We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 94
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sigiriya(Sigiriya)
USD 169
USD 89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 113
USD 89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 75
USD 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 104
USD 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 80
USD 57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 435
USD 392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
215
115
57
33
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
115
57
33
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic suiteplunge poolroyal suitemain pooldressing roomsri lankasigiriya rocknature walkwatering holewater buffalorooms are hugeour honeymoonf b managerluxury hotelshower areaspecial thankspeaceful stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

First impressions of this place were fantastic; we received a warm welcome and the grounds are stunning. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the floors in the bathroom can be slippy, nearly had a serious injury! The location of the pool didn’t bother us as it has some reviewers, there are plenty of bikes to use so it only takes a minute or two to get to.

What really lets the hotel down is the food and drink options. On the first night we opted for the private dining as we were on our honeymoon, and we served a special menu in the grounds of the hotel. The experience was great, but I didn’t think the food was particularly outstanding. Also many of the wines on the list were unavailable, resulting in us having to spend a lot more than we wanted to on a bottle that was quite overpriced. On the second night we just ate in the restaurant, but were guided to the buffet and not given a choice of a la carte, although I think it should have been available. The buffet quality was poor.

Finally there isn’t really a bar as such either, so nowhere to relax with a drink in the beautiful surroundings. It’s a shame as a few small changes could make this a lot better. A special mention should be made however for the young man on reception who couldn’t do enough for us, great service.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantCorridor, General Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
It was great having you here with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location and its beauty.
Your concerns with regard to the food has been very much taken up with the necessary staff and we have ensured this will not be repeated.
Thank you for taking time to give your feedback. We are committed to make our guests' experience a perfect one. We regret that we fell short on this with you. Please do visit again and you will enjoy your next stay with us for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

the property has a very resort feel to it. the rooms are huge and delightful with tall ceilings, one definitely feels he is an impressive resort. the breakfast and room service was excellent and prompt.
however hardly any English speaking staff. also guest services like spa and games room were closed even though hotel was full. they charged us for cold coffee at breakfast without mentioning it was chargeable... though on complaint they did reverse it

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Tejas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantCorridor, General Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Tejas,
It was indeed a pleasure that you stayed with us. Hope you had a safe journey back home. Thank you for taking time to review our property.
We are extremely sorry about the times we had fallen short on your expectations. Staff has been addressed on the points you have mentioned.
Please do visit again and you will see our commitment to improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were from Melbourne and stayed at Room UM and UO on 31st March 2018. Highly disappointed as the level of cleanliness is absolutely zero. Smelly rooms with dirty bath tubs, toilets and vanities. We were totally flabbergasted by seen tea cups used by previous occupants in the room when we were to make tea.
While we were in the hotel, a free room upgrade option has been emailed to me (instead of communicate directly) which has been unnoticed until I checked my emails after returned to Colombo.
The glory of mid 2000 of the hotel is no more and not recommended the Elephant Corridor as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Ayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantCorridor, General Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Ayan,
Thank you for taking time to review our property. Your review prompted us to have a special investigation on our House Keeping. According to the final report, it is certain that usual procedures have been practiced before your arrival. We only wish you had brought this to our notice immediately at the time of arrival if this was the nature of the the bathroom. Having this highlighted at the check out was not helpful.
With regard to your upgrade, please note that we informed you before your arrival as we needed to accommodate another booking, hence we offered an upgrade to you.
However we are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This was one of these situations where the pictures did not do Justice, pictures are out dated and this is a poorly run and maintained hotel.
Booked romantic sweet with plunge pool, the pool which was dirty and had pubic hair and mosquito floating it, with no filtration working, old dirty towels which i sent back.
I was meant to stay for 4 days but in the 1st hour of being there deiced 1 night was more that enough.
Bar closed due to refurb, but was told they did have a liquor licence by one of the staff.
Went to restaurant for a drink, asked for gin & tonic told no gin only basic sprits, ordered wine out of stock.
Dinner & breakfast was really poor, ordered burger for my son and a piece of gristly steak which was uneatable in a burger bun, sent it back, curry was sent back because it was also cold. breakfast was the same, all cold.
i work as a chef in hospitality, this is not a 5 star hotel or worth the price we payed for 1 night, its definitely on its last legs, kitchen was closed and food was being heated up in a back room of the restaurant, i met with the Executive chef who informed me the kitchen was a long way from the restaurant so they heated food in the back room, this is not right from a food safety point or what you would except fro 5 star hotel.
Everywhere you look things are being held together with wire or falling apart.
Awards they have are from 5 years ago, its a shame that when you have traveled so far to be let down.
i was not charged for my food, which was right because i refused to eat it.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel, will be better for you.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PeterReffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantCorridor, General Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Peter,
Thank you for taking time to review us.
Your concerns have been well noted. We hope to work on the areas that you have highlighted. We are committed to improve on these areas. We would like to see you once again at the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I spent my honeymoon at The Elephant Corridor.I chose romantic suite and that was a unforgettable memory and had a romantic evening.The hospitality of the staff is excellent and very friendly.Good Luck The Elephant Corridor keep on going.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lasitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantCorridor, General Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Lasitha,
Thank you so much for your time taken to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your special time with your wife as you both start this new journey together.
Please do come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews