We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
276
234
73
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
234
73
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showersri lankagiritale lakeopen airloved this hotelbeautiful hotelset menua la carteswimming poolluxury hotelcultural trianglepool attendantclose to naturepublic areasreception areaenjoyed our staybuffet dinner
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is a very beautiful looking hotel inside and out.
As you arrive at dusk it’s dimly lit which makes the whole place look gorgeous. The main reception is not obvious. It looks and feels like a reception but we stood a while waiting to find out where to check in.
The rooms were stunning. We had a cottage by the pool and at the back of the bedroom was a door that led you into a massive semi-outdoor space which was as big as the bedroom. It had a rain shower and a jacuzzi/bath with three huge trees and the ceiling built into the tree trunks. So no AC and you are literally kind of outside but protected from bugs with a see through ceiling. Amazing.
There are two gorgeous pools on different layers and next to the bar and restaurant. There’s also a huge green area with small pools and tables and sun beds with incredible views overlooking the beautiful lake opposite.

The food on offer is superb with a buffet and a la carte but there were a few downsides which pains me to mention.

Firstly - the spa. This is the centre of ayuverdic heaven. Sri Lanka is all about spas and treatments. It’s incredible that there’s a huge gym here, gorgeous pools and public spaces but the spa is literally a small miserable room with a bed in - in what seems to be one of the bungalows converted from a bedroom. And not cheap. Really could be amazing but totally misses the mark.

Secondly - admittedly a ridiculous first world problem which really isn’t the end of the world - but the WiFi was appalling. Everybody seemed to be complaining and nothing could be done. It’s unusual these days so I hope they fix it.

Thirdly - this is such a beautiful unique hotel it’s a shame they accept group bookings. And I mean massive group bookings. Of course Sigirya and Dambulla are so close and so it’s a great location but when we were there so were two coach loads of Chinese tourists. This meant they totally dominated the restaurant and even the staff advised us to eat after they had left. Fine but this meant there was very poor levels of food leftover and it was actually so bad, we decided to have the a la carte which was more expensive. In fact anyone British eating later was also eating the a la carte which doesn’t feel right.

The same thing happened in the morning with breakfast but we had no option to eat what was left. I would say this is a major criticism because even if the food was depleted the staff should’ve been filling it up. There was a lot of staff but they just seemed to run around clearing tables. Just one poor chap left managing the omelette, eggs, bacon and sausage cooking stations - and he was run off his feet. I had to ask several people for more beans, more bacon, the milk was empty, no orange juice left and the fruit was so licked over with just a few pieces left on each plate. Not nice and not acceptable.

A shame though because in every other way this hotel is lovely and the staff I spoke to admitted the big coach groups are a problem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Deer Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Deer Park.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Deer Park and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We have made arrangements and changes to how we should operate when large group
arrive and we will make sure that this is not repeated

We have shared your comments and review with the entire team as well

Warm Regards
Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Deer park hotel was very nice. Buffet breakfast and dinner, lots of choice sri lankan, italian, also a la carte menu available, staff very friendly. Room spacious with shower and bath, all very clean. We were surprised to be the only couple around during day as mainly groups who are up and off on tours. Pool area nice. The hotel overlooks a pretty lake. It is a bit isolated although we walked to next hotel for lunch one day - took us about 15 mins left out of hotel and up a steepish hill and was very nice,

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aleishacac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Deer Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Guest

Greetings from Deer Park.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and we have shared your comments with the staff and their are thrilled.

We at Deer Park are committed to delight and create a WOW factor for all our gust and we thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor

Regards

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We were in this hotel one night. Such a beautiful area. Excellent breakfast and dinner service. Excellent rooms with large bathroom. Really friendly staff. Support for everything. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank rasika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Deer Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Guest

Greetings from Deer Park.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us

We at Deer Park are committed to delight and create a WOW factor for all our gust and we thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor

We thank you for taking the time to rate us


Regards

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is truly outstanding. We had the most fantastic stay there. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a quirky jungle type open roof bathroom (but all enclosed so nothing nasty can get in.)
The pool area is beautiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the monkeys and chipmunks in the trees. They never came to close or became a nuisance.
The hotel ground were beautiful and well maintained. And there was a very relaxed and tranquil atmosphere that we loved.
The restaurant has a buffet or a la Carte menu options, and the food was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was prompt but very relaxed.
The manager, Roy Wootler, was very kind and helpful. I was traveling with my daughter and was apprehensive about arranging tours and a private driver. Roy helped me to arrange everything. And arranged a wonderful driver to travel with us for 6 days, at an extremely good price. Our drivers name was Nadeesha, he was not only a fantastic and safe driver, he also took good care of us everywhere we went, ensuring that we was happy and that nobody took advantage of us. Nadeesha also suggested places to visit and the best times of day to enjoy the locations. Roy also continued to call us during our tour to ensure we was ok.
Roy and Nadeesha helped make our holiday perfect, and we will never forget there kindness. We stayed at lots of other hotels during our Sri Lankan tour, but The Deer Park was by far the best, with the most genuine people I have ever met.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank natalie7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Deer Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely detailed review and for rating us

We are super happy to see the review and have shared your comments Specially with Mr. Roy and Nadeesha and the rest of the team.

Once again thank you for choosing Deer Park and may we kindly request you to contact us before planing your next trip to Sri Lanka so that we could make your stay even more memorable.

Warm Regards

Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

very beautiful place. But inside of hotel room environment is very poor. HAVE A LOT OF MOSQUITO and no mosquito prevent service at the hotel, I call to the lobby they tell me no help for that. also my aunt's have find a mouse at night. It is one of very bad experience at Sri Lanka vacation and I suggest everybody do not come here !!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YuchenTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIM N, Chief Operating Officer at Deer Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Deer Park.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Deer Park and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

As you may have noticed, the property is strategically located facing the biggest lake and on the other side of it being a reservation filled with flora and fauna.

At Deer Park, we have all preventive measure taken for fogging for Mosquitoes and Insect repellents placed without causing any harm to the nature and to the wide range of species from 2 types of Monkey herds, Squirrels, Rock Squalls and many species of birds, herds of Elephants which you can see from the Lobby or the Restaurant or in the case of lake front rooms, directly from your room balcony and the occasional rats which you will as we like to preserve the same and keep in harmony with nature.

May I remind you that we have beefed up all preventive measures

Warm Regards
Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews