We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very helpful, friendly staff, clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smyle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smyle Inn
Ranked #17 of 1,034 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful, friendly staff, clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Smyle Inn on our first night in India. It was surprisingly clean and the rooms were a good size. The bathroom was nice and the shower had hot water. We came back to Smyle Inn two weeks later as we had to fly from Delhi and we were very happy with the place. The staff were really helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    335
    179
    71
    52
See reviews for
50
300
213
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We made a booking directly with Smyle Inn for a standard room at 741R. We arrived at 11pm (as confirmed with the hotel) only to find out that we were at the wrong hotel, however that hotel was now full and we could stay in the more expensive hotel for the same price as we would check out at 5.30am.

The room on 2nd floor was okay though sheets filthy, reception provided clean sheets and towels so worked out okay. This was my first night in India, I don't understand why clean sheets aren't put on the bed when the previous guest checks out?

Wifi did not work in the room, slow at hotel computer downstairs. We didn't avail of the breakfast due to our early check out. No reduction for these things, in fact they had no change so we paid 750R fir the room!

Water was hot in shower. Room had small fridge and tv with Indian stations.

This hotel is about 8 mins walk to the New Delhi train station so a passable choice if you have an early train.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The room and toilet was clean, and the location is quite awesome. I really like the place and the breakfast that awaits me each morning. It can be a little noisy at times if you want to feel like you are in the heart of the city, it is a very good place.

The hotel receptionist was a little unfriendly though. When I first arrived, I told him that I wanted to extend my stay for one more day. However on my second last night, he said the reservation was not confirmed and he could only confirm tomorrow. As a girl travelling alone I got upset (thinking I may get thrown out the last minute). After some raising of voices, he agreed to let me stay for one more night.

A blot to an otherwise nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhebeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We arrived at the smyle inn to be moved to another hotel on the previous lane which they also managed. This was fine by us, but be aware this means you're that bit closer to the main bazaar/paharganj strip, and the noise that comes with it. The room itself was nice and spacious, and looked clean and tidy. We were also told our booking included breakfast, and to go to the cafe next door to get it, again we didn't mind this until we were presented with the bill, it's not the end of the world but we decided to get our breakfast elsewhere for the rest of our stay. However, the rooms are clean and the showers (although somewhat temperamental) are hot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooshmoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

On the good side, the room was basic but reasonably clean, some of the staff were helpful (more so in the 'premium wing') and the internet was free. The breakfast was also ok and it was near the station and the markets.
On the bad side, we were not impressed with the airport pick-up driver. Granted, our plane was delayed, but he insisted on a massive tip (200rupees and still grumbling) before he would get our bags. Since it was very late at night and the car was not parked near the hostel, we felt like we had little choice. It was our first night in India and assumed that this was normal and so did not mention it to the hostel - we now wish we had.
Other negatives include having to walk past the the open urinal bizarrely next to a food stand) at the end of the street, every time we went in or out. It was also quite expensive comparatively and the 'deal' we booked included a daily drink. When we asked about this we seemed to confuse the staff and so gave up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjiandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#42 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#34 of 702 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Wood Castle
#13 of 702 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#50 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyle Inn

Property: Smyle Inn
Address: 916 Gali Chandi Wali, | Main Bazaar, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $17 - $25
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smyle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience potpourri of colours, sights, taste and smells of historical Delhi at award winning hostel within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. Discover true Delhi..... Smyle Inn is an award winning family run Hostel in Delhi welcoming international guests since 1996 . Smyle Inn is located in the heart of Delhi within walking distance to City Centre (Connaught Place), New Delhi Train Station, Airport Express and two Metro Stations. It is situated off the colourful Main Bazaar, Paharganj in a quiet street. Area is the first choice for anyone on a budget and looking to experience & explore historical Delhi. Nearby train & metro stations make your day trips to Taj Mahal(Agra) and sightseeing within the city very easy. Smyle Inn offers the best value for money with following facilities: Free Breakfast Free High speed Wi-Fi Free computers for Internet Free Delhi Map Free Travel information * Booking services for sightseeing tours, flight, train & bus at best prices * 24 hr Airport / Station pickup and drop (at very reasonable prices) * 24 hr Taxi on call 24 hr Power back up 24 hr Check in & Check Out * Laundry service at reasonable rates * Beverages and Vodafone Sim cards available for sale at the reception The common room in Wing 1 has seating for around 20 people. This is where travellers meet and interact with each other. There is a book exchange corner and computers to browse internet. Smyle Inn has standard rooms in Wing 1 and superior rooms in Wing 2. All the rooms have been refurbished and have the following facilities: * Windows opening in the street in most rooms. * Air-conditioner with ceiling fans * Telephone * Flat screen T.V with 120+ channels incl. CNN, HBO, BBC etc. * Modern private baths with H/C shower * Bath towel & soap * Writing desk and sofa cum bed in Superior rooms (wing 2). Smyle Inn is actively involved in community service through various non profit social organisations. A part of your spend at Smyle Inn, is used to bring SMILEs on the faces of underprivileged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Smyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing