We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and unique area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachael S
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and unique area”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Victoria bungalow resort for 10 days. It was a great location to explore Kandy and the surrounding area. We visited a lot of places with the help of Ajantha who manages the property. He took us to Nurawa Eliya to see the tea plantations and magnificent mountain views; Sigiriya Rock; Elephant Safari and many more places. We enjoyed the wonderful wildlife where the bungalow is located too and the sounds of nature every morning when we woke up. If you want to know the best places to visit, ask Ajantha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Victoria Bungalow, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konaeko
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted including mischevious monkeys and beautiful birds!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This large 4 bedroom bungalow is clean and comfortable, located in a tastefully landscaped, gated community near the historic city of Kandy, in the Victoria Mountain region if central Sri Lanka.

The bungalow is situated at the forest edge of the community which is a great advantage. We were entertained daily by a delightful troupe of monkeys, and were able to photograph an interesting and lovely array of birds. There were also numerous visits from the endangered giant squirrels, which was a rare privilege.

A short walk away, but within the community, is a large swimming pool and fitness facility free for your pleasure. Also at this site is a restaurant for your convenience, if you do not want to cook in the kitchen at the bungalow.

This location was ideal for us as a "home base" from which we travelled out to many of the fascinating historical sites. We also went on several extended trips to the coastal areas and various amazing parks to view wildlife or enjoy the clean, warm waters and lovely beaches . We then returned to the bungalow to do laundry, rest up and plan our next adventures in this most beautiful of countries.

We were very fortunate to have a local gentleman recommended as a driver which enabled us to travel far more extensively and with much greater ease than we had anticipated. He was very knowledgeable and considerate. He became our tour guide, translator, chaperone, and shopping assistant. He helped us choose restaurants and hotel accommodation when away from the bungalow, and helped plan our travels to make the best use of our time there. We felt safe and pampered travelling with him as he took us on several extended trips to Yala, Galle Fort, Trincomalee, Sigiriya, and many other unforgettable destinations in this fascinating "Land Like No Other". To make the most of your visit ask for Ajantha to be your driver and guide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, cool and comfortable, central location, and the wildlife!!
Liked least: Having to return home...........
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Hi pat, we hope this will be a very helpful review for all of our new guests.
Thank you pat and you are welcome again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat L
1 review
“Living in this peaceful bungalow is like living in your own personal bird sancturary.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A clean, cool and comfortable accommodation in a beautifully landscaped, gated community near Kandy in the lovely Victoria Mountains. A short walk away is the large pool, clubhouse and exercise facility, available free for your enjoyment. There is also a restaurant for the days you do not want to cook in the well equipped kitchen.

Nestled in an old plantation where pepper, coconut, and jackfruit were cultivated for many years, dozens of species of birds surround the bungalow. The bungalow gardens overlook a village paddyfield below. There are lovely walks in the area as well as a wonderful infinity swimming pool with a view of the knuckles range. Emerald doves, hornbills, and barbets alight on the trees around the pool.

There is a restuarant at the pool site, and it is possible to hire a cook from the local village to cook for you in the bungalow. The two drivers who are linked to this property are both excellent. This is the perfect location for day trips out to see the waterfalls, temples, and tea plantations, and can serve as a base for trips out to archaeological sites and wildlife reserves as well.

I hope very much to return to this special place on my next visit to the Kandyan Hill Country. I give this my highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the cleanliness, the helpfulness of the staff.
Liked least: Must close windows when you go out or monkeys may enter.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thanks Pat, We are always ready to make comfort you. see you again at Victoria bungalow in your next visit of Sri Lanka. Thanks again. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TVan2014
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing, and a great driver recommendation as well!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This spacious bungalow is away from the noise and pollution of the city, yet close enough to enjoy all that Kandy and area has to offer. Only 5 minutes walk to the clubhouse, restaurant and pool. We awoke each morning to marvel at the sights and sounds of nature, including many varieties of beautiful birds! Of all the places we stayed in Sri Lanka, this bungalow rates top for cleanliness, tranquil sleep (top quality sheets and towels) and peaceful relaxation.
When we booked this bungalow, we were lucky to receive a driver recommendation as well, who turned out to be an excellent tour guide, and a highly competent, safe driver as well! We ended up hiring him for our entire visit to Sri Lanka, and his knowledge and experience were a huge asset! Be sure to ask for Ajantha when you are inquiring about this bungalow!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful natural surroundings.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you and we are always welcoming you to Victoria Bungalow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 181
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing