We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful heritage property!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #46 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I loved the building. Old world charm, run very efficiently by the Taj group. It is really difficult to convert such properties into a stylish hotel but kudos to the Taj group for having managed to do so. Large rooms but well air-conditioned with comfortable beds. Added advantage is that Khan Market is right next to this property. Khan market has fabulous eateries like Amichi and Big Chill and the best Anokhi store. One can shop till one drops or rather come back to recharge at the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 813 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

A delightful and very welcoming hotel. I enjoyed my stay here so much.
My room was large and airy with a balcony. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and well maintained. All was clean, neat and tidy with the added bonus of being set in a heritage building, which was full of history & character. The staff were very attentive and very helpful, just what you would expect at a Taj hotel. Food was delicious and plentiful, and service was impeccable. My only concerns were a lack of communication at the front desk when checking out, but I am assured such a problem will not happen again, and I think internet charges are far too high.
This hotel is in a very good location, just a minute or so to walk to the Metro and almost next door to Khan Market.
Overall, my experience was extremely positive and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. My positive experiences far outweigh the two little concerns mentioned above, which is why I still rate my stay as excellent. In fact, if I can find an excuse to go back to New Delhi I would rush back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExaminerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

One feels at home, big rooms of the grand old style,very quiet location, very friendly staff an certainly good value for money

Room Tip: Corner Suite on inner side is very quiet, private and bigger in size too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChokseyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed here on business and vacation. The staff are Taj trained epitomes of helpfulness in their safari style uniforms. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms pleasant. There is a nice bar and pleasant restaurant serving mixed cuisine. You don't get luxury at the level of the Taj brand hotels and to get you to the airport they may not be able to offer a hotel car, but rather a ramshackle regular taxi. When staying here I book a car through Bobby Thakur's Kalka travels instead. But it's a nice place to stay, 30-50% below the Taj prices and right next to the Khan market, which is a square of regular to upmarket shops which even sports a McDonalds if you have teenagers suffering withdrawal symptoms. It is well situated for visiting the sights of Delhi and there is a metro stop right outside.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Great place, classic elegance and good food. Service is exemplary, as are the staff. Its run by Taj Hotels - so can't expect much less.

You will pay a good price but completely worth it, if you want a smaller boutique experience managed by a global premium luxury chain.


Pros:
Classic place
Close to city center and many attractions
Very good service
Great restaurant and food options
Nice rooms
Owned and run by Taj Hotels - premium, luxury chain globally

Cons:
If you like the modern look, this place is not for you. It is styled in a more traditional, classic vintage style
Can be a bit noisy right outside the gates of the hotel, as its located within a few blocks of the city center

Room Tip: Ask for a room with minimum noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,201 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
2,263 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,231 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#15 of 777 in New Delhi
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $180 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, DerbySoftTaj, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing