We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
420
727
291
63
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
727
291
63
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kandy lake pool area sri lanka great view new wing balcony door nice pool buffet dinner overlooking the lake lovely hotel stayed here for nights restaurant staff buffet style tooth relic temple top floor rooms are large one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. We were out most of the day so only really slept in the hotel and had the breakfast which was tasty enough. The room was spacious and clean although we didn't have a balcony and much of a view but as we were out all day this didn't bother us.

Only downside was they only give 2 small water bottles per day, any extra are charged and sometimes there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom drains. On the 2nd night our electricity also went out we called reception and they sent someone to fix it straight away.

Apart from that it was fine. Bed was comfortable and staff were pleasant too.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Shy A,

It brings us great pleasure to know that your recent stay at our hotel was enjoyable. We truly appreciate your generous feedback and we would like to share with you that loyal guests like you are the ones who make our team feel proud.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; we look forward to welcoming you once again for another memorable stay and to explore the Kandy more in future.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We were traveling with 3 young kids and booked the suite for 1 night. The room was basic but very spacious so perfect for a family with young kids. The ac wasn't great though as only cooling part of the room.
The room was clean.
We tried the diner buffet and it was fine. Nice staff, enough choice of dishes to find something you like (some of them far too spicy for our liking though), nice setting.
The pool area isn't big but actually it seems to be sufficient, we were the only ones in the pool that morning. The lifeguard was really kind and went to get balls for the kids.
Overall nice experience for our short stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fm_35566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

It brings us great pleasure to know that your recent stay at our hotel was enjoyable. We truly appreciate your generous feedback. Please accept our sincere apologized for the unexpected experienced due to the air conditioning of the room.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; we look forward have the privilege to welcome you on your next visit and will assure to make your stay a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This is my second time at this hotel and I am very satisfied about my stay here. The staff is great! The food is good. The room and the bathroom need some improving but overall nlce hotel with amazing staff!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank MarcelOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear MarcelOslo,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor!

It was an honor to have you with us on your return stay at Thilanka Hotel, We are truly happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you our commitment to hospitality and that you enjoyed the excellent service provided by our team and we are truly grateful by your generous comments. My colleagues work tirelessly day by day to make all our guests feel home away from home, so it was heartwarming to read how content you were with the service they provided.

We look forward to welcoming you once again for another memorable stay in future.
.

Best Regards,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Was given a really nice spacious room,good bathroom and balcony.Pity there was no shelving to put clothes on. Food was great,staff were very helpful and polite.Monkeys can be seen making there way to town early mornings,also saw two mongoose playing by the pool at 6 am.Hotel is much bigger than it looks but has a cosy feel to it,would definately stay here next time in Kandy

Room Tip: There are signs saying keep wlndows and doors closed onto balconys ,monkeys will be in and steal something very quickly given the chance.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear John R,

It brings us great pleasure to know that your recent stay at our hotel was enjoyable. We truly appreciate your generous feedback and we would like to share with you that loyal guests like you are the ones who make our team feel proud.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience; We look forward to welcoming you once again for another memorable stay in future.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely welcome, the receptionist was very sweet and very helpful. The pool area was lovely, although not enough sun beds for the amount of people staying. Breakfast and evening meal good. Our room was a little tired, especially the bathroom. On their email it stated free shuttle to and from the railway station, we emailed to say the time of our train, but the shuttle wasn't there when we got to the station, so we just got a tuk tuk to the hotel, at our expense.On checkout we asked for the free shuttle, we felt they very reluctantly ordered us a tuk tuk, but the guy obviously worked for the hotel (he had a hotel shirt on), anyone who has been to Sri Lanka will know that tuk tuk drivers are very chatty, this driver did not say a word the whole way and when my wife was getting out with her heavy rucksack, he just stood and didn't offer to help at all, then just drove off without saying a word! So rude. We would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jands39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us; we truly appreciate your generous feedback.

Please allow me to express my apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay. Trust that we will personally investigate and take preventive actions against the area which needs to be improved of our services.

While we thanking you for taking time to write to us, we hope you will be consider to give us opportunity to prove and provide you a best delightful experience on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

You may contact me by fom@thilankahotel.com and I will be pleased to assist you.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews