We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
USD 312
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUSD 413
Priceline
eDreamsUSD 413
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
235
80
16
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
80
16
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floor to ceiling windows main building sri lanka main reception cultural triangle private villa beautiful lake amazing food surrounded by trees the hotel manager spent nights visiting sigiriya lion rock nature wildlife privacy luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We spent a few day at this beautiful property. It is very quiet and secluded, property has around 9 houses, walls all in glass , very very nice to wake up in and be a part of the jungle.
Here is just some details, some need improvement and some are just awesome, this is just my 5 sents in

Design: very very nice, you will enjoy it
Beds: confortable , king size, I like more firm mattrecess, but these were ok
AC: a bit loud, and since the house is all glass it gets warm very very fast, so you need to run it for a long time. When you leave the house, it will be turned off, so prepare to enter a hot hot room when you get back, but it takes about 30 min to get it back to normal again
Bathroom: outside, very attractive, altough you may find a froggy or two on your toilet seet , and a lizard on the wall, but that is a part of the charm of being in te jungle
Good shower with enough hot water and good water pressure. NItpicking: they could improve with shampoo / shower cream quality - less colors more natural

the bathroom in the lobby area needs more ventilation, and nicer look, moldy smell and wet floor is not truly representative.

Food: this needs improvement :with faster service ( we used to order breakfast the night before and tell exactly at what time we will eat:they ask you this the night before: and we still end up waiting 30 minutes in am to be served, although we may be the only ones in the eating area)
and a bit better food (especially bread /pastry quality - or just serve hoppers or millet bread - something that is easier to make and more familiar to chef)

Internet : awesome
POol: good size, clean, water not cold, maybe just to remember to put out towels for guests (a few times we had to go to reception to get them)

Hospitality: amazing, everyone.
English: great

Do not get me wrong, we loved the place and people, but these are some things that are easy to improve in order to make it spectacular

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BikiNeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayanthi S, Director of Sales at Wild Grass Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our concept and overall experience.

We have noted your various comments and appreciate the time taken to observe the details; we are discussing ways to further improve the quality of service.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope you return to stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Wild Grass Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

We had a fabulous break in the jungle retreat called Wild Grass Nature Hotel. Our glassed room facing to the lake was very spacious and comfortable. And outdoor platform was an ideal to watch birds and others wild creatures, we were able to see a mouse deer, Large wild pig, and so many birds. We visited the Rock fortress Sigiriya and it was only 15 minutes drive from the hotel. Though we were in a jungle, we had everything in our room such as Wi-Fi, TV, Hot water, Mini cooler, good air conditioning, and a small book collection. Food was fantastic especially, Sri Lankan Curries and rice and breakfast was awesome. Servicing staff and the manager are doing a very good job. All are very friendly and attentive. We were looked after very well. Certainly, we are hoping to come back to this little haven.

Room tip: Lake front Villas are nice
Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayanthi S, Director of Sales at Wild Grass Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015


Dear Michael,

Thanks so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and understood our concept of Luxury with Nature at your doorstep! We are delighted that you got to see some of the smaller mammals found in and around the property along with the host of local and migrant birds. We have kept much of the property in its original jungle form so that it will be home to the wildlife and our guests can enjoy being close to nature. I will pass on your good comments to our team in the hotel as well as they will be delighted to hear that you were well looked after.

Please do come and stay with us again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Best wishes,

Wild Grass Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We stayed three nights in this amazing place. the cottage that we stayed in was fantastic and surrounded by greenish vegetation and rich wild life. as it was the migration period of birds we so plenty of them.food was extremely good and very tasty. staff was very very friendly and was at our service all the time. this is one of the best places i have ever visited in the world. Every thing was perfect.defiantly we will came back.

Room tip: i think all the rooms similar to our villa
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garrat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayanthi S, Director of Sales at Wild Grass Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Garrat,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted that you stayed 3 nights with us and got a chance to experience and enjoy all that we have to offer. We are honored to be the best hotel you have stayed in - it has been a privilege to have had you stay with us. This is a great time to visit us as you have mentioned due to the arrival of the migrant birds and our gardens and forests around the hotel are a perfect haven for these birds.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Wild Grass team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

For anyone who enjoys birds this is the place for you! Within minutes we had seen Hornbills and a Fish Eagle! The resident manager is a mine of information and a very enthusiastic birder. The accommodation was perfect, with amazing views across open ground. We loved the bathroom and the layout of the living space. We were the only visitors in the hotel, and the staff were very attentive, I feel they would have been the same if the hotel had been full. A wonderful and memorable visit, wished we could have stayed longer to spend more time birding!

Room tip: I should every room is fantastic, all are very private.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jenspen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayanthi S, Director of Sales at Wild Grass Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a enjoyable stay with us at Wild Grass Nature Resort. We have worked hard to ensure that our hotel is eco friendly and blends in with the nature around us. As you say we have many species of birds in our gardens and our naturalist ensures that our guests get a chance to see as many of them as possible.

We constantly strive to train our staff to offer the best service possible to our guests and we are glad that they were able to make your stay a memorable one.

We do hope you will visit again for a longer stay.

Warm wishes,

Wild Grass team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I was after somewhere a little bit different to the larger hotel chains in the area, and Wild Grass seemed to fit the bill. However, we found it to be a strange place which didn't meet our expectations. The lodges are definitely in need of updating and not very well laid out, with the ground floor 'living space' just very hot and not comfortable to relax in. The food was not good at all and the staff were all rather vague. It was one of the most expensive places we stayed in Sri Lanka and although not unpleasant, it was definitely our least favourite.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayanthi S, Director of Sales at Wild Grass Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear Guest,

While thanking you for taking the time to review our property, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as you expected with us.

Since your travel in April, we have improved our service to a great level and our staff have been trained to serve better. The room which has the living room area downstairs was set up with the idea of letting fresh air from the windows to come through to the room as something different to having an air-conditioned space. We also have single-level villas and if you had expressed a preference for this type we could have accommodated you here.

The concern about the food have been noted and we have addressed this by bringing in new chefs and introducing a better and more varied food experience, including a full Sri Lankan menu.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Best wishes,

Wild Grass Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews