We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really Nice !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 702 Hotels in New Delhi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Nice !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great indian travel hosted our company conference in India about 250 people from all over europe.

Checkin: Large waiting hall, efficient room allocation and check in.

Food: Quite good very indian can variate spicy non spicey ,buffet Dinner, Lunch and Breakfast were handled well.


Surroundings: Very pleasant to walk around, its a shame when reviews list indian hotel areas as crowded,what would we expect in a country of a billion souls,its great and efficient under the cicumstances i must say.the metro rail i dont recomend coz cabbies cant get cheaper than india, the F1 track is the newest attraction pulling people tothe city .

Views: Excellent views of the city and various monuments old and new on one side and the city skyline on the other.

terrace floor: Excellent setting and views, both day and night

connaught place and india gate : For those who like to walk. connaught place about 15 to 20 minutes away, and india gate about 40 minutes.

Overall an amazing property, efficient staff.

Room Tip: Not a five star hotel ,so rooms can be of different types ,we stayed in two types on our stay to delhi and then on our way back from the Taj mahal ,both were good .

Travel in and around: Agra and the taj mahal are a must do when in india.

Room Tip: not a five star hotel so rooms can be different but in my experience both types given were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikiki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,
The pleasure of having you stay with us is doubled after receiving such a positive, complimentary and encouraging review from you. We are especially glad when you understand that we are not a 5 star property, though we try to incorporate all basic luxuries and charge one tenth the price of a 5 star property.
We sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Thank you
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    651
    310
    130
    153
See reviews for
297
467
309
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room that we had booked (and confirmed by the hotel) was not available when we arrived.
THey proposed another room in another building, no window and very small. As we refused, we finally had a standard room. As we were three persons, we asked for an extra bed : we had to call 4 times the reception to get it, and we have been waiting for more than 2 hours to get it (we were very tired and wanted to go to bed). The 2 persons that finally delivered the bed had a very strong alcohol smell...
We stayed 2 nights, and the second day, when coming back for a long walk in Delhi, we noticed that the room had not been cleaned.
Staff not pleasant at all, no smile, nothing !
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Traveled to India with adult son, found Hotel Ajanta on Google and booked 1 night Feb 17 not knowing what to expect. Got free pickup from airport and were warmly received by hotel staff who after showing us to our room took us on a complimentary tour of Red Fort, Mosque and Spice Market. Tour director Ms Ravi booked a 5-city- Puskar, Jaipur, Agra, Haridwar, Rishikesh - tour for us that along with our driver Ramu became a most wonderful journey we'll remember forever. Stayed our 5 final nights at Ajanta because we loved it so much and continued our tour of New Delhi sights and shopping.

Room Tip: If you don't like what you're getting into, have a backup plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gracious review.
We look forward to serving you again. We request you to send us some pictures you had taken on you visit here.
Thank you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

extrmely central so eaze to use and find and tell my freinds about ,also found them professional and upto the mark ,not a small place has many rooms and best part is the food in both the restaurants .
we are back in berlin and are talking about this hotels roof top and the photos we took from there to all our feiends who are looking for a safe hotel in india .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaberline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and indeed very encouraging to review your appreciative review.
Glad you liked our services and hope you give us another chance to look after you.
Thank you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

ajanta hotel is new delhi was a good hotel for my 2 nights 3 days india adventure which sta\rted and finished in delhi itself unfortunately,imsure indias got a lot to see and ill be back for yet another journey ,at the moment was a whirlwind tour to attend the otm travel mart and we stayed at this lovely hotel very affordable and very convenient with lots of small built in amenities ,sort of like an ibis in europe if you will.

Room Tip: when we reached they were full so no upgrades,but we guessed every popular hotel woudl have not so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherlondon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We are so glad to know you were happy with the rates, service and overall amenities at our Hotel.
We work hard and to see such a complimentary review is most encouraging.
We hope you give us another opportunity to look after you.
Our Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#42 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 702 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#67 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $34 - $66
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing