We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
109
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaensuite bathroomhome away from homefantastic stayplace to staynuwara eliyaspent nightsfresh fruitcurrieshostsrooneydriveretchedprivacyinsighthoppers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I really can’t add any more superlatives to the existing reviews. Quiet location well away from the traffic. Such welcoming and friendly hosts, such beautiful food and an excellent cookery lesson. Our home-made curries will never be the same again thanks to Sujatha’s teaching and recipes.

Room Tip: Downstairs room was fine. Didn’t see the other one
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

The most welcoming and friendly couple we found in Sri Lanka. Spent 2 nights in a downstairs clean room with a beautiful breakfast .Sujatha prepared an evening meal of curries which was fabulous.Very quiet and serene location.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: two rooms one up one down.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simmie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic stay it's been. Sri Lankan hospitality at its best! Rooney & Sujatha make you feel so welcome that it just makes you think there could not have been a better place to stay in Kandy.
Rooney organised a taxi to pick us up from Colombo International Airport, though very early in the morning, but the driver was there right on time.
We were on the way to Kandy in about 10 mins of exiting the airport.
Sujatha & Rooney make u feel so welcome from the word go. We took the bigger of the 2 rooms they let out which was perfect for 2 adults & our daughter aged 7 years. Prim and proper. Clean sheets and towels & enough space to move around. We got all the privacy v needed, when v felt chatty Rooney and Sujatha were right there; just the perfect blend!
They gave us the correct tips for the sight seeing keeping in mind that we were travelling with a kid. Rooney was so helpful with the tuk tuk organisation as well.
Though Sujatha was a little unwell she cooked up the most amazing Sri Lankan dinner on day 2; since we requested her. It's a must try.
Even the Sri Lankan delicacies at breakfast were delicious.
All in all it's an excellent & not miss place to stay if you r travelling to Kandy.
Thanks for the most wonderful SriLankan hospitality Rooney & Sujatha! This stay will be etched in our memory:)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank drkanchan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Sujatha and Roney obviously love having visitors to their homestay and we were lucky to find them. Just 10 minutes from the busy lakeside by tuktuk, this is the place to stay. We had 3 days and each breakfast was different ( my favourite was the pancakes and syrup). Roney was so helpful when we planed to visit Perideniya gardens and the hill temples, we could not have managed on our own. Also arranging our onward journey by bus to Anuradhapura. It was interesting to chat in the evenings too and to see his wonderful "sketches".

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Super friendly couple who made us feel most welcome.
Lovely spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom, great breakfasts (fresh fruit, hoppers, curry, pancakes, toast). It's far from the centre of Kandy, which we liked. You have to get a tuk-tuk. It's quiet and peaceful. Would stay again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JoanneLMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews