We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 178
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 456
USD 74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 30
USD 23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 30/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 80
USD 69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hanthana House(Kandy)(Great Value!)
USD 27
USD 18
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 25/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 55
USD 47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 242
USD 231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 177
USD 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 375
USD 194
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
296
603
278
68
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
603
278
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakebilliard roomold world charmcolonial style hotelsri lankacolonial feeloverlooking the lakefourth floorbuffet stylebreakfast and dinnersacred toothswimming poolstandard roomrooms are largespecial thanksrestaurant staffstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Everything about this hotel spoke of old world courtesy from the charming welcome to the pool attendant who let us bathe early and furnished us with towels.

It was an oasis after the hustle and bustle of Kandy. The room was spacious and airy and the bathroom was magnificent. Dining was leisured and delicious. Again, the staff were exemplary.

I was sorry our schedule was such that we could only stay one night.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank cricket283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

If you want a hotel with character then the Suisse if for you. The staff were great, the pool was very nice and inside you have a lovely old hotel with big corridors and high ceilings. An old lift that takes you to the 3rd floor (our room was on the 4th) but what is a flight of stairs! and you would not see the lovely potted plant display in the lift. Our room was big and had great balcony, the bathroom was ok but could do with updating. The evening and breakfast buffet were good but nothing special, Beer and wine prices average for good Sri Lankan hotels. Watching monkey's playing on the balcony was great fun.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jowen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Jowen,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Hotel Suisse.

The actual building is a beautiful colonial building full of character. However the rooms are very dated with very basic amenities. On the positive side the rooms were spotless

The breakfast buffet is quite good with a good selection of local and western dishes and a couple of live cooking stations.

I did not have any other meal in the hotel and did not use the pool.

Location is great, 10 minutes walk to the centre of Kandy.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank persui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Would have probably been a great hotel 30 or more years ago. But during the past few decades very little seems to have been done to maintain and upgrade this hotel.

I had a deluxe room on the fourth floor with a balcony & views of the lake. But the lift only goes to the 3rd floor so it’s a walk up steep stairs to the room. And the balcony doors have gaps at the bottom that let in the hot air.

There is an aircon unit which sort of works although not that cool (& why a duvet on the bed in this hot & humid climate!). And there is a ceiling fan which is so noisy it cannot be left on at night or you would never sleep.

The rooms are large & the queen size bed is comfortable but the furniture is cheap & worn and needs replacing. The bathroom has a few new features but it is a bath/shower combination. The bath floor is very slippery so I had to stand on a towel when taking a shower so I wouldn’t slip - quite dangerous. The towels are pretty thin as well.

One night I tried room service which was a challenge. It took three calls to reception to actually get the menu as it was not available in my room. It then eventually took nearly one hour to get my food which was barely warm on arrival.

The breakfast buffet is very average. Another night we tried the evening buffet as we were told by the reception twice that it was included in our room rate that night. The selection was very good including a bbq selection & quite tasty. But then we were charged for the meal anyway. It wasn’t expensive but it was the principle that we were told more than once it was included.

There is an outdoor pool area which also needs attentions particularly the water feature. The family of crows flying around the pool area was like a metaphor for this hotel - pecking the remains of what was once a great property.

The photos make the hotel look better than it really is. It deserves someone to give it back its dignity & grandeur.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Good palace like 4 star hotel. Nothing bad to say. Spacious rooms, good hospitality etc. Good candle light dinner.good ambiance..
Good pool and only thiNg bad is that lift is far ... Dinner menu is Srilankan and continental..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mahesh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mr Mahesh,

Firstly, Let me Thank you for staying at Hotel Suisse and for the interest shown towards Suisse by spending your valuable time to give us a feedback! Your feedback is indeed very important to us in order for continuous growth.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews