We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away!!!”
Review of Eclypse de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eclypse de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My Family (2 kids 7 and 9) stayed at Eclypse and loved it. In our opinion bungalo #4 was the best because we could sit out at night (once the kids passed out) and hear the fun Caribbean music and see the lights right from our porch. That was our favorite time of day...so relaxing. We saw a pufferfish every day the size of a small dog. There was also a 2 foot long barracuda hanging around our hut. My son loved the fish, crabs and geccos. The shutters open up so you have a beautiful breeze. Steve and Karen are wonderful hosts and made sure all our activities and water taxis were planned. They were great! We saw a baby sloth right next to the restaurant...so cool. I think this place would be fabulous for a romantic getaway...but it was still great for family too! Marlena was so accomodating and sweet. I highly recommend this place. Old Bank or Bastimentos town was such a very cool experience...no cars on the island. We highly recommend dinner at Roots. Yum. That was our favorite meal in Bocas Del Toro. Oh...Obviously you can hear the music at night...but we didn't think it was that bad...actually it was relaxing. Also, we chose this place because the price was so amazing for an aqua hut. Have you priced them at other vacation destinations?

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best because it's at the very end and looks right out at the town. So Cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

The cabins do look lovely in their orange over the water that is true. And it is great to be able to swim right off your own little deck (the water may or may not be clear depending on rain but it is still warm). And oh, so lovely to sit back and watch the sun set and then the bats swoop over the water once the darkness has set in.
The only problem for me is the price and the noise combination. If it wasn't so pricey, the noise from the nightclubs across the water would be tolerable, but for me, if I am going to spend $200. or so a night, I prefer peace and quiet (unfortunately I went on a whim, had not read the reviews).
So if noise bothers you, I would suggest going further afield. If noise doesn't bother you and you want to feel as if you are away but you are not really away, just a short boat ride across, then this could be the place for you.
The food is pretty good. Ask for no salt if you don't like really salty.
The hike through the trails in the back is easy and lush and you get to see the red frogs really easily.

Room Tip: The bungalows facing away from Bastamientos look into fewer lights if you want more of a feeling of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Took a water taxi out to Bastimentos (don't pay more than $3)and as we approached Eclypse de Mar, it looked like everything I had dreamed of. I had often seen places like this in travel books, but never thought I would get to stay in one. As we approached the dock we were greeted by a staff member who welcomed us and ushered us to the restaurant for a early morning breakfast. Then Malena, the owner came out and sat and talked with us. What a sweetheart! From then on all of our needs were taken care of....they arranged tours for us, called taxis, advised the best places to go, etc. Besides the nice breakfast that is included, they have an excellent restaurant...best food i had in the three weeks we were in Panama. I especially loved being able to swim and snorkel off our private deck and watch the sun go down while sitting on the porch. Very romantic place. No hair dryers are allowed so you need to get use to going au naturale; and the electricity is only on during the dark hours, and it isn't bright enough for reading, so you tend to go to bed early. The place is spotless, the staff is wonderful, and we look forward to going back someday. Now if they could only guarantee good weather!!

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite, bungalow 6, and it was perfect. It looked out over the bay and we had c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delnlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our family of 6 (4 daughters ages 15-21) stayed in two bungalows over Christmas. I had read the reviews, so we were aware of the limited electricity, music across the bay at all hours, and the sometimes problematic plumbing. The music wasn't so loud, so that was not an issue. The plumbing in the honeymoon suite bungalow was a bit sensitive and we narrowly avoided needing a plunger. I think the problem is that it is at the end of the line. On our last night the water supply pipe from the storage tank broke and there was no water. I'm sure Pablo had a very bad night. He did bring us a some bottled water so we could brush our teeth.

The food was good, although the dinner entrees were quite salty for our tastes. Our kids loved the calamari and the frozen coffee drinks. On Christmas eve we enjoyed a fantastic cocktail party with really great appetizers.

Pablo did an excellent job of suggesting and arranging for daily activities - surfing, hiking, visiting cocoa farms, snorkeling, visiting the bat cave, seeing frogs and sloths, etc.

Overall the accommodations are very comfortable. However, our kids bungalow did have a leaky roof one night when the rain really poured. We also met some other guests who had visited in the summer and they warned us that it is unbearably hot then since there is no AC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed 5 nights of our honeymoon in one of the honeymoon suites and was very satisfied. We had the opportunity to explore most of the area during our visit. Transport to the different islands is rather simple and the hotel will help you set up any excursion you choose to do. We liked the honeymoon suite a lot but based on our needs would have been more satisfied with a smaller room that faced the other side of the dock. The boat traffic goes by room 6 on a regular basis as early as 7am and the music across the water was easily heard. The staff was amazing and the food was the best we found in the area. A great experience overall but would have been more suited for a smaller room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.8 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
3.6 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
2.3 km away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 20 in Isla Colon
313 reviews
13.1 km away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
162 reviews
3.1 km away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclypse de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclypse de Mar

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $122 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eclypse de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Eclypse de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclypse De Mar Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Eclypse De Mar Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing