We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 116
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 198
USD 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 78
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sigiriya(Sigiriya)
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 431
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
135
41
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
41
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housenational animalsingle bitunesco heritageopen airjungle hideawayeco lodgesri lankasigiriya rocksurrounding forestbuffalo milknight walkslender lorispol samboltreehouse roomlovely little hotelkaudulla national park
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

A good place to stay for those visiting Sigiriya, Dambulla, and Pollonaruwa. Rustic - no aircon but comfortable - with hot water and internet (spotty connection, which is to be expected if you are in the middle of the "jungle." Staff and service are very good. Perfect for those who want to relax and stay off the grid (for a bit) but want to be able to reach popular destinations within 10 to 20 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for the tree house if you have the budget.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RE_S_Ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Back of Beyond Pidurangala is called 'Jungle Hideaway' and we soon found out why as its hardly visible to the road and hidden away in the lush jungle surrounding Sigiriya rock. One of the main attractions was that it was within walking distance of both Sigiria and Pidurangala. We stayed in both the treehouse as well as one of the cottages - and both were outstanding. The treehouse is amazing if you want to truly enjoy connecting with nature and if you want a bit more privacy and walls around you, then the cottage is perfect. Both had bathrooms that let you stare out into the surrounding jungle as you showered which was so amazing. The service was excellent and we found the manager Thusith to be so very friendly and attentive to our needs. He makes sure to escort all guests on as many walking tours as possible and we were lucky to have his guidance on the Pidurangala mountain climb to watch the sunset, which was one of the most amazing sights we've ever seen! The food was simply superb and we loved the cooling juices and lemonade which was always at hand to cool us down after coming back from our expeditions. Another cool thing to do was the bicycle trip to 'Thalkote weva' which is tank nearby where you can see the magnificent Sigiriya and Pidurangala rocks in the distance and their majestic reflection in the still blue waters of Thalkote tank which is surrounded by lush green paddy fields - what a sight!

Room Tip: If you have never stayed in a treehouse before dont be afraid to give it a go! It'll be one of the best memories you will make!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mandidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the tree house. The experience was exotic, we were literally staying in the middle of the forest (open-air), with insects, squirrels and all other sorts of wildlife as accompaniment. Two wild elephants even walked past our tree house in the early morning! The facilities were however a little run-down - linen, towels and furniture looked a little old and yellow.

Staff was friendly, very hardworking, helpful and ensured we were well-fed during our stay. Overall interesting experience!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffany_T_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Staying in a wonderful tree house with the sounds and feel of the jungle all around was amazing - we loved it. Thusitha and his staff were brilliant - I was ill while we were there and I was offered constant caring and kindness. Thusitha was a wonderful guide for a bird walk, loris walk, and climbing Pidurangula Rock as well. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was consistently delicious, and though down-to-earth, was served with care and style. Thank you for a really good 5 days in the jungle. We very much appreciated the strong eco and conservation policies of Back of Beyond, and the supply of good drinking water to fill up our own bottles rather than endlessly throwing away plastic bottles.

Room Tip: Stay in a tree house if you possibly can.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pennym145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Waking up to bird/nature sounds each morning. Our treehouse was amazing. Healthy simple local meals catered to our taste. The staff very friendly, helpful and attentive, always going the extra mile with a smile on their face....they even made a scrumptious birthday cake at our request! Amazing setting surrounded by nature and archeological marvels, full of ancient art and temples. Good for walks/hikes. Ideal for outdoor yoga.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nelum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews