We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base in Kandy, lovely owners.”
other travellers have booked this property
Space for vehicle parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Space for vehicle parking
Front view with the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Space for vehicle parking
Front view with the entrance
Living room with TV
Dr David from UK with his wife in living room
Young German couple spent 4 days
American Kevin and his wife enjoyed the short stay and loved the B'fast
German couple stayed 5 days at Gladmanit was sorry to leave
Louisa and Ed from UK was very happy to stay 3 days with us.
David using the writing table
Nataliia
Polly and family from USA
Nataliia from St. Petersberg
Menno from Netherlands
Collete and Jason from Hongkong
Anthony Sabapathy, his wife with us
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PTS65
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base in Kandy, lovely owners.”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gladmanit was our first stop in Sri Lanka and we were made very welcome by Mahen and his wife. Mahen arranged for us to be picked up at Colombo airport by Gerard Alexander of ''tripsl'' and it all went very smoothly.

The apartment is a great base for exploring Kandy with AC in the bedroom and a comfortable bed. The kitchen has everything you need if you want to self cater and Cargills Food City supermarket is in walking distance. The apartment is spacious and clean. Mahen lives downstairs and is available if you need any help or advice.

We only had one full day in Kandy and Gerard offered to take us around the city by car and show us the sights. Gerard was an excellent guide and was with us for the whole day for a very reasonable cost.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at Gladmanit Apartment and would happily recommend it to other travellers.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you very much for the great review you have given for my apartment, Gerard and myself. Hope you will get another opportunity of visiting Kandy in the near future. Wish you all the best.
Mahen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InSearchO...
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mahen is very helpful”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed as a family of four with two young children in July 2013. Mahen was very helpful and even took us for a tour on one of the days during our stay.

We enjoyed the location of the property because we like walking so the steep hill was a fun challenge. The property had all we needed to make home prepared meals on the evenings when we didn't eat out.

Kandy is a beautiful city and an absolute must if you are visiting the island of Sri Lanka.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thanks for the great review Vegan
Mahen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience with Mahen and his Family”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment I arrived in Kandy, Mahen and his family treated me as part of their own. I stayed in the apartment for approximately 4 weeks. Mahen and his family were incredibly kind, helpful and went out of their way to ensure my stay was comfortable. I would highly recommend this property to other travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Set back from the busy streets of Kandy
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your great review.
Mahen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jochen611
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“A place that I can recommend to budget travelers and visitors to Kandy”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant time staying in Gladmanit guest house in Kandy for 6 days. It is about 3 km away from the town center, but can easily be reached by tuk tuk for LKR 250 or by bus for LKR 13 per head. We did a lot of walking, and the steep road of about 20 meters from the main road up to the guest house contributed to give us sufficient exercise. A walk around the lake downtown and in the botanical garden (6 km away) was the highlight of our stay. The botanical garden is really worth seeing although the entrance fee seems to be high with LKR 1100 each.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location, lots of space, quietness, friendly owner,
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing