We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
406
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate farm bat cave open air other guests cacao trees homemade muffins travel experience chocolate desserts bahia honda every morning ingredients grown tamales jungle lodge red frog beach making chocolate birds and butterflies local ingredients
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

My friends & I went here on the recommendation of another friend who raved about this place & La Loma lived up to the hype. Maggie & Henry made us feel so welcome. Not only are they fun & attentive, but they are very talented cooks. The meals were utterly scrumptious!!! We stayed in a beautiful tree cabin with amazing views of the jungle & water. There is so much to do there that our 4 days just flew by- we went kayaking, swimming, hiking, and explored a bat cave. It was just an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

La Loma Lodge is a special place. And I mean it in all good ways.
Since you are welcomed at the airport at Bocas town – as we have arranged our trip – until the moment of your departure, you always feel welcomed and you also feel that everything at the lodge is arranged in a way so that your experience there is as much comfortable as possible.
The lodge main building is a pleasant place and it’s the place where you have your meals and gather together to your daily activities.
We’ve stayed at the hill top cabins and our cabin was just amazing. To reach these cabins you need to make a small hike up there. These cabins are like a very large covered wooden balconies with a view over the rain forest where you have plenty of privacy and space to enjoy the quietness of the surrounding ambiance. The beds are really good and the mosquito nets are made in a way that you have a small mosquito net walled room within the cabin. And the bathroom is large and you have hot shower – such a luxury! Details like the early morning coffee and muffins dropped at your cabin entrance each day, as a first breakfast, are so nice and makes you feel pampered as a complement to the whole experience there.
Another excellent experience at the lodge is the food. The food is just… amazing! All the food is made locally and mostly with local fresh ingredients. It’s like a gourmet rain forest experience where each plate is explained to you for your delight. If you’re a foodie, just go there and you’ll love it!
Steve and Karen were the perfect hosts. They were always ready for us to help on anything and to explain any needed details.
Details like the available drinkable water supplied in individual flasks, “second-hand” shoes available for you to hike in muddy paths so you don’t get your shoes full of mud, ponchos for the rain, wood trekking poles available for us are really useful and makes your stay more comfortable. Mainly, all is made in a way so your stay is as much comfortable as possible.
And, for your info, this is a place where you will get disconnected from the world and enjoy better the quietness of the rain forest, as there is no wifi available. But, if you still want to get connected, get a +Movil SIM card in your mobile and you will have intermittent 3G at the top of the hill cabins and also edge mobile coverage down at the main building - but you end up ignoring the internet most of the time, as I’ve done.
So, believe me: this place is really amazing! Go for it!

Room Tip: The top of the hill cabins, defenitely
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We are young german couple, who staied in Panama for 3 weeks in January 2018. We spent 4 days in La Loma Lodge an Chocolate Farm. It was a wonderful time! We enjoied the beautiful rainforest in which the Tree Top Cabins are located. During the night you can listen to the sound of the jungle. In the morning they take a small box with coffee and muffins al the up to the each cabin, so you can enjoy the first coffee of the day in your cabin surrounded by the rainforest. The Lodge offers 3 meals every day. The food is fantastic and 90 % raised in the own garden or in Bocas de Toro. They offer various excursions. We did a snorkeling Trip, the Cacao Tour and visited the Red Frog Beach. But you can also stay in your Cabin an simply enjoy and relax. The Lodge is run by a a married couple, who were very friendly and helpful during our preparation for the trip. When we stayed in the Lodge they spent a vacation themselves so we there was a couple from California, Steve and Karen, who took care of us. We ha a wonderful time with them. They now everything about the Lodge an Bocas del Toro and are very nice people. The hardest point was when we had to leave the Lodge after 4 days!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsten Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at La Loma for 2 nights and everything was perfect! Clean room, really nice stuff! Wonderfull dinner! Thank you for this wondefull time! We always would come back! The trip to the red frog beach and the chocolate tour were really interesting and the cocktails at the dinner really tasty! Also my little son love the place!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We visited La Loma in december 2017. The hotel is situated in the middle of a beautiful jungle and can only be reached by boat. It is possible to walk or to kayak to other areas of the island. Highly recommandable is the visit of a near bat cave. The hotel also offers amazing hiking tours across the island.
The cabins are wonderfully designed and located in the middle of the jungle.
The kitchen is really excellent and varied.
The atmosphere in the hotel is extremely friendly - all meals a served at a common table. Henry the owner and his wife Margaret treat their guests like old friends. This place is really something special that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin up on the hill.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gmf1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews