We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sigiriya World Heritage Site
from USD 599.00
More Info
from USD 90.00
More Info
from USD 448.54
More Info
Reviews (3,688)
Filter reviews
3,688 results
Traveller rating
2,526
877
192
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,526
877
192
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka top of the rock world heritage site worth the climb early in the morning mirror wall rock fortress take your time amazing place bottle of water afraid of heights amazing views entrance fee worth the effort bring water hard work half way
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 3,688 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The ancient kingdom of Sigiriya is amazing! Its a UNESCO world heritage site and well worth the visit. Our resort in Habarana organised the trip and recommended we travel in the early morning. It opens at 7am. We travelled by tuk tuk. Some of the climb is single file and it gets hot so try and beat the tour buses. It is a big challenge for those of us who are scared of heights and there some unscrupulous locals who target you. We were approached by a man at lions rock entry (apparently they target anyone not in a tour group with a guide). He flashed a badge saying he was an official but we now know it was fake. He wouldn't leave our side even when we reached the top. We gave him a tip equivalent to $10 Australian which he said wasn't enough. He then demanded more money and in Australian currency. I really don't want to be saying anything negative but people need to be warned. The problem is that locals rightly pay a token fee to get in making it an easy scam for some. Please don't let this warning put you off going to what is otherwise a magnificent site.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Teamdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Sigiriya is definitely worth the climb but just make sure you go early! There's only one way up, and down, for most parts so steps can get very busy; we timed it so that it was just starting to fill up - a bit too much for our liking - on our descent. I'm scared of heights but was ok for the vast majority of the climb; the worst bit is climbing to the highest point at the end due to the gaps in the steps - don't look down!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank emmamU2816MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I've seen many reviews complaining about the price, id say around £20 each isn't too bad but maybe a little over priced, I'd say its worth more like £15, as a non-local your going to be paying 30$/4650~ LKR.

The walk will take just over 1 hour with a little stop midway to take a little breather. There are some cool views on the way up and once at the very top also, I wouldn't say its too difficult and it just involves quite a few steps to the top, 1200 roughly.

Myself and gf had little problems getting to the top and were not the fittest of people, once past the halfway point its basically climbing a metal set of steps with hand rails.

I'd suggest leaving early to arrive at 7AM to miss the queues and also the hottest part of the day because if you leave later it will take you longer to get up.

We had a driver take us from our hotel in Kandy to Sigiriya and we left at 4AM and arrive at the site at around 6AM which gave us the chance to get a time lapse before sunrise of the rock from distance sunrise was around 6-6.30am in March.

Once we reached the top we spent about 30-40 mins walking around taking photos, loads of stray dogs walking around, but generally keep to themselves, the skies start to clear around the 8-9am point.

we started out decent around 9am and there was already queues of people coming up which you have to wait for before you can go done, i suspect it would be even worse later on.

My opinion and advice to others is to do this if your budget allows.

PS - You do not need a guide, best thing you can do is just ignore them if they try to attach themselves to you, this is also another bonus of going early is that you have none of this from our experience. They try to help you up the steps, (there steps, you really don't need help lol, just pace yourself ;))

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g304141-d317483-r570630090-Citadel_of_Sigiriya_Lion_Rock-Sigiriya_Central_Province.html#

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank nick5ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you plan to travel during March - April, bring plenty of water. Because it is very hot during those months. There are two ticket check points. One is at the entrance and the other one just before the Mirror wall and Frescoes, so make sure you have your ticket with you.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank nadeeka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had children (6 & 8) with us and decided to climb in the evening due to jet lag. We set off around 4pm. It was still very hot at the bottom but had cooled down plus there was a bit of a breeze by the time we got up. Kids managed fine, but are used to doing quite a lot of walking. Would have felt a bit nervous with much younger kids on some of the metal staircases, but ours felt big enough. We got down a bit before 6, but didn’t spend ages wandering in the gardens on the way. Bring plenty of water, but beware of snacks with lots of monkeys.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ScottishKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews