in their pictures look completely different, bigger, and in much better shape - or they could be inaccurate - I didn't bother inquiring.

This hotel wasn't too expensive, and would be good for someone who doesn't mind it's conditions and doesn't wake easily to random sounds, but if you're looking for value anf peace of mind, there are much better options in this area just around the corner or even a few steps away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Kanpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

One of the good thing about the hotel is that it is very near to New Delhi Railway Station. The rooms are quite well off and the rates are also reasonable. The food is not at all good.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj_loverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

HI, I had stayed here in Hotel Mela Plaza and found a class A services, rooms are neat and clean, food was very good, & the connectivity with the city was very good..
kudos...!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 703 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#38 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#42 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ashiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashiana

Property: Hotel Ashiana
Address: 50 Arya Nagar Road | Ram Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #518 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $19 - $86
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ashiana 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An epitome of classical Indian hospitality, Budget Hotel Ashiana welcomes discerning travelers to explore an enticing experience of budget hotels in Delhi, India. Proffering world class hotel services, this luxury hotel in New Delhi is an ideal getaway for business as well as leisure trips. Strategically located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, it provides an easy access to all the major destinations in and around the national capital. Hotel Ashiana is a friendly hotel located in the centre of the city walking distance from New Delhi Station near major central government offices, parliament house, the presidential palace, bustling commercial shopping district of Connaught Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Ashiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashiana Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing