We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
155
107
23
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
107
23
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut cake the owner sri lankan hoppers the main road hot water nice balcony curries family run resort great place to stay ancient ruins basic hotel family owners heavy rain swimming pool is non ac fair price quiet area
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed in Polonnaruwa at Seyara for two nights and found Seyara very good. The hosts were warm, friendly and very helpful. We had limited time to do all of the things we wanted to but this proved to be no problem. No sooner had we arrived than we were organised and off on the elephant safari (which was a must do for us) at Minnerya. Dinner at the resort was very good homestyle Sri Lankan buffet. Breakfast the same - great choice of western or tasty Sri Lankan string hoppers or coconut pancakes. This is great as eating options are limited in Polonnaruwa. Our bikes were organised for us and enabled us a long day of temples and ruins with relaxing by the pool in the late afternoon. Rooms are large, airy, simple but very clean and with a nice balcony. We also had AC in our room. The next day we organised a driver to Kandy from the hotel. A truly family run resort. Great value for money. I would give another half star if I could. Relatively quiet and not on the main road - down a laneway.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Persephone121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Good hotel, value for money, friendly staff, Bigger rooms, Has a pool & enough parking.
Good breakfast. Good Bathrooms. Unfortunately some rooms doesnt have a TV. Closeby the ruins and other polular destinations in Polonnaruwa

Room Tip: No TV in some rooms
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This hotel staff are lovely and friendly. The pool is very refreshing as it is super hot, and the rooms are basic but clean and have what you need.

We stayed here for two nights, the breakfast was not good but the evening buffet was lovely. The wifi is very poor, non existent for the iPhone, but it wasn't needed for us, but if you have work to do then this is not the place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our trip. It was a good location just slightly out of the main town so it was very quiet and peaceful. This is family run and the family were very welcoming and let us check out late to use the pool the morning we left before travelling to Trincomalee. It is simple and exactly what you expect for the price. The breakfast (egg hoppers for us) was plentiful as was the evening buffet which was again good value. The pool was a welcome relief after a hot day and the staff were warm and attentive. For the price this is a good choice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in July with our six year old child. From the moment we arrived the service and welcome was first class.

Our room was large and airy with a great balcony.

The pool was perfect for a early morning dip and to cool of after a day's sight seeing.

The food was a highlight. Great selection of curries for the evening buffet and a quintessential egg hopper with Dahl and pol sambal for breakfast.

The staff helped organise our tour of the cultural sites and also arranged a car to Kandy with stops at Sigiriya and Dambulla.

One of our favourite stays in Sri Lanka!!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Culture499712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews