We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the delirium of Delhi”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #58 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the delirium of Delhi”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

From the doorman at the front gate to the fresh juice that is offered the minute you walk in the door, this hotel was our best experience during our 20 days in Delhi and Rajasthan. The restaurant is chic and understated. We did an amazing 'tasting' menu one night paired with some great choices of wines from Argentina, Australia, and France. Rooms are zen and just what one needs after being out and about in the noise, pollution, and general bedlam that is Delhi. Room #5 was next to the kitchen and less appealing, but rooms upstairs are all lovely. Not the Taj but a lovely stay and entire staff was always pleasant and helpful. Only negative and it was a small one is that Internet access is not free which was a bit of a surprise in a place that prides itself on being 'luxe'.

Room Tip: See above but avoid room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    131
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
40
224
42
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at The Manor in December 2011 after 12 days of travelling through India. I wanted my final three days to be away from the hassle and crowds of Delhi. This is pretty much what you get here. Firstly this hotel is away from the city so ensure you have the hotel phone number as your taxi or tuk tuk driver will know the area, but not the hotel. Mine had to stop and ask several times, but politely percevered and found it. It is in a quiet cul de sac and is a small boutique hotel. Very pleasant welcome in a nice airy lobby. My room wasn't ready, so I was taken to the bar and given a drink. It wasn't long before I was taken to my room which, although quite small, was perfectly sized for me one my own. May have been a bit cramped with two. I was in one of the smallest rooms, but thats what I paid for. Comfortable, with all I needed. Room with good walk in shower, but no bath. Having eaten rather questionable buffet breakfasts for 12 days it was very nice to have everything I ordered freshly prepared each morning. You need to get a taxi into the city, but reception will call one and it is about £8. There is one down side to this hotel and I suspect it is because the restaurant is popular with whealthy locals. On my first day I intended to relax and read in the gardens, but they had a function on and about 50 people occupied the outside area with kids playing. Because the hotel is so small this leaves you with nowhere to go except your room or sit in the small bar. I noticed from previous reviews that others have had trouble with functions such as weddings. There is a roof terrace upstairs but this overlooks the garden, so you still get the noise. There is no lounge area, just the small bar where you feel you should be having a drink. On a minor point, this place is quieter than most of Delhi, but is near a railway line with tooting trains and not far out of the perimiter road is the usual Delhi choas. There is a free desktop under the stairs for use, which the reception did not mention when I asked about internet access. Very pleasant attentive staff and lots of them.
I did not eat at the restaurant on the first night, but did the last two. There are no real options nearby. The restaurant is a small smart affair. The waiter knows the menu well and can recommend items. It is expensive by Delhi standards and for me eating alone with a beer came to about £25-30. Having said that after 12 days of veggie curries it was a treat. The flavours are amazing and this is a very good chef. It is always a nice touch when the chef come out to ask if you are enjoying his food and I certainly was. I cannot believe in the evenings this restaurant is not packed, but it does get a few locals in as well as guests.
In summary this is a very good hotel, priced below the big hitters in Delhi itself. Because it is small the attention is good, but you may find it a bit too small if you want to relax in the hotel. Be warey of functions as they take over the hotel. Great food but expensive!

Room Tip: You get the room you pay for. Don't pick the cheapest price and expect a huge room. Some revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJSkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here on 3 occasions twice on flying overnight visits passing through Delhi and then at the end of our holiday for 3 nights.
We found the Hotel faultless , the rooms were a great size nicely appointed and with all the added touches you expect , bath robes , slippers , turn down service , newspaper delivered , complimentary water and so on!!.
On the flying visits they prepared a take out breakfast for us that we had on the train and during our 3 day stay we found the breakfast to be a great start to the day, the restaurant was superb with the Chef just having appeared on a celebrity Chef contest on TV.
The desserts are to die for.
We found the location perfect for the end of a busy day and was well situated for the airport 40 mins , Railway Station 30 mins and general sight seeing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Manor is tucked away in the south of Delhi but is still easily accessible (less than R100 by autorickshaw from Connaught Place). It's got a boutique hotel feel and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you need (we stayed three nights). The staff are charming and really can't do enough for you.
There's no pool but the spacious lawns and a good terrace to relax outside.
The hotel restaurant, Indian Accent, isn't cheap but the chef is excellent and food is delicious and well worth splashing out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The web and other reviews promised so much maybe it was always going to be a let down.
It is difficult to find if you take a public taxi, we had our driver phone for directions.
The property has a very boutique look and feel - like staying in the home of a rich friend. However it is time for a little maintenance. Our room had a large area of water damage where water from the toilet had leaked through the bedroom wall. On contacting the staff to point out the problem and ask what could be done I was told no other rooms were available and maintenance was called. I don't know what maintenance was going to do about a problem that had obviously been around for a while. Eventually we were moved to another room when the Manager had been contacted. In a hotel of this price bracket the leak should have been fixed when it appeared and the room not let in that condition.
We were also told when we tried to book the restaurant on the way there in the taxi that it was full and we couldn't have a booking even though we were a guest. On calling again and speaking directly to the restaurant we were able to book. The restaurant on the night we arrived did have a lot of outside guests and it would have been a shame if we had to go out to eat elsewhere as the restaurant was one of the reasons we chose to stay at The Manor. I imagine as the area is residential we would have had to go a way to find somewhere to eat.
The food didn't disappoint and was the highlight of our stay.
I must also mention don't plan to enjoy free wi fi in your room. They will sell you a package for a day (or an hour if you have read the hotel info and insist). Both options are overpriced and should be free in a hotel of this price bracket.
The bedding is comfortable and the shower good but some problems with the aircon meant it was too warm.
The hotel needs to lift its game to charge as it does - it may be a reflection on the general standard of other hotels in this bracket that gets this hotel positive reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

At the very outset please accept our profuse apologies for the inconvenience faced during your recent stay with us at The Manor, Delhi.

We completely understand your disappointment and are personally very upset that your experience was marred due to the inconvenience caused. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we regret this atypical experience.

With reference to your feedback regarding the water seepage, we would like to explain that there was an unforeseen breakdown with one of the bathroom pipes. We were completely sold out and hence could not change the room immediately and had to wait for one of the other rooms to get vacant. We have taken this and your feedback regarding the air conditioning very strongly with our Chief Engineer, who sends his apologies and would like to assure you that he has taken necessary corrective actions to ensure that such incidents do not reoccur.

In addition, your feedback regarding the WIFI package cost has been noted and we are looking into it. We are glad that you liked the food at Indian Accent and apologise for the lapse in communication while making table reservation. This matter has been taken up with the restaurant team and they have been briefed to be more careful in the future.

We would like to thank you for your detailed comment and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you on your next visit to Delhi. We assure you that you will have a much better experience!

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#69 of 716 in New Delhi
317 reviews
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,887 reviews
Mantra Amaltas
#147 of 716 in New Delhi
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Claridges New Delhi
#34 of 716 in New Delhi
1,992 reviews
Maidens Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
1,072 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 77, Friends Colony West, New Delhi 110065, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $132 - $255
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing