We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place.....”
Review of Thidas Arana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thidas Arana
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came during the low season to spend only 1 night, but it was fantastic. The rooms are breathtaking, The view as well.... it was an experience to see the sun rising through the forest from our beds (my advice: take the rooms on the top floors!). The staff was friendly and very helping, Nothing to complain about. A great experience.

Room Tip: Fantastic view from the rooms on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked for ourselves and 2 other couples, for a one night stay on our tour through Sri Lanka. We wish we could have stayed longer.
The grounds of this hotel are beautiful, like a 5 star resort and the pool is clean and upmarket, surrounded by paddy fields and palm trees, a tropical paradise.

Upon arrival, we had a (sweet!) welcome drink and were checked in by very attentive staff in saris. They were so polite and made us feel very welcome.

The rooms themselves were stunning! Chalet style suites with balconies overlooking the adjoining paddy fields. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower and toilet facilities were very modern and chic. Towels very clean and toiletries provided (including dental kits! - nice touch!)

Bed were clean and comfortable. (If you are a light sleeper, bring an eye mask, it gets light quickly)

Just don't leave the balcony door open in the evening or you will have some harmless bugs in there with you! (it is the jungle after all!)

The room came with fridge/mini bar and tea and coffee facilities (which is always pleasant, as sometimes you just want a cuppa on the balcony)

The breakfast was delicious, and again wonderful service, The same for the dinner menu, we all had fantastic food in the covered restaurant area.

The rooms provide umbrellas, just in case, which is very thoughtful. They also did my laundry for me and returned it within the same day.

I would most definitely return to Thidas Arana and I will definitely recommend to friends and family travelling in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Upper floors were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alyah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This place I will be returning to again! Its was my first time here also and will not be my last! A nice mix of old and new and the staff friendly and help and all your dinning cutlery spotless!
The food was great and well presented with tea coming in a tea pot and lots of it! On my next trip I will try and stay here as this part of the place has just been build.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

The staff geve us the best possible service of our trip, we were very exhausted because we had to start at 2am we reached the hotel around 7.30 they quickly did our chick in and mede sure we rest.
We wanted a late dinner and without any hesitations they arranged it, the tank fish curry was fantastic and the breakfast was superb.
The hotel is located on the main polonnaruwa road and is very close to all the historical places.
This is one beautiful property and very well maintained very big rooms with hugh bathrooms the view is also fantastic very relaxing.
I will definitely be back, best of luck

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ruchitha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

After visiting the historical site this can be an experience to go for a typical lunch . They serve very good meals with different curries and note that the curries are not too spicy. Food is served in clay pots in most of the time to keep the real fast. The deserts were great as most of them were typical ones. The fruit juices are made from fresh fruit from the same area and it's more seasonal

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sajith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
2.4 km away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
133 reviews
6.3 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
551 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
69 reviews
5.4 km away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
446 reviews
0.8 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thidas Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thidas Arana

Address: 23rd Mile Post | Bendiwewa, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thidas Arana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thidas Arana is a Luxury echo friendly hotel with a Asian/western Restaurant and Bar ,located close to the ancient city of Polonnaruwa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Thidas Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing