We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very well located!”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, very well located!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We loved this hotel. It was my first visit to India since 1987, when I lived in Delhi for 6 weeks as a teenager. The main lobby area is very impressive indeed. We were given a 9th floor room with a pool view. I'd remembered reading reviews saying that one side was noisier than the other, and I thought the pool view was the 'quieter' one. I was wrong, as it looks out onto the road. However, I needn't have worried- the traffic noise is almost completely blocked out by the windows. We had a very peaceful stay there. While you get great views from the other side as we could tell from the top-floor restaurant (India Gate etc.) we loved the views of Humayun's Tomb, Lodi Gardens and Safdarjung's Tomb, all of which we visited. Concierge etc. all very helpful and prompt, the room as meticulously cleaned etc. It's true that the bathroom is a bit smaller than you might expect for a 5 star, but it was pristine. I've read reviews that the furniture is dated- we didn't agree with this. Certainly, most of the furnishings are not brand new, but we felt everything was in excellent condition. We had as much bottled water as we needed, and fruits and treats were replenished daily- for the tea/coffee making facility particularly impressed that there was a cafetiere!

The breakfast buffet was excellent, and truly five star. We found the staff a little overbearing on the first occasion, perhaps trying to be _too_ helpful, but on subsequent occasions they backed off. The restaurants are expensive- we tried Varq and the Grill Room. Both were excellent however, and we felt they were worth the money. Machan (where you have breakfast) does a reasonably priced (if not cheap) lunch buffet and the a la carte dishes for the evening etc. were very well priced- all very good quality. Machan in particular is very popular with locals.

We used the pool every late afternoon as a refreshing contrast to all the sightseeing- it's very well maintained and cleaned and the staff are very attentive, you quickly get free bottles of water, and there's a quick bar etc. service. All in all, it was a great hotel to stay in and a wonderful start to our holiday.

We usually took rickshaws from outside the hotel (they constantly pass by) but also took the nearby metro a few times. On the day of departure, the hotel called us a regular cab, and the metered fare to the airport was very cheap (about 300 rupees, forget exactly.)

Try and get a high room- the views are excellent. We loved watching the buzzards soaring in the thermals _below_ our window! Hope you find this useful. It's not a cheap hotel (5 star hotels in Delhi aren't) but we felt it was well worth the money spent and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor- both sides have great views as it's the only tall building in that part of Delhi. Win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidGHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    507
    100
    45
    19
See reviews for
265
409
198
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Good location, but terrible accommodation. The property is outdated and desperately needs a facelift. Rooms are overcrowded with furniture making them stuffy and claustrophobic. The toilets have poor plumbing and are smelly. However, the staff is fantastic and the service is brilliant. But the hotel is way too pricey for its condition and is not suitable for a leisure stay in Delhi.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SASC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here whilst travelling for academic purposes in India. The general level of service and the quality of food is high. It perhaps lacks a degree of glitziness that you can find in some of the other Taj hotels, but if you're on business or upmarket tourism it does everything that you would require. It has an absolutely beautiful outdoor swimming pool and it's in a brilliant location to see some of the key sites of New Delhi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I read all the positive comments and cannot agree more after our family trip to India
The service is amazing and the staff are extremely helpful
Also both of the restaurants we went to were extremely good and the service excellence continued there . I can highly recommend the Japanese Wasabi and Varq. Both had outstanding food (a bit expensive, though, but worth it)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Taj Mahal. Our room was on the top floor and had a view over New Dehli from the Presidential Palace to India Gate. The staff were lovely, room extremely comfortable, restaurants excellent, pool secluded and warm. What more could I have asked for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoingMyBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,838 reviews
5.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,744 reviews
3.0 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,824 reviews
2.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $201 - $553
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing