We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
124
171
88
54
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
171
88
54
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparakrama samudrawater buffalowelcome drinkpool deckthe ground floorreception staffsri lankalobby areaancient citybeautiful locationwild elephantslakeruinstanksitesbike
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed one night after a long day of driving and sightseeing. The room was clean. The view from our little patio of the lake was amazing in the morning, I wish we hadn't missed the sunset there. We sat and watched elephants on the far side of the lake in the morning, along with hundreds of birds.

Room Tip: The A/C was loud as a truck. Bring bugspray near the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The staff at this hotel will treat you like "that annoying section of the general public who insist on staying at hotels" including the Manager who is complaining about his own hotel !

Broken Tiles at the Pool will provide you bleeding scars in your legs which is a quite unique experience for the premium prices plus TAX you pay.

The Rooms will it blows your head off! with no renovations for decades (Yes i mean decades not years !) the Minibar in the room will have exploding glass bottles due to two decade old fridges. Noisy A/Cs with broken swings.

The Only Good Thing is the location as central to ancient city.

Room Tip: Does not recommend to stay
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

The hotel is hidden away so is difficult to find so you have to keep your eyes open when looking for it. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and helpful as all Sri Lankans are. The hotel itself is tucked away but looks great on the outside and on the inside looks nice as well. The room we had was very well sized with a great bed and small but working well bathroom. Our room could have done with some decoration though as it was looking a little tired. We had a fantastic view so there is no problem getting a room with that. There are plenty of historical sites, old temples etc to visit if that's what you are into. We had a driver who new where to go but would suggest checking the internet and planning your trip well before going. Most sites require an entry fee (Non Sri Lankans pay a price) but some sites are open and would suggest visiting in the early evening when cooler. Beautiful lake with stunning views day and night just mile down the road. Food OK but better with the buffet instead of the menu as there is better choice with a buffet.

Room Tip: No tips really required as all rooms look over lake,
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The location on the edge of the lake is stunning . Lovely pool and deck , beautiful to sit outside and watch wildlife . Lots of monkeys and birds and elephants in the distance ( they came right up to the wire fence at night time - we missed that !) Room was very comfortable and clean . We had curry and rice for dinner which was probably the best we’ve had in Sri Lanka . Lovely staff . A beautiful tranquil and calm place - would have loved to have stayed another night !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pipjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Hotel was a bit disappointing, and in desperate need of updating. Rooms were large, but tired and poorly maintained. Food was ok, but not great. Location was beautiful and very peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would go elsewhere if we returned...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Peggy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews