We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location for rest & relax”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nimali F
1 review
“Amazing location for rest & relax”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice location and view around, everything was perfectly arranged and all our members were enjoyed a lot. The service staff (Thissa & Jayanthi) has been provided a very friendly, helpful service through out the entire vacation at Amandari.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieAppl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not a private villa! Owners are there at all times”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this villa for 3 night as we were travelling the whole country. We were absolutely exhausted when we arrived as it was late at night. It is very very remote but we were lucky to have a local driver bringing us to the villa.

The owners were there on arrival and showed us around. We realized that we had on room extra so we offered it to our driver as he was absolutely amazing throughout our whole holiday and we wanted him to feel comfortable and part of the group.

Immediately this caused an issue with the owners who got very angry and wouldn't allow him to stay in the house. They said something to him in Sinhalese and he left the house. stayed outside for the 3 days. I was furious. I understand that there is the class system in Sri Lanka and it is very prominent. However, we were paying for the rental of the entire villa and we should be allowed to do as we see fit while we are there. But there was no discussion.

While the house was nice, you felt like you were staying in someone else's house. From what I understand, this is their house that they move out of if they have guests coming. It was slightly run down and the wifi didn't work (there was also no coverage to contact anybody as we were so remote). the showers didn't have hot water! I've seen in previous reviews that you needed to twist the knobs in the opposite direction but we still suffered with a lack of hot water.

We couldn't really relax in the house for a day/half a day because when we sat down to take a breath, the owners would be standing at the door, hovering. Just being there but not saying anything, we didn't really feel comfortable taking some rest days - as had been the plan.

The views though were absolutely amazing. Breathtaking. Its a great location to base yourself at thats away from the chaos of Kandy city centre but still not so far that its a big mission to go in and see whats going on or go for a few drinks.

As this property really wasn't as described in the ad, I wouldn't recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: Condition of the house and being watched at all times
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Dear Ignatius,

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay at Amandari was not as expected.
I perfectly understand your feelings about the driver being asked to sleep in another place as usual we do. But we had clearly noted that we do not have driver accommodation at the property. I can assure you that this has nothing to do with a cast system but it's a precautionary measure we adopted after some unpleasant experience we had in the past when the driver has stayed in the house (loss of our and guests' properties).

What you call the owners are not the owners. They are there for security and to assist the guests as much possible. Nobody lives in the villa but if needed there is a annexe discreetly out of guests' view. My sincere apologies if you felt we were intruding your privacy, that is not our instruction and we will take care of this aspect.

Finally, noting the hot water problem, sometimes had this problem without knowing how to use it properly. Two brand new bathrooms with running hot water have been built recently, so we strive to give our guests the best possible service.

The remoteness and beauty of the place present some challenges, like the wi-fi signal, which are not under our control. The wi-fi sometimes can't be received from certain areas of the property, but throughout most of the house, it works fine. I hope you can understand this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumphreyH...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay, warm welcome.”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great on so many levels:
Housekeeper had his own tuktuk and happy to whisk us off wherever, and edit for us.
Food tasty and really good value.
Location a little away from Kandy but this did not seem a problem, in fact being away from the hustle and bustle suited us. All sites within reach by the aforementioned tuktuk.
Some nice local walks too.
Owners also bought train tickets for us prior to our arrival. This was extremely helpful and saved us a lot of hassle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkc_7
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views but Remote”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely views from this villa. A rather basic but clean place to stay, we enjoyed the house as it was very private. However it is rather remotely situated and not near Kandy at all despite being billed as a villa in Kandy. It took us about 30 to 45 mins to get to Kandy depending on traffic. Helpful housekeepers .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The distance from town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights in Amandari in July and we had a great time. The house is large and spacious & the open terraces and panoramas are amazing. A little piece of paradise on earth, truly calm and relaxing, exactly what we needed.
We felt welcomed from the first moment and we are already planning our second visit with our friends.
Don't miss the nice walks in the mountains behind the villa, they are quite rewarding!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing