We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
320
68
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
68
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitethe riverstunning viewsthe ownersri lankatuk tukcurriesboutique hotelprivate balconysteep climbfruit batsthe main housesmall hotellovely roomstayed here for nightspeaceful placenarrow road
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed at Villa for four nights at the beginning of April. The journey from Kandy itself took us up into the hills and a very steep winding road (we spent a lot of time wondering if our tuk tuk or taxi would make it! ) On reaching the villa you are greeted with the most amazing views looking out over the river and beyond. Villa rosa feels like a family home. It has a very relaxed and tranquil feel. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a wonderful four poster bed and large bathroom (again with amazing views). There was also a balcony with an outdoor bath. We were greeted with drinks and a warm welcome. The service was friendly and non intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble, from being taken into Kandy in the villa's restored Volkswagen to arranging trips, drinks and breakfast in our room. You can also take a trip down to a nearby hotel for the day to relax by the pool and the hotel will take you and pick you up. The food - dinner and breakfast was excellent and with prior notice the villa will cook western food but the Sri Lankan rice and curry was always delicious. Breakfast was fresh fruit, toast and eggs cooked to order.
We went into Kandy to the botanical gardens and the temple of the tooth as well as a trip to Sigiriya.
We loved Villa Rosa. We miss the view and the sounds and the people. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is large with great bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

the food was outstanding, the service top-notch, and the grounds and rooms impeccable. we enjoyed our stay so much and loved the chance to use the pool at a luxury hotel nearby as part of being a guest with the villa rosa - a great arrangement. the staff and owner are wonderful -kind, respectful and very helpful. the bed was very comfortable and the rooms are large and with lots of windows. the grounds are beautiful and the views spectacular, and especially enjoyable to take in while eating on of there incredibly fresh, home cooked meals. with traveled with our young son and and they made us feel like family.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmouse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This hotel is located on the hill west of the city, slightly out of the buzz and noise of downtown Kandy. That gives you a peaceful night’s rest and some great views but it does mean you will always need a vehicle to get you somewhere. Luckily the hotel has its own tuk-tuk that will drop you in Kandy and the ride back is very affordable. The hotel staff gave us with a price range to help in our negotiating efforts (LKR150 - 200).

One notable thing was that the staff tried to apply pressure to us to have dinner at the hotel. However, we were travelling with friends that stayed at a different hotel so we chose to head out for dinner and the staff refused to help us with a reservation. I understand that people often eat dinner at their hotel when travelling in Sri Lanka but I still expect a basic level of service when staying at a hotel, even when not having dinner there.

Overall we had a good experience at Villa Rosa, with contributions from friendly staff (barring the above) and a good breakfast. A short summary of the pro's and con's:

Pro's
- Location and views
- Very good WIFI (amongst the best we had in Sri Lanka)
- Reasonable breakfast, helped by the view onto the valley

Cons:
- The hotel does not have a pool, which could be a problem in the summer
- No driver accommodation
- Distance to town (as discussed)
- Pressure from staff to eat dinner at the hotel

PS: Be warned that it is a very steep drive to get to the hotel and our driver had some trouble getting all the way up and down.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We stayed at beautiful Villa Rosa in November. It's an oasis of calm above the hustle of the city, an absolute pleasure to return to each day. The views over the river and the city are spectacular, one of the best breakfast spots in Sri Lanka in my opinion. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming, unobtrusive staff. Rooms are comfy and spotless. If you choose to stay here, I promise you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojdd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at Villa Rosa, it was sublime.
The room was comfortable large with a wonderful deck over looking the river. Extremely picturesque.
The staff very friendly competent and helpful. They obviously enjoy their work.
The food was excellent, breakfast and dinners, we were out for lunch. Delicious food authentic and fresh.
Highly recommend the property.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gypsy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews