We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Delhi Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #430 of 1,075 New Delhi B&B and Inns
somewhere in the world
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Our family of 4 spent a week at the Talwar’s Caravan Homestay. The family’s hospitality was great – we were comfortable and felt welcomed in their home. We appreciated their local advice and recommendations. We were well-looked after and well fed. (The food was exceptional.) We enjoyed staying with a family, rather than the anonymity of a hotel room. The Talwar family were exceptional hosts and generously shared their home, and gave us the opportunity to see family life in Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Drivearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We were 4 adults staying in one room. It was a little crowded but still quite manageable. This is a family owned operation and our hosts were more than accommodating. This is one rare place in India were you get the feeling that your hosts are actually interested in your best interests, not there own. The meals were great and the facilities more than adequate. This was the 2nd nicest place we stayed in one month's travel in India, Thailand, and Cambodia. The only better place (not for value) was the Grand in Kolkatta (which is ridiculously expensive.)

Access to the Metro was a huge benefit. You can purchase a one day pass for the whole system for only 70 rs to take you to most of the major points of interest.

Airport transfers (international) ranged from 150 rs by 3 wheeler, to 250 rs pre-paid taxi from domestic, to 375 rs meter cab to international at night.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I stayed here for over 3 weeks in November (2008) and found the Talwar's homestay to be more than I would have even thought to ask for. I was in town for work and wanted something central and close to public transport. Like many others I assumed I should be looking in South Delhi, but discovered that the Talwar's place, just a few steps from the metro, is both convenient for getting into central Delhi, and pleasantly removed from the tourist/expat bubble. Tilak Nagar is a regular, bustling neighborhood and living there allowed me to get a sense of the daily rhythm of city life. While there is much to visit in South Delhi i think my experience would not have been as rich had I lived there.

And the homestay itself was such a treat. The Talwar family is amazing and made us truly feel at home. The accommodations are clean, roomy and comfortable, and the food is delicious. We were also given insights into the city (its food, culture, and history) and things to see that i don't think we would have heard about from more conventional hotels and tourist outlets. I was genuinely sad to leave when it was time to go.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank straightup00us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

My husband and I wanted to see the Real India rather than stay in a hotel, especially after reading the hotel reviews. Caravan met us at the airport (4:30 a.m.) and pampered us by arranging transportation, suggesting itineraries, preparing meals, and providing snacks non-stop. We were even invited to attend what turned out to be an unbelievable performance by a school group complete with transportation and introductions to the choreographer and school officials followed by a delicious reception. Caravan is close to a metro station which allowed us access to many sites in New Delhi and Delhi. It was quite a comfort to know we could we could call on a family member to intercede in case of any difficulty, including negotiating fares with cabs and making airline reservations. I can't imagine how we would have navigated India without them, We also had more access to the internet than we had had in Europe or Morocco. The very best part for us, however, was being exposed to an intelligent, loving Indian family who freely shared their books, culture, lifestyle and cuisine with us. We will never forget our time there.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,765 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,638 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 716 in New Delhi
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,706 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delhi Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delhi Bed and Breakfast

Property: Delhi Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1/13, Single Storey, Tilak Nagar, New Delhi 110018, India (Formerly Caravan Homestay)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 1,075 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): $66 - $79
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are thousands of Bed and Breakfasts, Homestays, Hotels, Apartments, Hostels and rentable Taj Mahals in New Delhi and then there's Caravan Delhi Bed amd Breakfast, where we introduce you to New Delhi and India in an non-overwhelming way. At our B&B, you'll enjoy the perfect blend of Indian culture and traditions in the lap of modern contemporary comforts. All 4 rooms are Air-conditioned with en-suite washrooms. We provide personalized attention to each guest with impeccable service, excellent food and good company! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing