We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip to Delhi!”

Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit
Ranked #1 of 51 Food & Drink in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tours are combination of Food, Heritage & Cultural experience with walking and cycle rickshaw (Pedi cab) ride to make a comfortable experience at Old Delhi. We recommend our guests to see Delhi not just as a sightseeing tour or sitting simply on a cycle rickshaw / Pedi cab or in a taxi BUT see it through our eyes to experience the city on the whole ( off the beaten path), with its past and present, with its beliefs and its culture that co-exist. Our walks give a taste of the city and make you sink in the frenzy of its colours, vivacity and irresistible charm. Your senses come alive as you will encounter the many captivating sights and sounds this amazing city has. It indulges you in its artistic enticing food to refresh, rejuvenate your mind, body & soul as it satisfies one's cravings. This also gives an insight to Indian heritage, culture, traditions and Culinary Experience. Disengage yourself from the rest of the world and walk the streets of Shahjanabad / Chandni Chowk with us, the passionate local family ( fifth generation)from the Old City of Delhi. Experience the city, being a part of the traditional culture and history of the amazing Old Delhi, understanding it while you walk the bazaars. You will get a completely different look of India through the eyes of the local family living in the same area. You will be personally leaded around the neighbourhood's winding streets, sharing the neighbourhood's rich history, delicious food & culture. After the walk, you will visit and enjoy complimentary homemade meal at one of the last standing beautiful Haveli (an Old Private Mansion in the old city in which single family is living from five generations) of Delhi.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Delhi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Dhruv and his family were truly wonderful. It was our very first day in the city, and the hustle and chaotic bustle was a bit overwhelming. Thank goodness for Dhruv! He showed us around the bazaar. We ate so much food, even before dinner! There were also tons of perks thrown in along the way and we didn't have to pay additional for anything. According to Dhruv, we were his guests. This was the only tour in India where the guide didn't accept commissions to take foreigners to specific shops. Dhruv and his family were so hospitable - their home is beautiful! I don't want to give any surprises away, but we had such a lovely evening with them. And all along the way, Dhruv took tons of pictures which he shared with us online after. Thank you so much for such a true look at life in Old Delhi and for opening your home to us! Thanks also to TripAdvisor for the great recommendation!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,785
    100
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful experience & brilliant company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Thank you for a brilliant experience,. It opened our eyes to real Delhi and its people. The informative nature of the trip, wonderful food and visiting your home will not be forgotten, especially you feeding the monkey! If you haven't booked this trip and you have already been to Delhi, you really need to go back.

The tour took us through the wonderful bazaars of old Delhi, Dhuv was a fantastic guide stopping anywhere we found interesting from feeding monkeys to taking photos of some of the traders.

After a great tour we were treated to a home cooked meal in Dhuv's home cooked by is lovely wife. Their hom was wonderful an older style house with a courtyard and roofterrace, we were treated to fire works and even flew kites.

We may have stsrted our tour as strangers but we left as friends.

Do not miss this experience it is truly wonderful and an everlasting memory to take home with you.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DollyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow , wow , wow!! Experience the Taste, Sounds, Life of Old Delhi - with a friend as a guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wow!!! A truly authentic, beautiful and non-touristy experience. I will always remember the magical moment of flying a kite from the rooftop of Dhruv's haveli (house). Having been to India many times over the past 3 years, this was by far the most enjoyable tour I have ever taken and would highly recommend it.

Dhruv met the 2 of us at the metro station, and immediately we felt as if we were catching up with an old friend, who was passionately showing us his city for the first time! Dhruv makes you feel welcome from the first moment and, also sets up all expectations up front. He also said he was going to take pictures as well, as a documentary of our trip, and of course you are thus in a number of them, which is always a great memory of a trip (normally you are never in most of your pics! He sends you the website link after the tour).

As Dhruv lives in the heart of old Delhi, he is talking about his neighbourhood, introducing you to people he knows, showing you parts of his daily life, and you really have a truly authentic experience.

He takes you on a street tour, where you taste various types of local cuisine (the lassi with rose water made in the little clay pots that are only used once – was just heavenly! And if you go in winter, the milk foam – called Daulat ki Chaat– just melts in your mouth! You can old get in Old Delhi. On Monday at the office I was telling everyone about it and majority of my Indian colleagues had never had it!) You explore the various businesses (not to purchase anything – just to see how things are done/made), from the spice seller, to the mattress-maker, to the cheese maker, to the ear-cleaner to the local doctor, etc… really exploring the daily life of Old Delhi.

You end up at Dhruv’s house, meeting his family and having a local meal with them, which you helped to cook! Ending up on the roof top to experience a completely different Old Delhi… it is the most awesome experience…. And so much more, but I won’t spoil the fun… go do the tour! I might meet you on the next one, when I am back to do another!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to see and taste the real Old Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My 13 year old daughter and I had the most amazing evening in the company of Dhruv. We were given a history lesson, an insight into the vast array of street food and then an amazing glimpse of his traditional home. And all of this was done in such a friendly manner.
Dhruv started the evening by telling us that at no time were we to offer him tips and that he was doing this food walk as a passion project, rather than a business venture, and by the end of the evening it was so obviously true.
We were in india for nearly 4 weeks and visited the North and South, and this really was one of the most memorable things we did. We would never have tasted all of the foods we tried that night and Dhruv could not have been a better host. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steve78surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slim69
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Delhi Commercial District Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was in Delhi on work and when I mentoined that I was thinking of taking a tour starting in Chawri Bazzar to my Indian collegues they thought I was mad! I got the sense that this is not a place that is commonly visited by the middle to upper class folk in New Delhi and when you take the tour you will probably understand why. The area that Dhruv walks you through is the heart of the Delhi wholesale market, it is dilapidated, busy and grubby - But these are the same reasons that this tour is great!! It is an insight in to the real life of the Old Delhi community, taste some real local food (Which was aweome BTW) and see how esentially this city ticks.. Dhruv finsihes the tour off with a fab meal at his place and is the epitome of great Indian hospitality!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank slim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing