We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy, Luxury and Exceptional Service!”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Vil Uyana, by Jetwing is a eco resort hotel situated within close proximity to Minneriya National Park and of course, Sigirya. The hotel rooms are spacious private bungalows thematically placed within the property. My family stayed at the property in mid-July, in a "Paddy Dwelling with a pool". The pool is a private small plunge pool that was attached to the room. The bungalows (we stayed) were very large and situated more than 50 yards apart allowing a lot of privacy. Our room (#154) had a private deck that overlooked the woods. We enjoyed watching various types of birds, monkeys etc while enjoying a nice cup of coffee from the privacy of our deck.

What makes Vil Uyana exceptional is, its personnel. From the keen eyed General Manager, to the soft spoken, highly qualified Naturalist, who shared some of his vast knowledge of the area flora and fauna to the Banquet Manager to the House Keeping Manager to the room attendant, everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable. If you are considering visiting Sigiriya and/or Minneriya National Park, consider staying at Vil Uyana. I know my family will stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and the pool at our Paddy Dwelling. The deck was very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kavantissa_de_silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest

We were delighted to welcome you to Jetwing Vil Uyana. And we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in Sigiriya. We are grateful to you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Our team is extremely happy to know that you were impressed with the high standards of personalized service offered during the course of your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Jetwing Vil Uyana on your next visit to Sri Lanka.


Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful ,vast property living up to its billing as a wildlife resort. Individual and spacious rooms which all have great locations on the property. However it just misses in many areas. Food is good but not great with meat very over cooked. Service again good but not great often. Staff are hugely polite and their smiles infectious but sometimes need to look around more. Approach to rooms is not paved but quite heavy red sand. Looks pretty but makes a total mess of feet and shoes.
Overall it's a bit style over substance.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

First things first. This is a fantastic resort, particularly for couples who want to get away from the normal type of hotel and spend some quality time together in a beautiful setting with fantastic food and services. I would recommend it without reservation. All the staff are very welcoming.

Having been a gourmet meal for mosquitoes in the past I was slightly apprehensive leading up to it, but having just left from our 4 night stay I haven't a single bite and saw very few insects at all.

We stayed in a water pavilion (115) which has fantastic views and is a 3 minute walk from reception / pool / restaurant area.
A huge room with huge bath, rainfall shower and all usual tea/ coffee/ mini bar etc to a very high standard.

The infinity pool looks out over the lake, and the area around it including a small open library is just lovely. Sun beds and towels are provided for you.

The lunch menu is varied, good value for money and the food was delicious. Same goes for breakfast and evening meal which is a set menu of multiple courses with a great choice of Sri Lankan and more European main courses. With cocktails before and a nightcap afterwards it makes for the perfect evening.

We had a champagne breakfast on our terrace which was beautifully presented and also had spa treatments and a floral bath - all a real treat.

It's a great base for visiting Sigiriya, the Kowdulla safari park and is not too far from Dambulla. We also visited the Village Lake adventure at Habarana which was not only really interesting but also really good fun.

So - if you want to feel pampered and really chill out, this is definitely the place!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pumpkinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are glad to hear you've made the best of your choice to stay with us, experiencing the natural beauty of the property.

We are an Eco-reserve in every sense of word. The wetland concept you see all around today, is man-made and attracts quite an array of birds and other wildlife.

Your compliments on our facilities service and food are very much appreciated. Our dedicated and attentive associates are always geared up to deliver noting but the best of service to all our guests. It is pleasing to know that all our operational team and the culinary experts have lived up to the expected standards of Jetwing Hospitality.

Having indulged in our Jetwing Hospitality we hope you will return to enjoy yet another memorable stay with us.


Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here three nights on our honeymoon. Firstly, I must say that this place is stunningly beautiful - the little bungalows are gorgeous on the outside, the decor is exquisite and the views are amazing. The little touches in the room are also fabulous, like sarongs and hats for your stay. Plus I can't forget the crocodiles swimming by the library!

Regarding location - you don't get much better for Sigiriya and the cultural triangle and this place comes highly recommended for that alone.

As for downsides - the food is rather overpriced for what you get. It's nice, but this place charges London prices and I feel like I'd need to be blown away for that and I wasn't. Food delivered to the room is always slightly cool due to the size of the place. Breakfast was the best I've had in Sri Lanka, however.

Finally, I'm stoked that we could buy some lovely pieces in the hotel gift shop, such as our gorgeous sarongs but a few practical items such as aloe vera would not go amiss either!

Only a few niggles but enough to stop this place being perfect.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annwfyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It was a great privilege to serve you and your husband and also to know that you have enjoyed your stay despite few issues.

Your comments regarding the food are well noted and we will look into it. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana to spend a part of your holiday in Sri Lanka and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in one of the simple rooms / chalets. Here is the verdict:

Pros:
- nice pool
- good design of the common area
- good location for cultural triangle

Cons:
- smelly room
- noisy air conditioner
- poorly designed bathroom
- long walk between room and restaurant
- slow service
- expensive for what you get

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We are of course most concerned to hear of your dissatisfaction and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience regarding the interior facilities of the room and slow service. Please let me assure you that we are taking all the necessary actions to prevent the same from taking place in the future.

Do give us a second chance so that we could give you the service we are renowned for.

Ayubowan (May you live long)

Kingsley Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,822 reviews
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
188 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 19 in Dambulla
3,819 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
446 reviews
5 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: AU$434 - AU$815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing