We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fab lesson with Jose!

I have never surfed before, but I had a couple of hours with Jose and I could stand up on nearly... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
Fiona_j_e
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Da Best Boards in town

Awesome place, great selection of boards. No issues renting a sweet ride here. Go to place in boxes... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 10 August 2018
Ambassador741853
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
69
8
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
8
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visited bocas del toro great instruction learn how an excellent teacher private lesson couple of hours a lot of fun michelle jose session waves beginners paddling instructor teaching class reef
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great surf teacher in Michelle who took us out to Blackrock as beginner surfers with a bit of experience. Michelle taught us lots of essential basics about reading the waves and sent us out on some of our best rides to date, kept us challenged but also within our comfort zones. We ended up doing 3 sessions with her. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank afaithlee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonoLoco S, Public Relations Manager at Mono Loco Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

So glad you enjoyed your sessions with Michelle! Come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Visited Bocas del Toro with a friend and was very bored because of the rain. Mono Loco saved the day and made it a great day with surfing instead. We had a fantastic instructor (hey Chapo!) who was both pedagocial and easy going. Highly recommend Mono Loco!

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonoLoco S, Public Relations Manager at Mono Loco Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We're actually known for being rainy day super heroes! Thanks for rating us and don't forget to recommend ML surf to your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Mono Loco is great, we were beginners and booked the 5 days session. Michelle our teacher was amazing, friendly, patient and very experienced. after 4 days (unfortunatley we had no class on the fifth day because of the weather) we improved a lot and i felt pretty secure (i was really afraid at the first day).

we highly recommend the mono loco surf school, thats the place to learn how to surf!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank kapatravel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Just finished our third day surfing with Michelle from Mono Loco Surf School and it couldn’t have gone better. We were basically beginners (no prior lessons) but thanks to her help and encouragement, we were standing up on the first day, dropping in on green waves on the second, and working on cut-backs by the third! Definitely would recommend!

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank LukeM556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Had a nice surflesson with michelle on friday. She knows what to do and how to explain the set.
Direct transfer from the school to the wave by boat was nice.
Thx.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews