We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely & spacious modern house in a tranquil...”
other travellers have booked this property
house from garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house from garden
house - front view house with verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
house from garden
house - front view
house with verandah
house entrance
verandah
bedroom with writing table
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen table
kitchen
Balcony
gallery with staircase
bathroom
bathroom
dining area
living
dining
Garden with mountain view
garden chairs
swing with lawn
a  trip to   Sigiriya paintings
elephants
Perahera in Kandy
lankathilaka
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MerikeM87
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely & spacious modern house in a tranquil setting with mountain vistas”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying in this house. We were already having a good time in Sri Lanka as we had successfully escaped the dreary weather back home in Scotland, but the majority of our accommodation until we got to this house was somewhat disappointing. So, it was both a relief and a joy to when we pulled up and saw the beautiful house and the picturesque setting!

The house is very spacious and has plenty of facilities! Hot water worked perfectly (unlike a couple of other places we had stayed in prior to this), the kitchen was well equipped, and the local shops weren't too far away (just a few minutes by tuk-tuk). I could tell the owners had put a lot of thought into the design of the house. The architecture is pleasing, but more importantly, it is a very liveable house as everything is laid out logically and the house gets good natural light.

There is a lovely, inviting balcony upstairs which I found myself being drawn to in the evenings. We both loved being able to relax there. Putting our feet up and being able to enjoy a cup of tea or a glass of wine while admiring the stunning view of the mountains in the distance was blissful! It was the perfect way to relax after a day of exploring historic Kandy or the botanical gardens in nearby Peradeniya. The veranda was also excellent for this.

Also, the booking process was seamless and a nice experience as the owner is very friendly and quick to respond to any queries.

We had a lovely time and we would certainly go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior space & the view!
Liked least: The house is on a hill so it was a steep (but short) climb when we returned from a walk in the local area. Though this isn't a problem normally as you would use a tuk-tuk.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avanoijen
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“The outside is beautifull, the inside is old fashioned”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was a little bit strange. We arrived at the villa and there was a man who didn't spek English! He could not help us with anything? In the neighbourhood there are no shops. In the house was no housekeepre. So we had to finf a tuktuk to do some shoppings. We had to cook by ourselves and that is a big problem in this kitchen! It's old and dirty.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Our caretaker can not speak perfect English. But he is always helpful to our guests and can communicate in simple English.
It is a residential area and the next shop is in 1 km distance. It is a holiday home for self-catering. The kitchen is not dirty. The guests normally cook for themselves during their stay.

If guests wish we can arrange meals but this would cost an extra fee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Y
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting up a tiny mountain road...interior needs updating.”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Kandy. The driver, Duleep, that was arranged for us by the owner was marvelous. We ended up using him for three days.
The house is very grand and it is amazing to sit out on the porch in the morning and watch the mist through the valley or at night seeing the bats swoop overhead. It can also fit many people...which is wonderful. We are a family of seven with kids ranging from 7-19 and the size of the house was wonderful for everyone to have space to themselves!
It does seem like it has been quite some time since someone lived in the home. The living room furniture was quite threadbare and the curtains were ripped in multiple places. The kitchen cupboards seemed a bit dusty and I made sure to rinse all the dishes before we used them. In all fairness, my husband thought everything was clean and fine. I am a mother of five kids, so cleanliness is very important to me. ; )
The beds and bedrooms were very clean and all had mosquito netting. The bathrooms (there are three!) could use a little TLC (compared to Western standards), but we have been living in India, so they were nicer than what we are used to lately.
The best thing about this house...the amazingly lush and peaceful setting and view.
The worst part...just needs a little freshening up...then it would be FIVE stars for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location!!
Liked least: The house seemed well past it's prime. Needs updating in furniture/curtains and the kitchen needs a thorough cleaning.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Dear Merike,
I am happy that you like the house. Please visit us again!
Susanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 35
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing