We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place!”
Review of Villa Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Rosa
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Having visited Kandy a few years back, it was clearly apparent that much of the charm of the city was in the surrounding hills and on a return visit we were determined to seek out a hillside location. We wanted to take in the last of the Perahera and were pleased when we were able to get a reservation at Villa Rosa; our choice was made on the reviews of the TA Forum. Reviews favourably indicated a great Sri Lankan experience in a boutique lodge like setting and of course the wonderful food- we were not to be disappointed! Before arriving there was very good communication from Volker over our booking and all questions were promptly and succinctly answered.
We travelled from Dambulla- the place we had been at was pricey and sadly lacked the Sri Lanka experience we were after. So many establishments in the country serve western style food that has come frozen from thousands of miles away and is tastelss and flavourless (and expensive). Not so at Villa Rosa!
Kandy during the Perahera is a bustling noisy place; a sharp contrast to the peace and tranquility of the Villa. When you first arrive the road up is quite daunting but you soon come to realise that it forms a barrier between your sanctury, the Villa, and the rabble outside. One of the many charns of the place is the resident tuk tuk service and although geographically it may be a distance between the Villa and dowwntown Kandy, you can get into town anytime you like on the tuk tuk - we never had to wait and it is only a few minutes into town even at the hight of the Perahera. Getting back is very easy- all the tuk tuk drivers know Villa Rosa; it costs but a few dollars and is so much fun!
Others have reviewed the Villa. Think Somerset Maugham; a large, very quiet residence, perhaps from the Edwardian Era, beautiful parquet flooring. high ceilings, great common spaces. Our room overlooked the Mahaweli River- a wonderful vista. It is a very comfortable and intimate place; we felt totally relaxed- it was great to chat with other guests in the lounge and as so often is found at places like Villa Rosa, there seemed to be like minded travellers keen to share their Sri Lanka experiences. While there we met couples, families, solo travellers- most there for the Perahera. You can be as social or private as you like. The area is surrounded by vegetation; the peacefulness at dawn and dusk is only interrupted by the distant chanting from the nearby monastry, the birds and the insects. Some will fault the place and perhaps it is not for everybody; yes, the view of the Sydney Opera House is not the best, the 2 hour drycleaning service was not available during our stay, and only the 06 Dom Perignon was avialable. Volker assured us that these minor deficiencies would be recified before our next visit! Any requirement we had was quickly met by the team and the Villa provided everything we needed.
Perhaps the feature of Villa Rosa is the food. The curry served at dinner is to die for and by far the best food we had in Sri Lanka. I am writing this review from a very expensive lodge (3 times the price of Villa Rosa) near Hatton where the food is not a patch on Villa Rosa. Take the half board package- it is extremely good value for money. We had the opportunity of going with Nilanka to the market in Kandy to purchase the food for the Villa. It was a great insight into the vast array of wonderful local ingredients available and one struggles to understand with what Sri Lanka has,why so many places keep serving up smoked salmon and steak. Villa Rosa seems to be one of the very few who have got it right. I am convinced that the success of this place is due to the European/Sri Lankan cooperation; maybe this is what is not found elsewhere?
We enjoyed a swim at the property nearby that has a large pool- the Villa has a great arrangement with this place. Nilanka took us down in the tuk tuk and on the way back he stopped to let us have an up close experience with one of the Perahera elephants cooling off in a roadside stream- something we will never forget!
If you chose to stay elsewhere on your Kandy visit then you will be missing out, We really enjoyed Villa Rosa and wished our stay had been longer. Thank you to Volker, Nilanka and the Villa Rosa team- you people do it so well!

Room Tip: We loved room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed at Villa for four nights at the beginning of April. The journey from Kandy itself took us up into the hills and a very steep winding road (we spent a lot of time wondering if our tuk tuk or taxi would make it! ) On reaching the villa you are greeted with the most amazing views looking out over the river and beyond. Villa rosa feels like a family home. It has a very relaxed and tranquil feel. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a wonderful four poster bed and large bathroom (again with amazing views). There was also a balcony with an outdoor bath. We were greeted with drinks and a warm welcome. The service was friendly and non intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble, from being taken into Kandy in the villa's restored Volkswagen to arranging trips, drinks and breakfast in our room. You can also take a trip down to a nearby hotel for the day to relax by the pool and the hotel will take you and pick you up. The food - dinner and breakfast was excellent and with prior notice the villa will cook western food but the Sri Lankan rice and curry was always delicious. Breakfast was fresh fruit, toast and eggs cooked to order.
We went into Kandy to the botanical gardens and the temple of the tooth as well as a trip to Sigiriya.
We loved Villa Rosa. We miss the view and the sounds and the people. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is large with great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

the food was outstanding, the service top-notch, and the grounds and rooms impeccable. we enjoyed our stay so much and loved the chance to use the pool at a luxury hotel nearby as part of being a guest with the villa rosa - a great arrangement. the staff and owner are wonderful -kind, respectful and very helpful. the bed was very comfortable and the rooms are large and with lots of windows. the grounds are beautiful and the views spectacular, and especially enjoyable to take in while eating on of there incredibly fresh, home cooked meals. with traveled with our young son and and they made us feel like family.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmouse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This hotel is located on the hill west of the city, slightly out of the buzz and noise of downtown Kandy. That gives you a peaceful night’s rest and some great views but it does mean you will always need a vehicle to get you somewhere. Luckily the hotel has its own tuk-tuk that will drop you in Kandy and the ride back is very affordable. The hotel staff gave us with a price range to help in our negotiating efforts (LKR150 - 200).

One notable thing was that the staff tried to apply pressure to us to have dinner at the hotel. However, we were travelling with friends that stayed at a different hotel so we chose to head out for dinner and the staff refused to help us with a reservation. I understand that people often eat dinner at their hotel when travelling in Sri Lanka but I still expect a basic level of service when staying at a hotel, even when not having dinner there.

Overall we had a good experience at Villa Rosa, with contributions from friendly staff (barring the above) and a good breakfast. A short summary of the pro's and con's:

Pro's
- Location and views
- Very good WIFI (amongst the best we had in Sri Lanka)
- Reasonable breakfast, helped by the view onto the valley

Cons:
- The hotel does not have a pool, which could be a problem in the summer
- No driver accommodation
- Distance to town (as discussed)
- Pressure from staff to eat dinner at the hotel

PS: Be warned that it is a very steep drive to get to the hotel and our driver had some trouble getting all the way up and down.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We stayed at beautiful Villa Rosa in November. It's an oasis of calm above the hustle of the city, an absolute pleasure to return to each day. The views over the river and the city are spectacular, one of the best breakfast spots in Sri Lanka in my opinion. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming, unobtrusive staff. Rooms are comfy and spotless. If you choose to stay here, I promise you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojdd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.1 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
2.4 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
3.0 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
2.8 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.1 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: 71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kandy
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Asgiriya
Rosa Hotel Asgiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing