We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,708)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveller rating
1,345
273
62
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,345
273
62
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest dwelling private pool our honeymoon water dwelling resident crocodile paddy fields sunken bath overlooking the lake sri lanka on stilts eco hotel slender loris nature reserve golf buggy night walk bathroom area open plan
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful ,vast property living up to its billing as a wildlife resort. Individual and spacious rooms which all have great locations on the property. However it just misses in many areas. Food is good but not great with meat very over cooked. Service again good but not great often. Staff are hugely polite and their smiles infectious but sometimes need to look around more. Approach to rooms is not paved but quite heavy red sand. Looks pretty but makes a total mess of feet and shoes.
Overall it's a bit style over substance.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

First things first. This is a fantastic resort, particularly for couples who want to get away from the normal type of hotel and spend some quality time together in a beautiful setting with fantastic food and services. I would recommend it without reservation. All the staff are very welcoming.

Having been a gourmet meal for mosquitoes in the past I was slightly apprehensive leading up to it, but having just left from our 4 night stay I haven't a single bite and saw very few insects at all.

We stayed in a water pavilion (115) which has fantastic views and is a 3 minute walk from reception / pool / restaurant area.
A huge room with huge bath, rainfall shower and all usual tea/ coffee/ mini bar etc to a very high standard.

The infinity pool looks out over the lake, and the area around it including a small open library is just lovely. Sun beds and towels are provided for you.

The lunch menu is varied, good value for money and the food was delicious. Same goes for breakfast and evening meal which is a set menu of multiple courses with a great choice of Sri Lankan and more European main courses. With cocktails before and a nightcap afterwards it makes for the perfect evening.

We had a champagne breakfast on our terrace which was beautifully presented and also had spa treatments and a floral bath - all a real treat.

It's a great base for visiting Sigiriya, the Kowdulla safari park and is not too far from Dambulla. We also visited the Village Lake adventure at Habarana which was not only really interesting but also really good fun.

So - if you want to feel pampered and really chill out, this is definitely the place!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pumpkinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are glad to hear you've made the best of your choice to stay with us, experiencing the natural beauty of the property.

We are an Eco-reserve in every sense of word. The wetland concept you see all around today, is man-made and attracts quite an array of birds and other wildlife.

Your compliments on our facilities service and food are very much appreciated. Our dedicated and attentive associates are always geared up to deliver noting but the best of service to all our guests. It is pleasing to know that all our operational team and the culinary experts have lived up to the expected standards of Jetwing Hospitality.

Having indulged in our Jetwing Hospitality we hope you will return to enjoy yet another memorable stay with us.


Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here three nights on our honeymoon. Firstly, I must say that this place is stunningly beautiful - the little bungalows are gorgeous on the outside, the decor is exquisite and the views are amazing. The little touches in the room are also fabulous, like sarongs and hats for your stay. Plus I can't forget the crocodiles swimming by the library!

Regarding location - you don't get much better for Sigiriya and the cultural triangle and this place comes highly recommended for that alone.

As for downsides - the food is rather overpriced for what you get. It's nice, but this place charges London prices and I feel like I'd need to be blown away for that and I wasn't. Food delivered to the room is always slightly cool due to the size of the place. Breakfast was the best I've had in Sri Lanka, however.

Finally, I'm stoked that we could buy some lovely pieces in the hotel gift shop, such as our gorgeous sarongs but a few practical items such as aloe vera would not go amiss either!

Only a few niggles but enough to stop this place being perfect.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annwfyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It was a great privilege to serve you and your husband and also to know that you have enjoyed your stay despite few issues.

Your comments regarding the food are well noted and we will look into it. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana to spend a part of your holiday in Sri Lanka and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in one of the simple rooms / chalets. Here is the verdict:

Pros:
- nice pool
- good design of the common area
- good location for cultural triangle

Cons:
- smelly room
- noisy air conditioner
- poorly designed bathroom
- long walk between room and restaurant
- slow service
- expensive for what you get

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We are of course most concerned to hear of your dissatisfaction and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience regarding the interior facilities of the room and slow service. Please let me assure you that we are taking all the necessary actions to prevent the same from taking place in the future.

Do give us a second chance so that we could give you the service we are renowned for.

Ayubowan (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

If you are touring in the central area for Sigiriya and other sites then you will not go far wrong staying at the Jetwing Vil Uyana.Its a very nice well run venue the staff are great and the restaurant is exellent serving really good dishes,a very comfortable place.Watch out for the hotel's crocodiles in the lake there are three.

Room Tip: We stayed in a paddy dwelling
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronaldgamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest

We are extremely pleased to hear that your visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana was a memorable one. Thank you for your earnest words on our service and our facilities. We truly appreciate your kind feedback.

Having experienced the unique hospitality of Jetwing Vil Uyana we hope you will remember us the next time you visit the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka.


Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews