We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Tasting Menu”
Review of Azul Restaurant

Azul Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Price range: USD 19 - USD 20
Description: ***NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH AZUL PARADISE RESTAURANT*** Azul Restaurant offers a unique culinary experience in Bocas del Toro. Creative cooking based on national products, fresh product from the ocean, vegetables and seasonal fruits. All of our guests will have the opportunity to enjoy a 6 course dinner menu with 3 starters, 1 main dish and 2 desserts. You will also be able to choose between a vegetarian menu and a regular menu. The chef will also gives you the opportunity to choose his house specials. All of this will be accompanied by our fabulous drinks and also some creative cocktails, not the typical ones you are use to. So come and enjoy an authentic gastronomic experience in an intimate space with an ocean view.
Restaurant details
Description: ***NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH AZUL PARADISE RESTAURANT*** Azul Restaurant offers a unique culinary experience in Bocas del Toro. Creative cooking based on national products, fresh product from the ocean, vegetables and seasonal fruits. All of our guests will have the opportunity to enjoy a 6 course dinner menu with 3 starters, 1 main dish and 2 desserts. You will also be able to choose between a vegetarian menu and a regular menu. The chef will also gives you the opportunity to choose his house specials. All of this will be accompanied by our fabulous drinks and also some creative cocktails, not the typical ones you are use to. So come and enjoy an authentic gastronomic experience in an intimate space with an ocean view.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Delicious tasting menu for only $20, a gem of a restaurant on the second floor in the center of town. We enjoyed our meal, but it did take quite long - 2 hours for 5 courses. The last course never came, and at that point we were so tired that we just paid our bill. Overall, I’d still recommend, but suggest to plan in time to have a very leisurely dinner.

Thank lesleyl400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Azul Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hello Lesley,
The waiting time is not normal. We must always coordinate the times to be able to have ready the tables for the next shift, beacuse our restaurant works with closed shifts of 1.5h each one.
We apologize for what happened.
Thank you very much for taking time to rate us :)
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Our dinner at Azul was great. Very reasonably priced. The staff was great, the food was even more impressive. Definitely will recommend to anyone going to Bocas Town. We were shocked to get a 6 course meal for for 2 under $50!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garrett U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Azul Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words Garret! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Good location and nice outdoor dining deck. Located on the second floor up a narrow staircase makes it inaccessible for people who can’t climb stairs. The food, although artistically presented, was average. One exception was the pork belly which was quite wonderful.

Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Azul Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hello George,
It is always a pleasure for our team to help all our guests that suffer any difficulty to climb the staircase. In fact, one of our best and most frequent clients is an elderly man suffering from reduced movability, forcing him to use a wheelchair. It is thus not a problem nor a challenge to access our restaurant, moreover, since our staff is delighted in doing everything to make it possible.
Unfortunately, the buildings' structure does not allow us to establish an access ramp, as it is common in other restaurants.
As for the food, you qualify as "normal', 94% of the critiques, we have received, have classified it as "excellent". However, reviews like yours are the ones that motivate us to continue working giving our best and reach 100%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t expecting this good a meal, truly I wasn’t. An unbelievably accessible price for something that would easily be five times as much in the states. Chef Juan and his staff are elevating cuisine in Bocas by leaps and bounds. Bravo, bravo, bravo. Wishing the entire Bocas culinary community the best of luck and the growth of something big.

Thank Louizik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Azul Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review Louizik!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing restaurant that offered a 6 course menu (vegetarian option available). They were also able to cater for my gluten intolerance. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent. We had a wonderful experience and 100% recommend to anyone wanting to splurge just a little for a special night out in Bocas. Excellent value for money!

Thank Lm_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Azul Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azul Restaurant also viewed

Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Azul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing